Address & Contact

Our Address

East Carolina University 600 Moye Boulevard Mail Stop 668 Greenville, NC 27834

GPS

35.612726993377, -77.366483334491

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

East Carolina University Physician Assistant Program

Greenville, North Carolina · Masters

Application deadline Sep 1, 2026Passed · Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition Resident $42,902Nonresident $92,716
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 38 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE, MCAT, and PA-CAT are optional and are not factored in.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo minimum; 1,000 hours preferred. No minimum; 1,000 health-related/patient-contact hours preferred No minimum; 1,000 health-related or patient-contact hours are preferred.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 minimum overall GPA
Science GPA minimum Not published · see policyECU publishes a 3.0 prerequisite GPA minimum but no separate general science-GPA cutoff. See Requirements.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 99%
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

The mission of the Department of Physician Assistant Studies is to provide educational experiences which prepare physician assistant graduates to enhance access to primary medical care, with a hope to increase care for the citizens of rural and medically-underserved Eastern North Carolina and beyond. We seek to achieve this mission in an educational community where faculty, staff, clinical instructors, students, and other health care providers work together in an atmosphere of mutual respect, cooperation, compassion, and commitment.

East Carolina University Health Sciences Building, home of the Physician Assistant program
East Carolina University Health Sciences Building in Greenville, home of the Physician Assistant program.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Very competitive (up to 38 matriculants). Reviews total, science, and prerequisite GPA plus graduate science coursework. PRIORITY review categories: NC residents; military applicants; graduates of master's-level science programs; ECU Honors College students/grads; ECU College of Allied Health Sciences Nutrition Science students/grads. Values demonstrated commitment to serving rural/underserved communities, dedication to Eastern NC, military service, multilingual fluency, significant life/healthcare experiences, and service/leadership record. NOTE: Biochemistry becomes a required prerequisite starting 2026-2027 cycle.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Interviews are conducted in person on the ECU Health Sciences campus for the most qualified applicants; offers are sent by email through CASPA, interviews run roughly July through January, and decisions follow by March 1.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredNot required. GRE, MCAT, and PA-CAT are optional and are not factored in.
Patient careNo minimum; 1,000 hours preferredNo minimum; 1,000 health-related/patient-contact hours preferred No minimum; 1,000 health-related or patient-contact hours are preferred.
Overall GPA3.0 minimum overall GPA
Prerequisite GPA minimum3.0 minimum prerequisite GPA; no separate science GPA floor stated
Recommendations3 letters; healthcare professionals and paid-employment supervisors prioritized3 letters; letters from healthcare professionals (PA/MD/DO/NP) and paid-employment supervisors are prioritized.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsApplicants with foreign degrees are considered, but every applicant must be a permanent resident of NC, SC, VA, TN, GA, or DC (a limited military waiver exists).
English proficiencyConfirm with program
Science GPA policy & alternatives

ECU publishes a 3.0 prerequisite GPA minimum but no separate general science-GPA cutoff.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and Physiology pathway: Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Two semesters, 8 semester credits; separate route is one semester each Human Anatomy with lab and Human Physiology with lab, total 8. Comparative, animal, or mammalian courses not accepted.

8Semester creditsRequiredNot specified
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

One semester, 4 credits, paired with Human Physiology with lab as an alternative to the two-semester combined A&P sequence.

4Semester creditsRequiredNot specified
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

One semester, 4 credits, paired with Human Anatomy with lab as an alternative to the combined A&P sequence.

4Semester creditsRequiredNot specified
Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course, 3 semester credits; course grade B or higher recommended but not required.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specified
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters, 8 semester credits. Organic Chemistry may substitute, but the program does not say how many courses or credits are needed. Check with the program.

8Semester creditsRequiredNot specified
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course, 3 semester credits. A lab rule is not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specified
Introductory Psychology or higher1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course, 3 credits; AP accepted. Introductory Psychology or a higher-level Psychology course satisfies the requirement.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specified
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course, 3 credits; biostatistics, mathematical statistics, or social-science statistics accepted; AP accepted.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specified
Upper-level Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One semester, minimum 3 semester credits; required beginning 2026–2027 admissions cycle. General or Organic Chemistry must be a prerequisite; survey and combined-discipline courses not accepted.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specified

Policies that can change your plan

Cycle
Biochemistry became required starting in 2026–2027 admissions cycle.
Chemistry route
General Chemistry I and II with labs (8 semester credits). Organic Chemistry is listed as a possible substitute, but the program does not state its credits or course count. Check with the program.
Grade
B or higher recommended; applicants may not have more than two prerequisite grades of C or any failing grade. No strict per-course minimum grade stated.
Labs
A&P and General Chemistry explicitly require labs. A Microbiology lab is not specified.
Recency
Five years strongly recommended, but explicitly not required.

CASPA and ECU Graduate School deadline September 1; all prerequisites must be complete at application submission. 3.0 overall and prerequisite GPA minimums. Residency restricted to NC, SC, VA, TN, GA, or Washington, DC (limited military waiver). No minimum patient-care hours; 1,000 health/patient-contact hours preferred. GRE/MCAT/PA-CAT not required and scores do not affect admission decisions. Five-year coursework recency is recommended, not required.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite courses completed by application submission; current cycle deadline September 1.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineSep 1, 2026 · Passed

Your application must be verified by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$42,902 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$92,716 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

2026-27 estimate for seven semesters: PA-specific tuition only. Fees and living costs are additional.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic phase

Four semesters and 59 credits at ECU’s College of Allied Health Sciences campus in Greenville emphasize primary care and rural healthcare.

0212 months

Supervised clinical practice

Three semesters and 46 credits include more than 1,900 patient-contact hours at diverse sites primarily in eastern North Carolina.

The published curriculum lists clinical practicum courses in behavioral medicine, internal and family medicine, surgery, emergency medicine, pediatrics, women's health, geriatrics, and electives, plus bridge-to-practice courses.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class 2027 — accepted Fall 2025

Published class statistics
Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.79
Mean Science GPA3.74
Patient-care hours: not published.Not recorded

Fall 2025 admits (Class of 2027). Their prerequisite GPA, reported separately, is 3.75. These figures describe students who were selected, admitted, or matriculated at East Carolina University.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class 2027 — accepted Fall 20253.79Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.74Mean Science GPANot recordedPatient-care hours: not published.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 99%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 1996
Next reviewOctober 2035
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.