Address & Contact

Our Address

Nova Southeastern University Enrollment and Processing Services - PA Admissions 3301 College Avenue, PO Box 29900 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33329-9905

GPS

26.075486086421133, -80.25246612021996

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale Physician Assistant Program

Fort Lauderdale, Florida · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Received
Tuition Resident: $101,785 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $101,785 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 76 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE is required; official scores are due by January 15 and valid for five years.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumClinical experience is not required; relevant healthcare experience and PA shadowing may receive greater consideration.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00 at application.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00 at application.
Recommendations 2 letters · PA + clinicianTwo letters are required: one from a PA and one from another qualifying healthcare professional.
International applicants ConditionalForeign-educated applicants may apply subject to course-by-course evaluation and U.S. coursework conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL 18 U.S. creditsFor applicable foreign non-English education, NSU requires 18 U.S. semester credits including composition, literature, and public speaking; no separate TOEFL minimum is published.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 92% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #75 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Fort Lauderdale PA program integrating biomedical science, clinical medicine, and supervised patient-care rotations.

On campus27 months76 students
Mission & approach

Works toward producing competent primary-care physician assistants, improving health care delivery in underserved areas, and promoting the PA profession.

Nova Southeastern University Terry Health Professions building on the Fort Lauderdale-Davie campus, home of the Physician Assistant department
The Terry Health Professions building on Nova Southeastern University’s Fort Lauderdale-Davie campus, home of the Physician Assistant department.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review: cumulative & science GPA (min 3.0), GRE (no minimum score), healthcare experience (recommended, not required), baccalaureate degree, prerequisite completion (grade C or better), group + individual interview

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

Nova Southeastern runs multiple PA campuses across Florida that share the same admissions requirements and core didactic content, but differ meaningfully in faculty, culture, campus size, city environment, service mission and clinical territory - so the program actively encourages applicants to attend an open house and evaluate fit rather than treat the campuses as interchangeable. Admissions is rolling, and representatives repeatedly made the point that applying early matters because of application volume. There is no patient-care or healthcare experience requirement to apply, which the team was careful to say is not the same as experience being irrelevant: use CASPA's own experience categories and describe the responsibilities you actually held, since a medical assistant role can land as either health care experience or patient care experience depending on the job description. The program does not pre-approve individual courses before a completed and verified CASPA application, so work from the published prerequisite guidelines. Clinical rotations are arranged by the program's own clinical team, students return to campus between rotations for skills work and board preparation, and housing is available when an assigned clinical site is not within driving distance. The traits it named as predicting success were grit, determination and interpersonal skill.

Shared at the fair on Aug 22, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 and August 22 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

How this program interviews

Virtual or on campusIndividual + Group

The NSU Fort Lauderdale FAQ explains that interview day opens with a group discussion to observe communication skills, after which each applicant meets one-on-one with 3-4 interviewers, and confirms the same format is used whether the candidate interviews live on campus or via Zoom.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE is required; official scores are due by January 15 and valid for five years.
Patient careNo required minimumClinical experience is not required; relevant healthcare experience and PA shadowing may receive greater consideration.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00 at application.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00 at application.
Recommendations2 letters · PA + clinicianTwo letters are required: one from a PA and one from another qualifying healthcare professional.
International applicantsConditionalForeign-educated applicants may apply subject to course-by-course evaluation and U.S. coursework conditions.
English proficiency18 U.S. creditsFor applicable foreign non-English education, NSU requires 18 U.S. semester credits including composition, literature, and public speaking; no separate TOEFL minimum is published.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • General Biology or Zoology route: General Biology OR Zoology
  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy & Physiology I + Human Anatomy & Physiology II OR Human Anatomy + Human Physiology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
College Mathematics (Algebra or higher)
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours; Statistics does not satisfy this requirement.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
English2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester hours, including at least 3 hours English Composition.

6Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Humanities / Arts
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; examples include philosophy, religion, language, law, ethics, literature, performing/visual arts.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Social Sciences
Course notes & alternatives

9 credits; accepted subject examples include anthropology, psychology, sociology, political science, economics, history, geography, criminology, archaeology, communication, cultural studies, law, ethics.

9Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Both semesters required, 8 total semester credits with labs.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

4 credits with lab.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
General Biology

General biology with lab; alternative to Zoology with lab.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Zoology

Zoology with lab; alternative to General Biology with lab.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Human Anatomy & Physiology I

A&P I and II combined route; current requirements total 6 semester hours and labs are not required. Individual course credits not stated.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy & Physiology II

Second course of combined A&P I/II route; current requirements total 6 semester hours and labs are not required. Individual course credits not stated.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy

Alternative separate Anatomy + Human Physiology route; 6 total semester hours; source does not split credits.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology

Alternative separate Human Anatomy + Physiology route; 6 total semester hours; source does not split credits.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; lab not required. Organic Chemistry does not substitute.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Human Genetics
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; must be Human Genetics, not Animal Genetics.

3Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

1 college credit; non-credit continuing education/employer-based training is not accepted.

1Semester creditsNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Upcoming policy change
Effective Summer 2028: A&P route must include two labs and increases from 6 to 8 semester credits; current policy does not require A&P labs.
Campus scope
Prerequisite table applies across NSU PA programs; this record is the Fort Lauderdale campus.
Current cycle
Application deadline Jan 15; confirm next cycle year and campus-specific details when published.

Minimum C (2.0) in all courses. Science courses completed less than 10 years ago are more competitive, not stated as a hard cutoff. Effective Summer 2028, A&P labs become required and A&P credits increase from 6 to 8; do not apply that future rule to applicants before that date. No waivers or substitutions.

When courses must be complete: GRE required by Jan 15, valid 5 years; minimum overall and science GPA 3.0; 2 recommendations (one PA and one qualifying healthcare professional); no required healthcare-hour minimum.

Nova Southeastern University PA admissions and prerequisite requirements Current published requirements; A&P rule change effective Summer 2028 · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Current CASPA application deadline; official GRE scores are also due by January 15.

2026–2027
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$101,785 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$101,785 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$12,484
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$114,269

Full-program tuition is the sum of NSU’s published Year 1, Year 2, and partial Year 3 rows. The $12,484 fee figure is a planning estimate from published “Other Possible Costs” rows. Tuition rankings use the $101,785 full-program tuition amount.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic education

Four semesters combine classroom instruction, laboratory work, standardized patients and ultrasound skills.

0212 months

Clinical education

Ten rotations last approximately 2.5–6 weeks and include required experiences and three electives.

The Fort Lauderdale curriculum spans 27 months and 144 credits. All curriculum components are required.

Nova Southeastern University, Fort Lauderdale official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; entering-cohort schedule should be confirmed · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMay 1994
Next reviewApril 2035

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.