Address & Contact

Our Address

University of South Florida 12901 Bruce. B Down Boulevard MDC5 Tampa, Florida 33612

GPS

28.06423102053004, -82.42598463431132

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of South Florida Physician Assistant Program

Tampa, Florida · Masters

Application deadline Date not publishedSeptember 1, 2026 verified-CASPA deadline has passed; confirm the next cycle. May 10, 2027 is the published program start.
Tuition Resident: Confirm with programNonresident: Confirm with program · Historical combined tuition-and-fees only; current entrant tuition is unpriced.
Class size 50 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE required; scores must be from the past five years.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours500 direct patient care hours required before application; shadowing does not count.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00CASPA-calculated overall GPA minimum is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00CASPA-calculated science GPA minimum is 3.00.
Recommendations 3 letters · clinical supervisorThree recommendations are required; one must come from someone who supervised or worked with the applicant clinically.
International applicants Not acceptedNo PA-specific English test rule found for otherwise eligible U.S. citizen or permanent resident; foreign bachelor degrees and prerequisites are not accepted. Not accepted.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programNo separate PA-specific English-proficiency test rule was found for otherwise eligible applicants. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 98% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A public Florida PA program within USF Health that integrates foundational science, clinical medicine, and supervised patient-care training.

On campus24 months50 students
Mission & approach

To provide a scholarly environment in which students from diverse backgrounds acquire requisite knowledge and skills to deliver high-quality, compassionate, culturally, and socially sensitive healthcare as part of an interdisciplinary healthcare team.

USF Health Downtown Morsani College of Medicine building exterior
Photo: Chiefmiz / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0; cropped, resized, and compressed.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of South Florida a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Academic performance (course load, prereqs), GRE, professional/healthcare experiences, LORs, personal narrative; ~150 interviewed (two 1:1 faculty interviews), 50 selected.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Virtual or on campusIndividual

Interview day includes two separate one-on-one interviews with different faculty members, and the program offers both virtual and in-person interview slots for invited applicants.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE required; scores must be from the past five years.
Patient care500 direct patient care hours required before application; shadowing does not count.
Overall GPA3.00CASPA-calculated overall GPA minimum is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00CASPA-calculated science GPA minimum is 3.00.
Recommendations3 letters · clinical supervisorThree recommendations are required; one must come from someone who supervised or worked with the applicant clinically.
International applicantsNot acceptedEligible applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents, and foreign bachelor’s degrees are not accepted.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNo PA-specific English test rule found for otherwise eligible U.S. citizen or permanent resident; foreign bachelor degrees and prerequisites are not accepted.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits; unverified course equivalents require program review

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; individual credits and grade minimum not published on current requirements page.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry I1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab may attach to Organic Chemistry I, Organic Chemistry II, or Biochemistry.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry II1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Alternative to Biochemistry; one semester.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Alternative to Organic Chemistry II; one semester.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic/Biochemistry lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

A lab must accompany Organic Chemistry I, Organic Chemistry II, or Biochemistry; no separate lab course needed if integrated.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Human Anatomy & Physiology with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters with labs; separate A&P equivalency requires program review.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester or online certificate.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Medical Terminology online certificate1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Alternative to one-semester Medical Terminology course.

Not publishedSemester credits; unverified course equivalents require program reviewNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.

Policies that can change your plan

No prerequisite expiration is stated in the current program FAQ. Course-grade and credit minima are not published; review equivalencies with USF.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDate not published

September 1, 2026 verified-CASPA deadline has passed; confirm the next cycle. May 10, 2027 is the published program start.

Program startsMay 10, 2027

Official application timeline lists first day of school.

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Historical 2025–26 annual combined tuition-and-fees benchmark; current entrant tuition only unpriced
Previously recorded resident planning cost$68,167

Historical full-program combined tuition and fees. This is a planning reference, not a verified price for the next entering class; confirm the current resident, nonresident and required-fee totals with USF.

Resident tuitionConfirm with program
Nonresident tuitionConfirm with program

Historical combined tuition-and-fees only; current entrant tuition is unpriced.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

The former $68,167 resident and $135,157 nonresident figures approximately double the 2025–26 annual combined tuition-and-fees. They are not tuition-only. The next entering cohort tuition and fee components are not published separately.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1

Didactic preparation

Medical sciences, clinical medicine, diagnosis, pharmacology, evidence-based medicine and integration of clinical concepts.

02Year 2

Clinical education

Seven five-week core rotations, a ten-week selective and capstone research experience.

24-month Tampa program totaling 90 credits; clinical learning uses sites throughout Tampa Bay.

University of South Florida official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2026 · medians

Published class statistics
Median overall GPA3.89
Median overall science GPA3.87
Mean direct patient-care hoursNot recorded

The university’s October 2024 program story reports median overall GPA 3.89 and median overall science GPA 3.87. These are medians, not arithmetic means.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 2026 · medians3.89Median overall GPA3.87Median overall science GPANot recordedMean direct patient-care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 8, 2016
Next reviewApril 2031

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.