Address & Contact

Our Address

140 Sweeten Creek Road Asheville, NC

GPS

35.55373, -82.51881

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

South College – Asheville Physician Assistant Program

Asheville, North Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Must be received by this date
Tuition $110,250Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $122,000
Published full-program tuition and required fees
Class size Not publishedThe official maximum class size is 85 students per year. The current entering-class count is not published. Check with the program.
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores are required for the Asheville program.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumThe program does not publish a numeric patient-care minimum.
Overall GPA minimum 2.75Minimum cumulative GPA is 2.75.
Science GPA minimum No general science-GPA minimum; prerequisite science GPA of at least 2.75There is no separate cutoff for your overall science GPA, but your prerequisite science courses must average at least 2.75.
PANCE pass rate 93%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: Not available yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Asheville PA program with January matriculation, a December application deadline, and no required patient-care minimum.

On campus27 months

Mission & approach

The mission of the South College Masters of Health Science in Physician Assistant Studies program is to educate highly qualified physician assistants, preparing them to become competent, compassionate, and comprehensive healthcare providers for clinical practice in rural and urban areas, focusing on underserved communities.

Program campus
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Scoring domains: cumulative GPA, overall science GPA, GRE scores, direct patient care experience hours, and preferred characteristics (military veterans, first-generation college graduates, multilingual applicants). Interview with PA faculty required and weighted. Up to two outstanding prerequisites allowed at review. Baccalaureate degree required prior to matriculation.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores are required for the Asheville program.
Patient careNo required minimumThe program does not publish a numeric patient-care minimum.
Overall GPA2.75Minimum cumulative GPA is 2.75.
Science GPANo general science-GPA minimum; prerequisite science GPA of at least 2.75There is no separate cutoff for your overall science GPA, but your prerequisite science courses must average at least 2.75.
Recommendations3 letters · clinician recommendedThree recommendations are required; a clinician recommender is recommended.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published U.S. bachelor's-degree requirement and other institutional conditions.
English proficiencyConfirm with programNo PA-specific TOEFL or English-proficiency threshold is published. Check with the program.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specified
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specified
Biology I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

A mammalian, cell, molecular, or human biology course; an upper-level course from that list may replace Biology II.

8Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specified
Microbiology with lab3Semester credits unless notedRequiredNot specified
English6Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specified
Advanced Mathematics
Course notes & alternatives

Statistics, Algebra, Calculus, Finite Math or equivalent; statistics recommended.

6Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specified
Humanities or Social Sciences
Course notes & alternatives

Psychology recommended.

6Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specified

Policies that can change your plan

These are the Asheville campus requirements. Science prerequisites must be completed within seven years. You need a 2.75 minimum for your cumulative, prerequisite, and science-prerequisite GPAs; no separate minimum grade per course is stated.

When courses must be complete: At most two outstanding prerequisite courses may be considered; all complete before matriculation.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

CASPA application deadline is December 1 for January 4, 2027 matriculation.

2026–2027
Program startsJan 4, 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program tuition and required fees
Resident tuition$110,250 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$110,250 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$11,750
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$122,000

Tuition is $110,250 for the full program (9 quarters at $12,250). Required program fees add $11,750, for $122,000 total. In-state and out-of-state tuition are the same. Living costs are extra.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic education

Five quarters of medical sciences, patient assessment, clinical medicine and professional preparation.

0212 months

Clinical education

Core rotations cover internal/family medicine, surgery, emergency medicine, women’s health, pediatrics and behavioral health, plus an elective and research capstone.

Asheville-specific 27-month curriculum: 163 credits, comprising 88 didactic and 75 clinical credits; January entry and March graduation.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 93%

No 5-year average yet - only TWO graduating cohorts (2025-2026); 91% first-time across them (146/161)

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Provisional
First accreditedSeptember 24, 2022
Next reviewJanuary 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.