Address & Contact

Our Address

Mary Baldwin University 100 Baldwin Boulevard Fisherville, Virginia 22939

GPS

38.09670722176856, -78.99592778419118

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Mary Baldwin University (Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences) Physician Assistant Program

Fishersville, Virginia · MSPA

Application deadline Oct 1, 2026Passed · CASPA verified deadline; confirm current cycle details in CASPA.
Tuition $87,360 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Fees not published
Projected full-program tuition at published 2026–27 term rates
Class size 40 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE within five years, with no minimum score. CASPer is required for interview consideration; the Duet assessment is not required.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo minimum; recommended. Healthcare observation, healthcare-related experience, and patient-care experience are recommended but not required; PA shadowing is encouraged.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00An overall minimum is published.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedNo science GPA minimum is published. Do not assume the overall 3.00 minimum also applies to science GPA.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 99%
U.S. News PA rank #183 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mary Baldwin University's Murphy Deming PA program is a 27-month on-campus MSPA program in Fishersville, Virginia.

On Campus27 months40 seats

Mission & approach

The mission of the Master of Science in Physician Assistant (MSPA) Program at Mary Baldwin University is to academically and clinically prepare students for PA practice as compassionate, effective, qualified clinicians able to serve in a variety of medical specialty areas and settings in collaboration with licensed physicians.

Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences in Fishersville, home of the Mary Baldwin University Physician Assistant program
Murphy Deming College of Health Sciences in Fishersville, home of Mary Baldwin University’s PA program.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review weighing GPA, work/volunteer and life experiences, references, personal essay, Casper SJT, and interview; favorable consideration for applicants from western VA/eastern WV region and articulation-partner schools

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

The Admissions Committee invites only selected candidates and an interview does not guarantee acceptance; applicants are responsible for their own travel expenses to attend.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE within five years, with no minimum score. CASPer is required for interview consideration; the Duet assessment is not required.
Patient-care experienceNo minimum; recommended.No minimum. Healthcare observation, healthcare-related experience, and patient-care experience are recommended but not required; PA shadowing is encouraged.
Overall GPA3.00 minimumAn overall minimum is published.
Science GPANot publishedNo science GPA minimum is published. Do not assume the overall 3.00 minimum also applies to science GPA.
RecommendationsAt least 3At least three CASPA references. Patient-care professionals, college professors, and prior employers are acceptable; family and friends are not accepted.
International eligibilityNoThe PA program cannot sponsor visas. U.S. citizens and permanent residents may apply; internationally completed coursework may be considered with a credential evaluation. If you have another status, confirm your eligibility with the program.
English proficiencyConditional

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Combined Anatomy and Physiology sequence
  • Chemistry route: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Biology (additional course)
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; any biology course in addition to Anatomy, Physiology, and Microbiology; lab required.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.RequiredC
Human Anatomy

3–4 semester credits with lab. May be completed in a combined A&P route totaling 8 credits with labs.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.RequiredC
Human Physiology

3–4 semester credits with lab. May be completed in a combined A&P route totaling 8 credits with labs.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.RequiredC
Combined Anatomy and Physiology sequence

Alternative to separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology: Human A&P I and II with labs, 8 semester credits total. Must cover all organ systems. Program review is required for equivalency.

8Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.RequiredC
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; lab required.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.RequiredC
Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 semester credits; lab required. The program lists this prerequisite simply as "Chemistry"; confirm which course level qualifies.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.RequiredC
Organic Chemistry

3–4 semester credits; lab preferred, not required. Alternative to Biochemistry.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.PreferredC
Biochemistry

3–4 semester credits; lab preferred, not required. Alternative to Organic Chemistry.

3-4Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.PreferredC
Psychology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester credits: one introductory plus one upper-level Psychology course OR two upper-level Psychology courses. Abnormal and developmental Psychology are preferred, not mandatory.

6Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.Not specifiedC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester credits; may be from Biology, Mathematics, Psychology, or Business. A Psychology course used for Statistics cannot also count toward Psychology.

3Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.Not specifiedC
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

1–2 semester credits with a grade of C or better, or an accepted Medical Terminology certificate. This prerequisite may be completed by October 1; certificate equivalency requires program review.

1-2Semester credits; ranges are shown where the program gives one.Not specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

International eligibility
Visa sponsorship is not available. Confirm eligibility with the program if you are not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
English proficiency
Conditional: applies when English is not your primary language, regardless of citizenship. TOEFL 570 (paper) or 88 (internet). Applicants with a U.S. bachelor's or graduate degree are exempt.
Admission tests
GRE within five years, with no minimum score. CASPer is required for interview consideration; the Duet assessment is not required.
Minimum course grade
C or better in all prerequisite courses.
Course recency
Anatomy, Physiology, Chemistry, and Medical Terminology within 10 years of matriculation.
Alternative routes
Separate Human Anatomy plus Human Physiology, or combined Human A&P I and II with labs totaling 8 credits. Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry. Confirm equivalency with the program.
Psychology and Statistics
One introductory plus one upper-level Psychology course OR two upper-level courses; a Psychology course used for Statistics cannot also count toward Psychology.
Medical Terminology certificate
An accepted certificate may satisfy the course requirement, but equivalency is not automatic.

All prerequisite courses require a C or better. Anatomy, Physiology, Chemistry, and Medical Terminology must be within 10 years of matriculation. The catalog permits a Medical Terminology certificate; confirm certificate equivalency and the Chemistry course with the program. Psychology has two permitted two-course routes, and a Psychology course used for Statistics cannot be double-counted.

When courses must be complete: Your bachelor's degree and all prerequisites except Medical Terminology must be complete by September 1. Medical Terminology may be completed by October 1. Your CASPA application must be submitted and verified by October 1; confirm the current cycle with the program.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineOct 1, 2026 · Passed

CASPA verified deadline.

Published date
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Projected tuition estimate

Projected full-program tuition at published 2026–27 term rates
Resident tuition$87,360 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$87,360 projected full-program tuition

$14,560 semester × 5 projected semesters + $7,280 semester × 2 projected semesters · Current-rate estimate; later tuition rates may change. Excludes fees and living costs.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Projected tuition onlyRequired fees and living costs excluded
$87,360

Estimate at current rates: five fall/spring semesters at $14,560 plus two summer semesters at $7,280 = $87,360. The seven-term schedule reflects the January start, 27-month length and published curriculum. The school publishes 2026–27 term rates, not a fixed full-program tuition, so later rates can change. Required fees and living costs are not included.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic instruction

Lectures, discussion, interprofessional and problem-based learning, case work, clinical skills and hospital experiences build the foundation. Early clinical exposure begins in the first year.

0212 months

Clinical phase

Six-week rotations cover family and internal medicine, emergency medicine, pediatrics, women’s health, behavioral/mental health and general surgery.

Didactic instruction is followed by clinical training. Local hospital and healthcare partnerships support early field experiences; later rotations are not guaranteed to be local.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 99%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 11, 2015
Next reviewJanuary 2030
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.