A closer look
In-person PA program whose history emphasizes primary care for rural, medically underserved and disadvantaged communities.
Mission & approach
The Barry University Physician Assistant Program educates students in the practice of collaborative medicine and encourages life-long learning and professional development. It fosters a technology rich environment and clinical training experiences among diverse patient populations. The Program enables students to develop competencies required to meet the health care needs of contemporary society.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic, highly competitive (~2,500 apps/yr); competitive overall & science GPA ~3.4-3.5 and 1,000+ direct patient-care hours. Favors higher GPA, PA-CAT, patient-care/work experience; credits military/service, leadership, mission congruence, diversity, disadvantaged status, multilingual fluency (serving underserved). Interview by invitation. (barry.edu PA FAQs)
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Organic chemistry or biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
- Human A&P route: Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
General/Inorganic Chemistry2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesSix semester credits in two courses. The program does not say whether a lab is required. | 6Semester credits | Not specified | C |
| Organic Chemistry1 course(s) One 3-credit course. Biochemistry is an accepted alternative, not an additional requirement. The program does not say whether a lab is required. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
| Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s) Two lab courses, or separate Anatomy with lab plus Physiology with lab. You cannot mix the two routes. | 8Semester credits | Required | C |
Microbiology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne 4-semester-hour course with lab. | 4Semester credits | Required | C |
Additional Biological Science1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne course; acceptable examples: General Biology, Zoology, Human Genetics, Histology, or Cell/Molecular Biology. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
Behavioral or Social Sciences2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo courses; only Psychology, Sociology, or Human Growth and Development are accepted. | 6Semester credits | Not specified | C |
| Biochemistry1 course(s) Accepted instead of one 3-credit Organic Chemistry course. The program does not say whether a lab is required. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | C |
| Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s) Alternative to the two combined A&P courses: take separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology (with lab). Do not mix routes. | Not publishedSemester credits | Required | C |
| Human Physiology with lab1 course(s) Alternative to the two combined A&P courses: take separate Human Physiology and Human Anatomy (with lab). Do not mix routes. | Not publishedSemester credits | Required | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Course age
- Prerequisite courses older than 10 years are not accepted.
- Anatomy and Physiology route
- Use either the two-course combined A&P sequence or separate Anatomy and Physiology courses with labs; the routes cannot be mixed.
- Medical Terminology
- Required after provisional acceptance and before matriculation, not as a pre-application prerequisite.
Medical Terminology is required only after provisional acceptance, before you start the program. PA-CAT is required; GRE is not. Minimum 3.0 overall and science GPA. Healthcare experience is highly recommended, with no numeric minimum. The Miami Shores program is separate from Barry's St. Petersburg program.
Dates & application steps
Your application must be verified by the deadline.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Confirm current cohortConfirm rates for your entering cohort
Barry charges $39,000 per year, with the final semester at one-third of a year: $39,000 + $39,000 + $13,000 = $91,000 over 7 semesters (28 months). Barry says tuition and fees apply to all students regardless of campus, and tuition is the same for in-state and out-of-state residents.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic study
Classroom and laboratory instruction includes 45 hours of Medical Spanish.
Clinical education
Clinical training includes diverse and underserved communities; the program secures sites and preceptors.
Advanced didactic study
An advanced didactic semester follows the clinical year.
The Miami Shores campus follows Barry’s shared 28-month, 124-credit program. In-person attendance is mandatory; interactive videoconferencing connects the two Florida campuses.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 91%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 90%
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- PA School Finder deadline record
- Barry University-Miami curriculum
- Barry University PA admissions requirements
- PA School Finder contact record
- Program contact page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
