Address & Contact

Our Address

University of Detroit Mercy 4001 West McNichols Road CHP 115 Detroit, MI 48221-3038

GPS

42.416163657491, -83.154212801446

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Detroit Mercy Physician Assistant Program

Detroit, Michigan · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Verified
Tuition Resident: Approximately $117,372 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $117,372 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change
Class size 60 studentsRecent entering cohort; not represented as an approved maximum. A separate part-time three-year pathway is also available.
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement 291 combined · Casper requiredGRE combined minimum is 291; it is waived only for a completed U.S. graduate degree with cumulative GPA of at least 3.00. Casper is required; Duet is not.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 broad HCE hoursComplete 1,000 approved healthcare or helping-care hours verified by CASPA by the deadline; qualifying roles are broader than direct patient care.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00, with a published last-two-undergraduate-years pathway for some applicants below 3.00.
Science GPA minimum Prerequisite GPA 3.00The six-prerequisite GPA must be at least 3.00; no separate CASPA all-science cutoff is published.
Recommendations 2 professionalTwo professional recommendations are required from a supervisor, coworker, or adviser; a PA or physician is preferred when able to assess professional skills.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply through the university's international pathway with the required foreign-transcript evaluation.
English proficiency / TOEFL Conditional · confirm thresholdThe institution may require academic and spoken English testing after arrival; the PA program does not publish a TOEFL cutoff.
PANCE pass rate 94%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 92% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A two-year full-time Detroit PA pathway with a recent 60-student cohort and 1,000 required broad healthcare or helping-care hours.

On campus24 months60 students
Mission & approach

The University of Detroit Mercy Physician Assistant Program is dedicated to the education of clinically competent medical professionals thoroughly prepared to deliver quality patient care in the context of a dynamic health care delivery system.

Health Professions building at the University of Detroit Mercy
University of Detroit Mercy's signed Health Professions building, shared by the PA program.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Detroit Mercy a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Reviews COMPLETED applications only. Min cumulative undergrad GPA 3.0; 6 specific prerequisites (Nutrition, Medical Ethics, Statistics, Advanced Physiology, Microbiology w/ lab, Developmental Psychology) each grade >=3.0 within 6 yrs; GRE >=291; CASPer; 1000 hrs healthcare/helping experience; 2 professional recs (prefer >=1 from a PA/physician). Interview by invitation; class chosen only from interviewees. Additional consideration for Detroit Mercy undergrads, veterans, under-served communities, and underrepresented minorities. Interview criteria: professional attitude/aptitude, understanding of PA practice, motivation to serve disadvantaged populations, helping-profession experience, interpersonal/problem-solving, integrity/maturity, leadership, teamwork.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual

Personal interviews are by invitation only and the class is chosen from among those interviewed. The program publishes an unusually explicit list of what it assesses: professional attitude and aptitude, understanding of PA practice, motivation for serving disadvantaged populations, prior experience in helping professions, interpersonal and problem-solving skills, personal integrity and maturity, and leadership potential.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRE291 combined · Casper requiredGRE combined minimum is 291; it is waived only for a completed U.S. graduate degree with cumulative GPA of at least 3.00. Casper is required; Duet is not.
Patient care1,000 broad HCE hoursComplete 1,000 approved healthcare or helping-care hours verified by CASPA by the deadline; qualifying roles are broader than direct patient care.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00, with a published last-two-undergraduate-years pathway for some applicants below 3.00.
Science GPAPrerequisite GPA 3.00The six-prerequisite GPA must be at least 3.00; no separate CASPA all-science cutoff is published.
Recommendations2 professionalTwo professional recommendations are required from a supervisor, coworker, or adviser; a PA or physician is preferred when able to assess professional skills.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply through the university's international pathway with the required foreign-transcript evaluation.
English proficiencyConditional · confirm thresholdThe institution may require academic and spoken English testing after arrival; the PA program does not publish a TOEFL cutoff.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human NutritionNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Medical EthicsNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
StatisticsNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Advanced Human Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

Usually 300-level or higher; A&P or Pathophysiology cannot substitute.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Microbiology with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredBSign in to plan
Lifespan Developmental Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

A complete series spanning childhood, adolescence and aging may qualify.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.

Policies that can change your plan

Six required areas; credit minima are not stated on the reviewed page. For Fall 2027, courses must be taken January 2021 or later (six-year window). No AP/CLEP/exam substitution.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite courses complete before application and verified in CASPA.

University of Detroit Mercy official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

The completed application must be CASPA verified by January 15, 2027; admissions are rolling for fall 2027 entry.

2026–2027
Program startsAugust 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 full-time two-year route estimate
Resident tuitionApproximately $117,372 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $117,372 projected full-program tuition

$19,562 term × 6 documented semesters · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change

Required program fees$2,795
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$120,167

Basis: $19,562 term × 6 documented semesters · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Full-time tuition projection $117,372; course fees $2,700 and graduation $95 = $2,795; combined $120,167. Part-time three-year route separate. Additional equipment/certification/software/screening/book/living costs excluded from tuition comparison.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Didactic education

Summer, fall and winter terms build medical-science knowledge and clinical skills.

02Second year

Clinical education

Supervised rotations, community-health projects and a concluding primary-care preceptorship apply clinical knowledge.

The Detroit Mercy traditional route spans two full-time years. Sites include southeastern Michigan and other locations throughout the state.

University of Detroit Mercy official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; confirm entering-cohort schedule · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Entering class of 2023

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.71
Science GPA3.71
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The year identifies when the class entered, not when it graduated. The overall measure is undergraduate cumulative GPA.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Entering class of 20233.713.71Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Entering class of 2023
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 1972
Next reviewApril 2029

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.