Address & Contact

Our Address

Berry College 2277 Martha Berry Hwy NW Mount Berry, Georgia 30149

GPS

34.298647922774, -85.17739152477

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Berry College Physician Assistant Program

Mount Berry, Georgia · Master of Medical Science

Application deadline Apr 1, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $118,260Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $119,390
Class of 2029 — admitted 2027, two-year program
Class size 40 studentsPlanned August 2027 incoming class: 40. This matches the ARC-PA maximum and is not a completed enrollment count. Berry reports 28 accepted for August 2025 and 34 for August 2026.
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with program
Patient-care minimum No required minimumHealthcare-related experience is required, but no minimum hour total is required. The program says generally competitive applicants have at least 1,000 accrued patient-contact or clinical-experience hours at application. The broad experience category may include CASPA health-related, patient-care, shadowing and volunteer experience. The 1,000-hour figure is competitive guidance, not a required minimum of direct patient-care experience. Berry's admissions information gives 1,000 competitive hours, while the linked 2025 program handbook gives 500. Check with the program before relying on either figure.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Confirmed in the program's current published materials.
Science GPA minimum Not published · see policyBerry requires a CASPA overall GPA of 3.0, a prerequisite GPA of 3.0, and a science GPA of 3.0 in biology, chemistry and physics (BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)) courses. See Requirements.
PANCE pass rate No graduates yetFirst-time pass rateFive-year first-time: No graduates yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A residential, 24-month Master of Medical Science program in Mount Berry, Georgia, with 127 credits: 81 didactic credits followed by 46 clinical credits. The curriculum includes seven required clinical specialties and an elective.

127 credits across six consecutive terms12-month didactic phase and 12-month clinical phaseSeven core clinical specialties plus an electiveCase-based and organ-system learning

Mission & approach

Berry prepares future physician associates to provide comprehensive, compassionate and patient-centered care in their communities.

Morgan-Bailey Hall, home of the Berry College Physician Associate program
Morgan-Bailey Hall, home of Berry College’s Physician Associate program. Photo: Berry College.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Rolling review uses a rubric, with higher course grades and GPA weighted more heavily. Confirmed Berry students/graduates in good standing, honorably discharged veterans, applicants from medically underserved areas and applicants from Appalachia each receive one preference point with documentation. Meeting minimums or preferences does not guarantee an interview or admission. CASPA personal statements generated in whole or part by AI are not accepted.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual and group interviews

Required invitation-only, on-campus interview in Mount Berry: two individual faculty/staff interviews, a group discussion, and a handwritten essay. No virtual interviews. One national listing also mentions an MMI (multiple mini-interview)/scenario room, which the program's own description does not.

