Address & Contact

Our Address

Mercyhurst University 501 East 38th Street Erie, PA 16546

GPS

42.1063395, -80.0524445

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Mercyhurst University Physician Assistant Program

Erie, Pennsylvania · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Must be received by this date
Tuition $120,474Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $130,428
Published full-program estimate
Class size 30 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredNo standardized admissions test is required.
Patient-care minimum 200 hoursAt least 200 hours of paid or volunteer healthcare experience are required.
Overall GPA minimum 3.20Minimum overall GPA is 3.20.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedThe 3.20 minimum applies to prerequisite-course GPA; there is no separate CASPA science GPA minimum.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 97%
U.S. News PA rank #159 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Erie PA program combining medical science, clinical skills, and supervised rotations in a small-cohort setting.

On campus24 months30 students

Mission & approach

Prepare PA students with high-quality academic and clinical training to become socially aware leaders providing compassionate, quality care to diverse communities, rooted in the Mercy tradition.

Wayne Street Academics Building in Erie, home of the Mercyhurst University PA program
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Higher overall GPA, prerequisite GPA, and direct patient healthcare experience are more competitive; based on prerequisites completion, interview, and space availability; preference to equally-qualified Mercyhurst graduates

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Mercyhurst's admission requirements page confirms positively-reviewed applicants are invited for a personal on-campus interview but does not describe its internal format.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredNo standardized admissions test is required.
Patient care200 hoursAt least 200 hours of paid or volunteer healthcare experience are required.
Overall GPA3.20Minimum overall GPA is 3.20.
Science GPANot publishedThe 3.20 minimum applies to prerequisite-course GPA; there is no separate CASPA science GPA minimum.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendation letters are required; evaluator roles are not specified.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants must hold a qualifying U.S. or Canadian bachelor’s degree and meet the program’s credential requirements.
English proficiencyTOEFL required, with a score of 69.Applicable international or non-native English-speaking applicants must submit TOEFL; the published minimum is 69.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Anatomy with lab + Physiology OR Combined Anatomy and Physiology I and II
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Chemistry with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Six lecture credits plus two lab credits.

8Semester creditsRequiredC
Organic chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three lecture credits plus one lab credit.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Biology with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Six lecture credits plus two lab credits.

8Semester creditsRequiredC
Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Three lecture credits plus one lab credit; separate anatomy+physiology route.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Physiology1 course(s)

Part of the separate anatomy and physiology route. Physiology must be among your recent credits.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
Combined Anatomy and Physiology I and II2 course(s)

Two-semester alternative to separate anatomy and physiology. The program does not publish how credits and labs are split for the combined course; confirm equivalency.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedC
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three lecture credits plus one lab credit; must be among recent credits.

4Semester creditsRequiredC
Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three credits.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three credits.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three credits; the program does not specify the type of course.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Medical terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One credit preferred; because few courses are offered, a certificate may be accepted.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

A combined A&P course is accepted, but the program does not specify its credits and labs, so it reviews equivalency case by case. A medical terminology certificate may be accepted. At least 12 prerequisite credits, including physiology and microbiology, must be within five years before you start; this is not a blanket five-year limit. The CASPA completed-by deadline differs from the program's earlier policy deadline, so confirm with the program which applies.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

Check with the program on whether CASPA must have processed your application by this date.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$120,474 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$120,474 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$9,954
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$130,428

Tuition and required fees for the full program are shown separately. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Didactic instruction

Summer basic sciences and introductory clinical skills lead into fall and spring clinical medicine, pharmacotherapeutics and procedures.

02Second year

Clinical education

Nine listed rotations cover internal medicine, family practice, women’s health, pediatrics, emergency medicine, surgery, mental health and two electives. A thesis and summative evaluation accompany clinical education.

24-month sequenced curriculum. During the clinical year, students return to campus for the last two days of each rotation for debriefing, testing, case presentations and lectures. A separate two-week on-campus summative course at the end prepares students for the PANCE.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 6, 2015
Next reviewApril 2029
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.