Address & Contact

Our Address

Office of Admission 4401 N. Himes Avenue Tampa, FL 33614

GPS

27.98224135853521, -82.50033038459732

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

South University, Tampa Physician Assistant Program

Tampa, Florida · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $107,703 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $107,703 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 48 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores are required.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumThe program does not publish a numeric patient-care minimum.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum No hard minimum · BCP 3.00 preferredNo separate hard science-GPA cutoff is published; a Biology, Chemistry, and Physics GPA of 3.00 is preferred.
Recommendations At least 3 · one clinicianAt least three recommendations are required, including one from a clinician.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published U.S. bachelor's-degree requirement and other institutional conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programA separate current PA-specific TOEFL or English-proficiency threshold was not established in the reviewed materials. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 98% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #183 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Tampa PA program with January matriculation, a 48-student class, and no required patient-care minimum.

On campus27 months48 students
Mission & approach

To educate a diverse student population and prepare graduates to practice the art and science of medicine, providing high-quality, compassionate, patient-centered healthcare responsive to the needs of all individuals. Vision emphasizes increasing access to care and addressing barriers in healthcare delivery.

South University Tampa campus building at 4401 North Himes Avenue, home of the physician assistant program
South University Tampa, 4401 N. Himes Avenue — verified physician assistant program campus. Source: South University official social media.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is South University, Tampa a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Academic achievement (overall GPA, BCP, GRE); quality of LORs from medical providers; direct-patient-care clinical experience; personal statement/essay; provider mentorship/shadowing; community service; interview performance; interpersonal skills, professionalism, motivation, communication, PA-profession knowledge, mission alignment.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

The clearest advice from this program was to stop chasing whatever you imagine the “right” PA applicant looks like: the admissions team said a stronger application honestly shows your interests, service and experiences, rather than one built to fit a perceived mold. They described patient-care experience and academic performance as genuinely mattering together, so neither is a substitute for the other. Once enrolled, students elect a cohort executive board, and a Medical Spanish Club offers leadership roles while supporting care for Tampa's large Spanish-speaking community.

Shared at the fair on Jul 11, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

How this program interviews

Competitive applicants are invited for a required interview, typically held June through October of the admissions cycle. The admissions committee assesses interpersonal skills, problem-solving ability, professionalism, motivation, academic potential, communication, and knowledge of the PA profession and health care system. The page does not specify whether the interview is individual, panel, or group, nor whether it is virtual or on campus.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores are required.
Patient careNo required minimumThe program does not publish a numeric patient-care minimum.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPANo hard minimum · BCP 3.00 preferredNo separate hard science-GPA cutoff is published; a Biology, Chemistry, and Physics GPA of 3.00 is preferred.
RecommendationsAt least 3 · one clinicianAt least three recommendations are required, including one from a clinician.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published U.S. bachelor's-degree requirement and other institutional conditions.
English proficiencyConfirm with programA separate current PA-specific TOEFL or English-proficiency threshold was not established in the reviewed materials.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Separate Anatomy/Physiology or combined A&P I and II: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Human A&P I and II with labs
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s)Not publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
General Biology I
Course notes & alternatives

Lab recommended.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Biology II
Course notes & alternatives

Lab recommended; listed advanced biology substitutions may be allowed.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry I with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry II with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry

Lab recommended.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Biochemistry

Lab recommended.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Tampa page publishes course counts, not credit minima. Online, virtual and in-person coursework accepted. Lab waivers/substitutions need admissions review. AP accepted; CLEP not accepted.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisites complete before application submission.

South University, Tampa official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-08-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsJanuary 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program tuition and required billed fees
Resident tuition$107,703 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$107,703 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$15,565
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$123,268

Published full-program tuition is $107,703 and required billed fees are $15,565, producing a $123,268 direct total. The broader $132,108 estimate includes outside or travel costs and is not used for tuition ranking.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Quarters 1–5

Didactic instruction

100 quarter credits in assessment, clinical medicine, pharmacotherapeutics, diagnostics, professional practice and applied learning.

02Quarters 6–9

Clinical training

74 quarter credits with eight clinical rotations, clinical topics and a senior seminar.

This campus is included in the primarily on-campus, full-time route with some blended instruction. Clinical experiences emphasize direct patient care and may include telehealth. Published quarter labels are retained without inferred phase lengths in months.

South University, Tampa official curriculum Current official program page; cohort year not specified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 12, 2009
Next reviewJuly 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.