Source checked Sep 13, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRE requirementNot published for the current application cycle; confirm with the program.The current admissions information does not list the GRE or another standardized admissions test. The program handbook says its GRE requirement applied only to the 2027 cohort. Check with the program for the current policy.
Patient careHealthcare-related experience is required, but no minimum hour total is required. The program says generally competitive applicants have at least 1,000 accrued patient-contact or clinical-experience hours at application.The broad experience category may include CASPA health-related, patient-care, shadowing and volunteer experience. The 1,000-hour figure is competitive guidance, not a required minimum of direct patient-care experience. Berry's admissions information gives 1,000 competitive hours, while the linked 2025 program handbook gives 500. Check with the program before relying on either figure.
Overall GPA3.0 CASPA cumulative overall GPA minimum across all undergraduate and graduate coursework.Confirmed in the program's current published materials.
Science GPA3.0 CASPA BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA minimum for biology, chemistry and physics coursework.The 3.0 science GPA minimum is based on biology, chemistry and physics (BCP (biology, chemistry, physics)) courses only. A separate 3.0 prerequisite GPA is also required.
RecommendationsThree references: one nationally certified and state-licensed PA; one college professor or a supervisor who worked with the applicant for at least six months; and one healthcare professional such as a physician, nurse or healthcare supervisor.Authors must have first-hand knowledge. Friends, family, relatives and the applicant's personal healthcare providers are not accepted.
International eligibilityNo. Applicants must be U.S. citizens or U.S. legal permanent residents.Only U.S. citizens and permanent residents can apply. Those with coursework from outside the U.S. need a WES evaluation, and applicants whose first language is not English may need the TOEFL.
English proficiencyConditional: U.S. citizens and permanent residents whose first language is not English may be asked to submit the TOEFL, with a minimum total score of 90.The program does not publish who decides when TOEFL is required, accepted alternatives, a score-age limit, or explicit exemptions. Confirm applicability and timing directly with the program.
PA-CAT and CASPerNo required tests are listed.No required standardized tests are listed for August 2027 entry. The 2025 handbook limits the GRE to the Class of 2027 (the graduating cohort, not August 2027 entrants), and current admissions has no GRE requirement, so the GRE is not required for Class of 2029 applicants. PA-CAT and CASPer are not addressed on the current admissions page. TOEFL may be required if your native language is not English, with a minimum total score of 90.
ApplicationApply through CASPA. Rolling admission; deadline April 1, 2027.
Supplemental applicationNone listedNo supplemental application is listed, and no supplemental fee is published. CASPA itself is not free.
EligibilityU.S. citizen or legal permanent residentA bachelor’s degree is required before entry. Coursework from outside the U.S. needs a WES evaluation sent to CASPA. Applicants whose first language is not English may need the TOEFL, with a minimum total score of 90.
InterviewTwo individual interviews and group discussionRequired invitation-only, on-campus interview in Mount Berry: two individual faculty/staff interviews, a group discussion, and a handwritten essay. No virtual interviews. One national listing also mentions an MMI (multiple mini-interview)/scenario room, which the program's own description does not.
ShadowingRecommended; no separate minimum is published.PA and physician shadowing are recommended, not required. Berry counts shadowing within its broad healthcare experience categories.
Deposit$1,000 due within 14 days.The deposit is nonrefundable and is credited toward tuition when you matriculate.
Science GPA policy & alternatives

Berry requires a CASPA overall GPA of 3.0, a prerequisite GPA of 3.0, and a science GPA of 3.0 in biology, chemistry and physics (BCP) courses.

Prerequisite coursework

Credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

Lab required.

4creditsRequiredC
Human Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

Lab required.

4creditsRequiredC
General Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Lab required.

8creditsRequiredC
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

Lab policy is not specified.

3creditsNot specifiedC
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Lab policy is not specified.

3creditsNot specifiedC
Organic Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

Lab required.

4creditsRequiredC
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

Lab policy is not specified.

3creditsNot specifiedC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

Lab policy is not specified.

3creditsNot specifiedC
English composition/writing
Course notes & alternatives

Lab policy is not specified.

3creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Course recency
The admissions page and the 2025 handbook specify ten years for current cohorts; the handbook's five-year rule applies only to the Class of 2027. The current FAQ still says five years with no cohort qualifier. Confirm course recency with the program before applying.
AP/CLEP and advanced placement
Berry offers no advanced placement or prerequisite waivers. Whether transcripted AP/CLEP credit counts toward admission prerequisites is not published — check with the program.
Experience
Healthcare-related experience is required, but Berry states there is no minimum number of hours. Accepted experience may include healthcare, patient care, shadowing and volunteering as CASPA defines them. The admissions page describes 1,000 hours as competitive, while the FAQ and 2025 handbook say 500. Both are broad-experience benchmarks, not direct patient-care minimums. Confirm the competitive benchmark with Berry.
Letters
Three letters: one nationally certified and state-licensed PA; one college professor or a supervisor who has worked with you for at least six months; and one healthcare professional such as a physician, nurse or healthcare supervisor. Authors must know your work firsthand. Friends, relatives and your personal healthcare providers are not accepted.
Tests
No required standardized tests are listed for August 2027 entry. The 2025 handbook limits the GRE to the Class of 2027 (the graduating cohort, not August 2027 entrants), and current admissions has no GRE requirement, so the GRE is not required for Class of 2029 applicants. PA-CAT and CASPer are not addressed on the current admissions page. TOEFL may be required if your native language is not English, with a minimum total score of 90.
Selection
Rolling review uses a rubric, with higher course grades and GPA weighted more heavily. Confirmed Berry students/graduates in good standing, honorably discharged veterans, applicants from medically underserved areas and applicants from Appalachia each receive one preference point with documentation. Meeting minimums or preferences does not guarantee an interview or admission. CASPA personal statements generated in whole or part by AI are not accepted.
Costs
Class of 2029 (admitted in 2027): tuition is $59,130 per year, fixed for the cohort, totaling $118,260. Technology ($150), activity ($225) and parking ($160) fees recur each year; graduation adds $60 in year two. Required fees total $1,130 and direct costs total $119,390. Estimated indirect costs are $35,082 in year one and $38,049 in year two, for a two-year attendance estimate of $192,521. All figures are estimates; actual expenses may vary.
Before matriculation
AHA Basic Life Support certification and health insurance are required and must continue through the program. Health clearance, immunizations, a national background check and comprehensive drug screen are required; screening costs belong to the student.
Technology
A PC laptop with reliable internet is required; Macintosh/Apple computers, tablets and Chromebooks do not meet the published requirement.
Housing and travel
Students arrange their own housing and should have access to a personal vehicle. Away rotations can require additional housing; neither AHEC (Area Health Education Centers) nor the program guarantees it.
Deferrals
The 2025 handbook says acceptance cannot be deferred; students seeking a later cohort must reapply.
Graduation and attrition
Berry says annual graduation and attrition data will be posted by April 1 after the first cohort graduates. No completed-cohort counts or rates are published yet; current enrollment is not an outcome.

Nine prerequisite subjects total 35 credits. Minimum grade is C and the CASPA prerequisite GPA is 3.0; only two may be outstanding at application. Anatomy, Physiology, General Chemistry and Organic Chemistry require labs; other lab policies are not specified. Course recency is unclear: the admissions page and 2025 handbook specify ten years for current cohorts (the handbook's five-year rule applies only to the Class of 2027), but the current FAQ still says five years. Confirm with the program before applying. Genetics (4 credits with lab) appears in a national listing, but the handbook limits it to the Class of 2027 and current admissions does not list it, so it is not shown as required. Medical terminology is recommended, not required.

When courses must be complete: A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution is due before matriculation. At most two prerequisites may be outstanding when applying; accepted students must meet grade and GPA conditions. Berry’s timeline puts immunizations and outstanding requirements at August 1 before the August start.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA deadline — program requires verificationApr 1, 2027

For August 2027 entry (Class of 2029), the deadline is April 1, 2027. Berry requires a completed, CASPA-verified application by 11:59 p.m. EST on April 1, while another listing says submitted is enough, so check with the program to confirm. The exact opening day is not published (a 2026–27 opening date of April 30, 2025 printed elsewhere is incorrect).

Published date
Class of 2029 beginsAugust 2027

Planned incoming class size is 40; the August 2026 start is a passed cycle.

Annual CASPA openingDate needs confirmation

The cycle year on the program's page is inconsistent (it shows 2025); confirm the cycle in CASPA.

Outstanding requirements dueDate needs confirmation

A bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution is due before matriculation. At most two prerequisites may be outstanding when applying; accepted students must meet grade and GPA conditions. Berry’s timeline puts immunizations and outstanding requirements at August 1 before the August start.

