Address & Contact

Our Address

245 East Main Street, Albemarle, NC 28001

GPS

35.3503490, -80.1957816

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Pfeiffer University Physician Assistant Program

Albemarle, North Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026CASPA application deadline is December 1 for January 2027 matriculation.
Tuition $94,500Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $119,000
Full-program tuition and mandatory fees
Class size 28 students
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredNo admission test is required.
Patient-care minimum 500 direct-care hours · 24 shadowingAt least 500 direct patient-care hours and 24 shadowing hours are required.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00; the last-60-credit GPA must also be at least 3.00.
Science GPA minimum No published minimum; prerequisite GPA 3.20.The program does not publish a separate science-GPA minimum; prerequisite GPA must be at least 3.20.
PANCE pass rate 82%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 28-month North Carolina PA program with continued accreditation, a 28-student class and 500 required direct patient-care hours.

On campus28 months28 students

Mission & approach

To provide an inclusive learning environment for students from diverse backgrounds, with an emphasis on rural medicine, and to graduate physician assistants who will deliver exceptional healthcare as servant leaders.

Pfeiffer University Center for Health Sciences in Albemarle, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program
Pfeiffer University Center for Health Sciences in Albemarle, home of the Physician Assistant Studies program
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Rolling, holistic, points-comparative; minimums (overall GPA 3.0, prereq GPA 3.2, last-60 GPA 3.0, 500 DPC hrs, 24 PA-shadowing hrs, 3 LORs, personal statement, interview) do not guarantee an interview. Explicit preference (A3.12a) for applicants exceeding thresholds; Pfeiffer students/alumni meeting requirements invited to interview. No standardized tests; no residency preference. (pfeiffer.edu…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual

Pfeiffer requires an on-campus interview that includes a one-on-one individual interview, a campus tour, and a Q&A with current students, and an interview does not guarantee admission.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredNo admission test is required.
Patient care500 direct-care hours · 24 shadowingAt least 500 direct patient-care hours and 24 shadowing hours are required.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00; the last-60-credit GPA must also be at least 3.00.
Science GPANo published minimum; prerequisite GPA 3.20.The program does not publish a separate science-GPA minimum; prerequisite GPA must be at least 3.20.
Recommendations3 professional or academic lettersThree professional or academic recommendations are required; family members may not serve as recommenders.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published credential and institutional requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalApplicable applicants may qualify through TOEFL iBT 70, IELTS 6, or Duolingo 105.

Prerequisite coursework

The number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Anatomy and physiology2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

2 semester courses; credit amount is not published and the lab requirement is not stated.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.RequiredC
Organic chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.RequiredC
Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; the credit amount is not published.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC
Medical terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester course; credit amount is not published. Continuing education credit is also accepted.

Not publishedThe number of courses is shown; credit amounts are not published.Not specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Grades
C or higher in each course and prerequisite GPA at least 3.20.
Course age
Courses must be completed within seven years; refreshing coursework older than five years is recommended.
Delivery and credit
Online courses and labs from regionally accredited institutions are accepted. High-school AP credit is not accepted, and one course cannot count toward two requirements.

Review the notes and alternative routes before choosing classes. Having completed a course does not guarantee it will be accepted as equivalent.

When courses must be complete: Complete all prerequisites before matriculation.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

CASPA application deadline is December 1 for January 2027 matriculation.

2026–2027
Program startsJanuary 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Full-program tuition and mandatory fees
Resident tuition$94,500 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$94,500 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$24,500
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$119,000

Full-program tuition is $94,500. Mandatory fees add $24,500, for a $119,000 total. The enrollment deposit is credited toward this total and is not counted again.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0116 months

Didactic education

Seventy-one credits combine classroom and clinical-skills training, primarily in person with occasional online or hybrid instruction.

0212 months

Clinical education

Forty-five credits provide supervised practice and more than 1,900 clinical hours. Behavioral-health experiences may use telemedicine.

The Albemarle program is 28 months and 116 credits.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 82%

No 5-year average yet - only THREE graduating cohorts (2022-2024); 81% first-time across all three (79/97)

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 28, 2019
Next reviewOctober 2034
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.