Address & Contact

Our Address

University of Florida College of Medicine Box 100176 Gainesville, FL 32610

GPS

29.639218698699736, -82.34335926378509

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Florida Physician Assistant Program

Gainesville, Florida · Masters

Application deadline Aug 1, 2026Passed · Verified
Tuition Resident: Approximately $54,548 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $138,046 projected full-program tuition · Projected tuition only from the official eight-term 2026–27 schedule; next-year rates and mandatory fees may change.
Class size 60 studentsPublished funding cap and current estimated entering class size.
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Required · Casper not requiredGRE scores are required in CASPA by the application deadline. The current requirements page says Casper is not required beginning with the 2026 cycle; the dated deadlines page retains a stale conflicting Casper sentence.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 hoursComplete 1,000 paid or volunteer direct patient-care hours by the deadline; academic-credit experiences, shadowing, and observation do not count.
Overall GPA minimum No published minimumNo GPA cutoff stated in the published policy.
Science GPA minimum No published minimumNo GPA cutoff stated in the published policy.
Recommendations At least 3At least three recommendations are required; one must be from a licensed PA-C, NP, MD, or DO who can address clinical abilities and experience.
International applicants Not acceptedThe current program-supplied PAEA record states that international applicants are not accepted; foreign-degree equivalency evaluations are not accepted. Not accepted.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programConfirm any English-proficiency review with the PA program for otherwise eligible applicants. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 96%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 96% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #48 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Gainesville PA program with 60 seats, 1,000 direct patient-care hours, GRE required, and Casper no longer required beginning with the 2026 cycle.

On campus24 months60 students
Mission & approach

The mission of the School of Physician Assistant Studies is to educate students to become physician assistants who will serve the people of Florida and the nation as part of a multidisciplinary healthcare team in a diverse and ever changing healthcare environment.

University of Florida Harrell Medical Education Building
University of Florida Harrell Medical Education Building
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Florida a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Mission to educate PAs who serve the people of Florida and the nation. Values: Excellence, Integrity, Humanism, Compassion, Service. Strong Florida-residency tilt (class profile ~75-80% Florida residents). Competitive stats: cum/science GPA ~3.7-3.8; GRE required (avg ~308 combined). At least one LOR from a licensed clinical provider weighted.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusMMI

About 140 applicants are invited each cycle, from late August through December, for a two-day visit. Day one is orientation — faculty introductions, financial aid, a curriculum session led by current students, a campus tour and an informal dinner. Day two is the interview itself: three separate one-on-one interviews of 15–20 minutes each with PA faculty, plus a 15-minute small-group activity in which applicants discuss a topic or scenario while a faculty member observes without speaking.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequired · Casper not requiredGRE scores are required in CASPA by the application deadline. The current requirements page says Casper is not required beginning with the 2026 cycle; the dated deadlines page retains a stale conflicting Casper sentence.
Patient care1,000 hoursComplete 1,000 paid or volunteer direct patient-care hours by the deadline; academic-credit experiences, shadowing, and observation do not count.
Overall GPANo published minimumThe current requirements page publishes no numeric cumulative-GPA cutoff; admitted-class ranges are descriptive, not requirements.
Science GPANo published minimumThe current requirements page publishes no numeric science-GPA cutoff; admitted-class ranges are descriptive, not requirements.
RecommendationsAt least 3At least three recommendations are required; one must be from a licensed PA-C, NP, MD, or DO who can address clinical abilities and experience.
International applicantsNot acceptedThe current program-supplied PAEA record states that international applicants are not accepted; foreign-degree equivalency evaluations are not accepted.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNot applicable to international admission; confirm with the PA program for any otherwise eligible applicant subject to an English-proficiency review.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least six semester credits total; covers all organ systems; within ten years.

6Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Separate route; combined anatomy/physiology requirement is at least six credits; individual course credit minimum not published. Within ten years.

Not publishedSemester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Separate route; combined anatomy/physiology requirement is at least six credits; individual course credit minimum not published. Within ten years.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Within five years at application; general microbiology preferred.

3Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Science-major sequence, at least eight semester credits; organic chemistry/biochemistry cannot substitute; within ten years.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Statistical tests and analysis; within ten years.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

At least one semester credit; within ten years.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

The verified CASPA and UF supplemental deadline was August 1, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. ET for June 2027 entry; this cycle is closed.

2026–2027
Program startsJune 2027

Expected matriculation month; exact day not published.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Projected cost estimate

2026–27 eight-term current-rate tuition-only projection for June 2027 entry
Resident tuitionApproximately $54,548 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $138,046 projected full-program tuition

$138,046 documented program schedule · Projected tuition only from the official eight-term 2026–27 schedule; next-year rates and mandatory fees may change.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Projected tuition + required feesCurrent-rate estimate; living and other expenses excluded
Confirm with program

Basis: $54,548 documented program schedule · current-rate projection · high confidence

Official 2026–27 eight-term PA schedule totals $54,548 resident or $138,046 nonresident in instructional tuition. The prior $59,924/$143,422 figures include non-tuition education charges; future-term rates and exact required-fee totals may change.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Academic year

Didactic education

Four terms provide anatomy, clinical medicine, diagnostic reasoning and practicum instruction in person.

0212 months

Clinical education

Twelve one-month rotations comprise nine core experiences and three electives; at least one elective is a medical specialty.

The Gainesville-based academic and clinical years each carry 40 credits. Gainesville and Jacksonville are identified as major clinical training areas.

University of Florida official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; confirm entering-cohort schedule · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedFebruary 1973
Next reviewOctober 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.