Address & Contact

Our Address

225 Eastview Dr. central Islip, NY

GPS

40.76245, -73.18783

← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Touro University (Long Island) Physician Assistant Program

Central Islip, New York · Physician Assistant program

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $162,610Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $163,485
Published full-program estimate
Class size 65 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredCASPA states GRE, PA-CAT and other standardized admissions exams are not required.
Patient-care minimum 200 direct hoursAt least 200 paid or volunteer direct patient-contact hours are required and documented through CASPA.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00 BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)The science GPA minimum is 3.00 for biology, chemistry and physics (BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)) combined. It is not an all-science GPA minimum.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 98%
U.S. News PA rank #190 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 28-month Long Island PA program combining classroom instruction, simulation, and supervised clinical practice across diverse settings.

On campus28 months65 students

Mission & approach

The mission of the Physician Assistant Programs is to educate capable students to meet the challenges of practicing medicine in collaboration with physicians and other members of the health care team.

Program campus
Program campus
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Committee evaluates: quality/content of personal statement, strength of recommendations (min 3, one from a PA), strength of academic history, cumulative GPA, science GPA, nature/extent of health care experience, nature/extent of PA shadowing (if done), leadership skills/experiences. Selected applicants interviewed for understanding of PA role, motivation, maturity, intellectual qualities,…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Individual

Selected applicants are invited for a personal interview. The program says it is assessing your understanding of the PA role, motivation, maturity, intellectual qualities, insight and interpersonal skills, and notes it receives roughly 2,000 applications per campus for fewer than 100 seats.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredCASPA states GRE, PA-CAT and other standardized admissions exams are not required.
Patient care200 direct hoursAt least 200 paid or volunteer direct patient-contact hours are required and documented through CASPA.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00 BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)The science GPA minimum is 3.00 for biology, chemistry and physics (BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)) combined. It is not an all-science GPA minimum.
Recommendations3 letters · one PAThree recommendations are required; one must be from a PA and cannot be replaced by another clinician.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsForeign-credential evaluation is available, and applicants are directed to International Student Services. Confirm visa and immigration eligibility with the program.
English proficiencyTOEFL required for specified applicantsApplicants whose native language is not English or who did not attend college in the U.S. or another English-speaking country need TOEFL 560 paper, 220 computer or 83 internet. TOEFL does not replace the English prerequisite.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General Biology I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Organic Chemistry4Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Biochemistry4Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Anatomy and Physiology2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Microbiology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Behavioral Sciences2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Choose from psychology, sociology, or anthropology; the courses must be distinct.

6Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
English Composition or Literature2 course(s)6Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
Mathematics at pre-calculus level or above3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
Humanities or Liberal Arts & Sciences
Course notes & alternatives

This is the total for the whole category; check how the credits are split among individual courses.

11Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

Humanities total
11 semester credits in the humanities/liberal-arts category; courses are reviewed individually.
Science recency
Science courses older than ten years may require refresher work.

The campus page lists 60 specific prerequisite credits. Science courses must be designed for science majors, and science work older than ten years may require a refresher. For the New York programs, at most one natural-science prerequisite may be missing at application. Grouped credit categories need course-by-course review.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

CASPA verified deadline; confirm the current cycle in CASPA.

Published date
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$162,610 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$162,610 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$875
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$163,485

Full-program tuition and required fees. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic education

Three semesters cover basic science, medicine, behavioral science and research.

0216 months including culmination

Clinical and graduate education

Nine five-week rotations, graduate coursework, capstone and community service complete training.

The Long Island/NUMC BS/MS curriculum spans 28 months and 123 credits. Faculty assign rotations across NYC boroughs and Long Island.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

2023–2024 incoming cycle — Long Island

Published class statistics
Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.71
Mean Science GPA3.58
Patient-care hours: not published.Not recorded

These are averages for Long Island incoming students in the 2023–2024 cycle. The program separately reports different NUMC averages, and no single entering or graduating class year is given.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
2023–2024 incoming cycle — Long Island3.71Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.58Mean Science GPANot recordedPatient-care hours: not published.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 1991
Next reviewJuly 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.