Address & Contact

Our Address

2211 Riverside Avenue South Minneapolis, Minnesota 55454

GPS

44.966964783073, -93.240911577543

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Augsburg University Physician Assistant Program

Minneapolis, Minnesota · Masters

Application deadline Aug 1, 2026Passed · Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $108,225Same for residents and nonresidents
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 33 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
Patient-care minimum 2,000 hours2,000 paid clinical patient-care hours
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 89%
U.S. News PA rank #135 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Primary-care-focused PA program with classrooms on a medical campus adjacent to Augsburg University in Minneapolis.

Mission & approach

The mission of the Augsburg PA program is to educate empathic, community-minded, and forward-thinking health care leaders to practice in primary care with a focus on underserved, underrepresented, and marginalized communities.

Augsburg University Physician Assistant program building at Riverside Park Plaza in Minneapolis
Riverside Park Plaza in Minneapolis, the dedicated location of Augsburg University’s Physician Assistant program.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Blind review (age/race/gender not considered). Decision criteria: mission match, academic ability, understanding of the PA role, interview, and personal statement. Min 3.0 cumulative & science GPA; grade B or better in prerequisites; 2,000 hrs paid hands-on patient care. (Source: augsburg.edu PA admissions)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

How this program interviews

On-campus

Interviews take place on campus between September and November, where candidates meet program faculty, staff, and current students and tour the facilities; the specific interview format is not published.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot Required
Patient care2,000 paid clinical patient-care hours
Overall GPA3.0
Science GPA3.0
Recommendations3 letters; at least one healthcare-setting reference
International applicantsAcceptedQualified international applicants are encouraged to apply.
English proficiencyConditionalUnless waived: TOEFL iBT 80 with 20 in writing and speaking; TOEFL Essentials 8.5; IELTS 6.5; PTE Academic 55; or Duolingo 105. Waivers are available for qualifying U.S. or English-speaking degrees or coursework, and for MELP (Michigan English Language Program) level 4.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits (ranges listed)

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human/vertebrate/organ Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 credits; complete a full physiology course. If you take combined A&P I, you need both A&P I and II. Science-major level. Check course equivalency with the program. A physiology lab is not specified.

Not publishedSemester credits (ranges listed)Not specifiedB
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 credits; general study of microorganisms that cause human disease; science-major level.

Not publishedSemester credits (ranges listed)PreferredB
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 credits; science-major level. An organic/biochemistry survey or combined course does not satisfy this requirement.

Not publishedSemester credits (ranges listed)PreferredB
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

General, developmental/lifespan, or abnormal psychology; 3–4 credits. Check with the program that your course qualifies.

Not publishedSemester credits (ranges listed)Not specifiedB
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

General statistics, biostatistics, or research methods; 3–4 credits.

Not publishedSemester credits (ranges listed)Not specifiedB
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

1–3 credits. May be a college-credit course or course through accredited school/health-care agency associated with college credit.

Not publishedSemester credits (ranges listed)Not specifiedB

Policies that can change your plan

The ten-year limit is counted from the intended start year, not the application year. Also requires 2,000 paid direct clinical-care hours; 3.0 cumulative and science GPA; and 3 recommendations, one from a healthcare reference.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

Your application must be verified by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$108,225 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$108,225 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Total tuition is $108,225 (tuition only): $975 per credit, effective Fall 2026, for 111 credits over about 27 months.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Integrated didactic phase

Organ-system coursework combines clinical medicine, diagnostic reasoning, pharmacotherapy, examination skills and community health.

02Approximately 12 months

Clinical phase

Seven core rotations and two electives provide supervised experience, followed by a capstone. Placements span Minnesota, the Upper Midwest and selected national sites.

The approximately 27-month entry-level PA program coordinates placements. All students rotate outside the Minneapolis–Saint Paul area, encountering urban and rural settings. No hybrid option is offered.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 89%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 1996
Next reviewJuly 2029
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.