Address & Contact

Our Address

Butler University Pharmacy and Health Sciences Building, Room 107 4600 Sunset Avenue Indianapolis, Indiana 46208

GPS

39.83941, -86.168920833333

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Butler University Physician Assistant Program

Indianapolis, Indiana · Masters

Application deadline Jul 15, 2026Passed · Must be received by this date
Tuition $101,500Same for residents and nonresidents
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 75 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo required healthcare hours
Science GPA minimum Not publishedBCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA may be reviewed. Not published;
PANCE pass rate 95%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 93%
U.S. News PA rank #14 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

To produce graduates with a foundation in primary care to deliver high quality, patient-centered care in a wide variety of clinical settings.

Butler University Pharmacy and Health Sciences Building, home of the Physician Assistant program
Butler University Pharmacy and Health Sciences Building in Indianapolis, home of the Physician Assistant program.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Two pathways: Standard (~60% of class) and Selective Internal for Butler students/alumni (40% reserved); plus one seat reserved for a veteran/active-military member. Holistic review of applicants meeting 3.2 min GPA, weighing BCP GPA, leadership, service, scholarship (research/presentations/publications), and writing. Competitive avg GPA ~3.75. On-campus station-based interview; ranked by cumulative station scores. Healthcare experience NOT required. (butler.edu PA admission)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

The program requires an in-person standardized interview. It does not publish the format, the interview window, or how the interview is scored.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot Required
Patient careNo required healthcare hours
Overall GPA3.2
Science GPANot published; BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) may be reviewed
Recommendations3 evaluations
International applicantsAcceptedYes, with transcript evaluation and TOEFL
English proficiencyRequiredTOEFL iBT 79

Prerequisite coursework

The number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
General / inorganic / analytical chemistry2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

2 semester courses; credits are not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.RequiredC
Organic chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.RequiredC
Additional chemistry at 300 level or above1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; credits are not published. Biochemistry or Organic Chemistry II can qualify; lab not required.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not requiredC
Anatomy & physiology at 200 level or above2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

2 semester courses; credits are not published. Either two combined A&P courses or separate anatomy and physiology; both need labs.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.RequiredC
Microbiology at 200 level or above1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.RequiredC
Additional biology-related coursework at 200 level or above2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

2 semester courses; credits are not published. Includes approved biology-related sciences; medical terminology cannot count. Confirm eligible subjects with the program.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Statistics or biostatistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Psychology / sociology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

2 semester courses; credits are not published. Any combination of psychology and sociology.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
Letter grade C or higher; C-minus is not accepted. No course double counting.
Course age
No prerequisite expiration.
Delivery and exams
Online courses/labs and community college coursework accepted. AP 4/5 or IB 5–7 may cover at most two prerequisites.

Review the notes and alternative routes before choosing classes. Having completed a course does not guarantee it will be accepted as equivalent.

When courses must be complete: Up to three outstanding courses at application, including no more than one chemistry/biology course; all complete before matriculation.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJul 15, 2026 · Passed

Your CASPA application, including transcripts and evaluations, must be complete by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$101,500 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$101,500 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Confirm current costs with the program.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic study

Classroom and skills-based instruction includes patient work beginning in the first semester.

0212 months

Clinical rotations

Clinical education draws on healthcare-system partners in Indiana and beyond.

Butler publishes a 24-month, 108-credit MPAS program in Indianapolis. The post-professional DMS Bridge is separate from this entry-level curriculum.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Students matriculated in 2025

Published class statistics
Average overall GPA, based on all postsecondary coursework.3.75
Average science GPA: not published.Not recorded
Patient-care hours: not published.Not recorded

Population: matriculated students; Butler University

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Students matriculated in 20253.75Average overall GPA, based on all postsecondary coursework.Not recordedAverage science GPA: not published.Not recordedPatient-care hours: not published.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 95%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 93%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedApril 1996
Next reviewJuly 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.