Address & Contact

Our Address

1000 Vermillion St. Athens, WV

GPS

37.42330543880911, -81.0117863868204

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Concord University Physician Assistant Program

Athens, West Virginia · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Must be received by this date
Tuition Resident $77,000Nonresident $119,000
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 24 students
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE score from within the last five years is required.
Patient-care minimum Not publishedNo current PA-specific minimum PCE hours located.
Overall GPA minimum 3.20Minimum cumulative CASPA-calculated GPA is 3.2.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedConfirm the current GPA policy.
PANCE pass rate No graduates yetFirst-time pass rateFive-year first-time: No graduates yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

Visit the program website for details.

Alexander Fine Arts Building, home of the Concord University Physician Assistant program
Concord University’s Alexander Fine Arts Building, home of the Physician Assistant program. Photo: Christopher Ziemnowicz / Wikimedia Commons, public domain; cropped and resized.
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE score from within the last five years is required.
Patient careNot published
Overall GPA3.2 minimumMinimum cumulative CASPA-calculated GPA is 3.2.
Science GPANot published
RecommendationsThree reference letters are required. At least one must come from a medical professional, preferably a physician assistant.
International applicantsAcceptedAccepted with foreign-credential evaluation. Applicants with foreign education must have credentials evaluated by a NACES-accredited service. The program doesn't state any citizenship or visa restriction.
English proficiencyConditionalApplicants for whom English is a second language must submit TOEFL. CASPA's minimum is 4.5 on the iBT scale used after January 2026, which is equivalent to 86 on the earlier scale.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and Physiology pathway: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Combined Human Anatomy & Physiology courses
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry I with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

One semester, 3–4 credits; in-person lab highly recommended; within 10 years of matriculation.

3.5Semester creditsRequiredC
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

One semester, 3–4 credits; in-person lab highly recommended; within 10 years of matriculation.

3.5Semester creditsRequiredC
Combined Human Anatomy & Physiology courses

Accepted if taken at the same institution. The traditional pathway does not specify the number of courses or credits; confirm equivalence with the program.

Not publishedSemester creditsPreferredC
General Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, 4 credits; within 10 years of matriculation.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, 3–4 credits; within 10 years of matriculation.

3.5Semester creditsRequiredC
General Chemistry I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses, each 3–4 credits; General Chemistry II explicitly requires a lab, General Chemistry I lab is not specified. In-person labs are highly recommended generally. Both within 10 years of matriculation.

Not publishedSemester creditsPreferredC
Organic Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)

One semester, 3–4 credits; explicit alternative to Biochemistry with lab; within 10 years of matriculation.

3.5Semester creditsRequiredC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, 3 credits.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
College Algebra, Trigonometry, Pre-Calculus, or Calculus1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One additional math course, one semester, 3 credits.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Psychology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses over two semesters, 6 credits total; the traditional pathway does not specify topics.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, 1–3 credits; within 10 years of matriculation.

2Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Biochemistry with lab1 course(s)

One semester, 3–4 credits; explicit alternative to Organic Chemistry I with lab; within 10 years of matriculation.

3.5Semester creditsRequiredC

Policies that can change your plan

Pathway scope
Applies to Traditional Admissions/CASPA only; Concord Fast Track has different requirements.
Anatomy and Physiology
Combined A&P accepted if courses are from the same institution; number and credits unspecified.
Lab details
The Traditional list requires labs for Anatomy, Physiology, Biology, Microbiology, General Chemistry II, and Organic Chemistry/Biochemistry. The General Chemistry I lab is not specified.
Recency
Anatomy, Physiology, Biology, Microbiology, all Chemistry, and Medical Terminology within 10 years of matriculation.

The traditional CASPA pathway requires a 3.2 cumulative GPA, a 3.0 prerequisite GPA, a GRE score from within five years, 40 PA-specific shadowing hours, and three references, including one from a medical professional. There is no set minimum for patient-care hours. Up to six prerequisites may be in progress or outstanding when you apply, but all must be finished before you start the program. Fast Track requirements differ.

When courses must be complete: All requirements completed before matriculation; six or fewer courses may be in progress/outstanding at application.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Your application, transcripts, and reference letters must be received by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$77,000 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$119,000 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

West Virginia resident tuition is $77,000 for the full program ($84,400 including fees) over seven semesters.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic study

Anatomy, pathophysiology, pharmacology, clinical medicine, patient care skills, and reasoning prepare students for clinical practice.

023 semesters

Clinical education

Nine five-week rotations cover seven core specialties and two electives, with campus return activities and a summative assessment.

The 28-month, seven-semester program requires 115 credits. Students select a Medical Missions and Population Health or Substance Use Disorders elective track. The program supplies clinical sites; some rotations require travel and separate housing.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

First-time program results are not yet available; no graduates have been reported.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Provisional
First accreditedMarch 2025
Next reviewJanuary 2028
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.