Address & Contact

Our Address

1501 Lakeside Drive Lynchburg, VA 24501

GPS

37.40193, -79.18504

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Lynchburg Physician Assistant Program

Lynchburg, Virginia · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027The CASPA-verified deadline is January 15, 2027 for May 2027 entry. The program landing page still displays prior-cycle dates and is stale.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $113,835 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $113,835 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition from current published rates
Class size 40 studentsCurrent program-supplied estimated incoming size and published maximum.
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Required or MCATGRE within five years is required with no published minimum; it is waived for a prior graduate degree or an official MCAT submitted to CASPA.
Patient-care minimum 500 hoursComplete 500 direct patient-care hours before matriculation plus 8 hours of licensed-PA shadowing; training-program and undergraduate clinical hours generally require individual review.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA and prerequisite GPA are each 3.00.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree recommendations are required, including one from a practicing PA, NP, or physician.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply with WES or ECE evaluation, but evaluated foreign credits do not satisfy program prerequisites.
English proficiency / TOEFL TOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.0The PA page publishes TOEFL 80; the university also lists TOEFL 80 iBT or 550 paper-based, or IELTS 6.0, with possible exemptions.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 97% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Lynchburg PA program with 40 seats, 500 direct patient-care hours, and rolling admissions through January 15, 2027.

On campus27 months40 students
Mission & approach

The mission of the University of Lynchburg School of PA Medicine is to educate PAs to become compassionate health care providers with an emphasis on teamwork, communication, human diversity and patient-centered care.

University of Lynchburg Graduate Health Sciences Building, home of the Physician Assistant Medicine program
Graduate Health Sciences Building, home of the University of Lynchburg Physician Assistant Medicine program. Source: University of Lynchburg.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Lynchburg a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Points-based rubric weighting academic achievement and quality/quantity of direct patient care. Candidates evaluated on all academic work (cumulative, science, prerequisite GPA), official GRE scores, letters of recommendation, supplemental application data, interview scores, patient care experience, demonstrated service, and leadership ability. Five bonus points granted to University of Lynchburg graduates and to Veterans. Program values first-generation college students, applicants from economically/environmentally underrepresented populations (CASPA HRSA indicators), minority applicants, and military. Interview day includes group interview activities led by PA faculty.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusGroup

The Lynchburg PA program's admissions committee invites qualified applicants to a required on-campus interview.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequired or MCATGRE within five years is required with no published minimum; it is waived for a prior graduate degree or an official MCAT submitted to CASPA.
Patient care500 hoursComplete 500 direct patient-care hours before matriculation plus 8 hours of licensed-PA shadowing; training-program and undergraduate clinical hours generally require individual review.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA and prerequisite GPA are each 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required, including one from a practicing PA, NP, or physician.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply with WES or ECE evaluation, but evaluated foreign credits do not satisfy program prerequisites.
English proficiencyTOEFL 80 or IELTS 6.0The PA page publishes TOEFL 80; the university also lists TOEFL 80 iBT or 550 paper-based, or IELTS 6.0, with possible exemptions.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Advanced chemistry route: Organic chemistry OR Biochemistry at 200 level or above
  • Psychology route: General psychology OR Developmental psychology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Biology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses with labs, excluding anatomy and physiology.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
General or introductory chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major equivalent.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic chemistry

Choose organic chemistry OR biochemistry.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry at 200 level or above

Alternative to organic chemistry.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

B preferred; C minimum.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human physiology
Course notes & alternatives

B preferred; C minimum.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology3–4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Genetics3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
General psychology

Choose general OR developmental psychology.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Developmental psychology

Alternative to general psychology.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Social science
Course notes & alternatives

Economics, sociology, political science or similar; confirm equivalency.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.

Policies that can change your plan

Grades and institutions
C or better; B preferred in anatomy and physiology. Regionally or nationally accredited U.S./Canadian institution.
Course age
Within five years preferred, not a stated hard cutoff.
Credit
Transcripted AP accepted. CLEP and pass/fail not accepted.

Review the notes and alternative routes before choosing classes. Completed records do not establish accepted equivalency.

When courses must be complete: Complete before matriculation. The current official page includes older cycle dates; confirm the entering-cycle deadline.

University of Lynchburg prerequisite requirements Current prerequisite course list and policies · Checked 2026-09-22
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

The CASPA-verified deadline is January 15, 2027 for May 2027 entry. The program landing page still displays prior-cycle dates and is stale.

2026–2027
Program startsMay 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Current published nonliving full-program cost projection
Resident tuitionApproximately $113,835 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $113,835 projected full-program tuition

$113,835 documented program schedule · Projected full-program tuition from current published rates

Required program fees$7,995
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$113,835

Basis: $113,835 documented program schedule · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Projected nonliving program cost is $113,835: $105,840 tuition across seven semesters plus $7,995 in required or published estimated fees, equipment, books, screening, and compliance costs. Variable or waiver-sensitive insurance, living, and transportation are excluded.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic education

Weekday classroom instruction, cases, simulation and community-clinic exposure build medical knowledge.

0214 months

Clinical education

Advanced procedures begin the phase, followed by supervised rotations in medical specialties.

03Final month

Summative education

Master’s-project completion and summative activities finish the sequence.

The Lynchburg entry-level MPAM route spans 27 months and 101 credits, with campus-based simulation and clinical learning.

University of Lynchburg official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; confirm entering-cohort schedule · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 6, 2015
Next reviewJanuary 2029

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.