On-campus interviewsSeptember through late spring

Invitations begin in August; offers of admission start in September and continue on a rolling basis.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Class of 2029 — admitted 2027, two-year program
Resident tuitionConfirm with program
Nonresident tuitionConfirm with program
Required program fees$1,130
Additional expenses$15,613
Living & transportation$57,518
Estimated cost of attendanceIncludes resident tuition, required fees, additional expenses and living costs
$192,521

Class of 2029 (admitted in 2027): tuition is $59,130 per year, fixed for the cohort, totaling $118,260. Technology ($150), activity ($225) and parking ($160) fees recur each year; graduation adds $60 in year two. Required fees total $1,130 and direct costs total $119,390. Estimated indirect costs are $35,082 in year one and $38,049 in year two, for a two-year attendance estimate of $192,521. All figures are estimates; actual expenses may vary.

See additional expenses & assumptions
Tuition, both years$118,260
Technology, both years$300
Activity, both years$450
Parking, both years$320
Graduation, year two$60
Housing, both years$39,046
Food, both years$8,664
Books/materials/equipment, both years$7,138
Other indirect fees, both years$1,623
Health insurance estimate, both years$6,174
Transportation, both years$9,808
Loan disbursement fees, both years$678

Tuition is $59,130 per year ($118,260 for two years). Fees are $535 in year one and $595 in year two ($1,130). Direct costs are $59,665 and $59,725 ($119,390). Indirect costs are $35,082 and $38,049 ($73,131). Estimated attendance is $94,747 and $97,774 ($192,521). The deposit is credited to tuition and is not added again.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Didactic phase — 81 credits

Year one: 12 months

Three 27-credit terms covering anatomy and physiology, clinical medicine, pharmacology, clinical skills, clinical application, professional topics, clinical science, evidence-based practice and a didactic seminar.

02Clinical phase — 46 credits

Year two: 12 months

Forty weeks of supervised clinical practice. Required specialties: family medicine, emergency medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, women’s health, surgery, and behavioral/mental health. An elective, emerging topics, transition to practice and summative coursework complete the phase.

81 didactic + 46 clinical = 127 credits. The 2025 handbook specifies 40 weeks of supervised clinical experience. Individual rotation lengths are not published — check with the program.

Berry PA curriculum Checked 2026-09-13
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

August 2026 accepted class

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.72
Science GPANot recorded
Prerequisite GPA3.74
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

Overall GPA 3.72; BCP GPA 3.60; prerequisite GPA 3.74. Applicant pool: 3,359 initiated, 719 verified, 108 interviewed, 34 accepted. Average age 24.32 years, range 22–30.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
August 2025 accepted class3.62Not recordedNot recorded
August 2026 accepted class3.72Not recordedNot recorded

Latest class profile, for August 2026 matriculation. August 2025 accepted class: overall GPA 3.62; BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA 3.66; prerequisite GPA 3.54. Applicant pool: 1,345 initiated, 162 verified, 48 interviewed, 28 accepted. August 2026 accepted class: overall GPA 3.72; BCP GPA 3.60; prerequisite GPA 3.74. Applicant pool: 3,359 initiated, 719 verified, 108 interviewed, 34 accepted. Average age 24.32 years, range 22–30. The 2025 class had 23 women and 5 men; the 2026 class had 29 women and 5 men. Another listing shows an older overall average of 3.6 with no class year.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

No graduates yet as of September 2026: the first cohort entered August 2025 in a 24-month program. Berry says annual PANCE information will begin by April 2028. No first-time, five-year, national-comparison, numerator or denominator is available for Berry; unavailable results are not 0%.

First-time program results are not yet available; no graduates have been reported.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Provisional
First accreditedMarch 2025
Next reviewJanuary 2028
  1. March 2025Initial Accreditation-Provisional

    ARC-PA set a maximum class size of 40 and noted one staffing-timeline noncompliance under D1.01c. The history does not show a later resolution — check with the program.

  2. To be determinedNext review

    The date of the next accreditation review has not been set yet.

Accreditation-Provisional, first awarded March 2025, with a maximum class size of 40. The date of the next accreditation review has not been set yet. Provisional status does not guarantee later accreditation.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.