Address & Contact

Our Address

Temple University Medicine Education & Research Bldg. (MERB) 3500 North Broad Street, Suite 124 Philadelphia, PA 19140

GPS

40.00623588421904, -75.15241264786542

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Temple University Lewis Katz School of Medicine Physician Assistant Program

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Verified
Tuition Resident: Approximately $98,748 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $103,545 projected full-program tuition · Resident full-program tuition only; sum of published year amounts; future rates may change; Current published 26-month program cost table; academic year not stated
Class size 35 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 26 monthsFull program
GRE requirement GRE or MCAT optionalGRE and MCAT scores are optional.
Patient-care minimum 400 hours by December before matriculationAt least 400 patient-care hours must be complete by December before matriculation.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations 3 letters · specified rolesThree recommendations are required from the exact academic, clinical, or supervisory roles published by the program.
International applicants Not accepted · protected-status exceptionInternational applicants are not accepted except through the published protected-status eligibility pathways. Not accepted · protected-status exception.
English proficiency / TOEFL Not applicableA separate English-proficiency test is not applicable under the current international-eligibility policy.
PANCE pass rate 76%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 88% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 26-month, 117-credit Philadelphia PA program with a 35-student class and 400 patient-care hours required before matriculation.

On campus26 months35 students
Mission & approach

Provide high-quality didactic and clinical education in a collaborative, supportive, empowering environment, developing compassionate, culturally humble PAs who deliver patient-centered, evidence-based, accessible care — emphasis on serving the historically underserved urban community of North Philadelphia.

homepage_slider_merb_katz_alt_tiny_0
homepage_slider_merb_katz_alt_tiny_0
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Temple University Lewis Katz School of Medicine a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Verified CASPA + $60 Temple fee; baccalaureate (regionally accredited US/Canada); prerequisites; 3.0 cum/science GPA; 400 PCE hours; 3 LORs; Statement of Goals; resume; US citizen/permanent resident/refugee/asylee only. Recommended: 100 shadowing hrs, 50 community service hrs

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Individual

The PA Program Admissions Committee selects applicants for interview and notifies them by email; interview day includes two personal, one-on-one interviews plus a program overview and a meeting with current students. All interview-day activities and application materials are then reviewed by the Admissions Committee, with admission on a rolling basis.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREGRE or MCAT optionalGRE and MCAT scores are optional.
Patient care400 hours by December before matriculationAt least 400 patient-care hours must be complete by December before matriculation.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 letters · specified rolesThree recommendations are required from the exact academic, clinical, or supervisory roles published by the program.
International applicantsNot accepted · protected-status exceptionInternational applicants are not accepted except through the published protected-status eligibility pathways.
English proficiencyNot applicableA separate English-proficiency test is not applicable under the current international-eligibility policy.

Prerequisite coursework

Each prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Human anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Combined Human Anatomy/Physiology courses
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two-course science-major sequence with labs. Each course typically 3–4 semester hours; no exact individual course minimum published.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.RequiredCSign in to plan
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two-course science-major sequence with labs. Each course typically 3–4 semester hours; no exact individual course minimum published.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.RequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One prerequisite course; lab required.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.RequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; no lab requirement stated.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

One course in separate route; may be replaced by two combined Human A&P courses together with physiology.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.RequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

One course in separate route; may be replaced by two combined Human A&P courses together with anatomy.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.RequiredCSign in to plan
Combined Human Anatomy/Physiology courses2 course(s)

Alternative route: two combined courses may substitute for separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology. The page does not specify lab treatment for this combined route; confirm course equivalence.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; typical semester/quarter course-length rule applies.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; exact type/credits not specified.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; exact credits not specified.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.Not specifiedCSign in to plan
Two or more approved upper-science elective courses2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Manual review required: choose at least two distinct courses from Genetics, Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, and Cell Biology. These are electives in a selection rule; do not require all five. A single course cannot satisfy multiple prerequisites. Typical course 3–4 semester hours; exact minimum not published.

Not publishedEach prerequisite is one full semester course, typically 3–4 semester hours; trimester courses require at least 5–6 quarter hours. Individual fixed credits not otherwise specified.Not specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Semester courses typically three to four credits
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Quarter courses five to six minimum
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Grade below c not accepted
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Science and math within ten years
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
At least four science courses within four years
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Max two outstanding at application
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Complete by matriculation
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
No double counting courses
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Two or more upper science electives manual review
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Combined a and p lab unspecified
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.
Traditional mms track only
See the prerequisite summary and confirm current-cycle interpretation with the program.

Traditional MMS admissions only. Planner must require at least two distinct upper-science choices, not all listed subjects. Combined A&P labs are unspecified.

When courses must be complete: Complete/verified CASPA and $60 graduate fee due January 15 for June enrollment; Dec 1 prior-year application recommended.

Lewis Katz School of Medicine Traditional MMS PA Requirements Current traditional-program requirements page · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

CASPA application deadline is January 15 for June matriculation.

2026–2027
Program startsJune 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Current published 26-month program cost table; academic year not stated
Resident tuitionApproximately $98,748 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $103,545 projected full-program tuition

$61,065 Year 1 + $42,480 Year 2 · Nonresident full-program tuition only; sum of published year amounts; future rates may change; Current published 26-month program cost table; academic year not stated

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$98,748

Basis: $58,236 Year 1 + $40,512 Year 2 · current-rate projection · high confidence

Current official table labels amounts tuition, and does not establish required fee totals. Fees must be null rather than zero. Preserve resident/nonresident difference.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Duration not stated

Preclinical instruction

69 credits of coursework prepare students for clinical practice.

02Duration not stated

Clinical training

48 credits of supervised clinical education use Temple’s health system and clinical partners.

The Philadelphia program states 26 months and 117 credits. The reviewed curriculum link does not provide a separate phase duration; no month split is inferred.

Temple University Lewis Katz School of Medicine official curriculum Current official program page; cohort year not specified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 76%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 88%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 12, 2016
Next reviewApril 2030

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.