Address & Contact

Our Address

Arizona School of Health Sciences 5850 E Still Circle Mesa, Arizona 85206

GPS

33.38197153854493, -111.7041729908712

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Arizona School of Health Sciences Physician Assistant Program

Mesa, Arizona · Masters

Application deadline Next cycle deadline not yet publishedThe program has a recurring September 1 submission cutoff; September 1, 2026 has passed. Confirm the next cycle’s date.
Tuition $124,378Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $129,587
Based on the last published schedule (Class of 2028); rates for the next entering class have not been published.
Class size 100 studentsThe program says 100 students are enrolled per cohort. Check the approved maximum with the program.
Program length 26 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE scores are not required.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours of patient-care experience required; 1,000 or more recommendedPatient-contact experience minimum; the recommended amount is not the admission cutoff.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum required.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum required.
PANCE pass rate 92%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 91%
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 26-month PA program in Mesa requiring 500 patient-contact hours, with 1,000 hours recommended.

Mission & approach

The A.T. Still University Department of Physician Assistant Studies provides a learning-centered education that develops exemplary physician assistants who deliver whole person healthcare with an emphasis on underserved populations. The program is deeply committed to fulfilling this mission.

Program campus
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Rolling admissions; 3.0 cumulative and science GPA minimums; 500 patient-contact hours required, 1,000 recommended. Science courses within five years are recommended, not required. Prerequisites must be completed before you start.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Virtual or on campusMMI (multiple mini-interview) + individual interview

The interview day pairs a multiple mini interview (MMI) with a one-on-one file-review interview, in person or over Zoom. Decisions consider MMI scores, the one-on-one interview, academic performance on the CASPA application, and fit with the program's mission. Review begins in June on a rolling basis.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE scores are not required.
Patient care500 hours required; 1,000 recommendedPatient-contact experience minimum; the recommended amount is not the admission cutoff.
Overall GPA3.0 cumulativeMinimum required.
Science GPA3.0 cumulative science GPAMinimum required.
Recommendations3 letters: supervisor, clinician, and course facultyClinician may be MD/DO, PA or NP; PA is strongly recommended.
International applicantsConditional; F-1 eligible with a U.S. degreeProgram requires U.S. accredited bachelor or higher; U.S. citizen, permanent resident or F-1 visa holder. Foreign course equivalency is not accepted.
English proficiencyConditional; TOEFL iBT 80 or IELTS 6.5

Prerequisite coursework

semester credit hours

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Combined Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
  • English route: English Composition, six-credit route OR English Composition, three-credit route + English elective
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Within 5 years of application is recommended. A separate anatomy/physiology route is available.

4semester credit hoursRequiredC
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Within 5 years of application is recommended. A separate anatomy/physiology route is available.

4semester credit hoursRequiredC
Combined Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Two semesters with labs; alternative to separate anatomy and physiology.

8semester credit hoursRequiredC
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Lab optional; within 5 years recommended.

3semester credit hoursNot requiredC
Biochemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Lab optional; within 5 years recommended.

3semester credit hoursNot requiredC
General Chemistry1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Lab optional; within 5 years recommended.

4semester credit hoursNot requiredC
Psychology1 course(s)3semester credit hoursNot specifiedC
College Statistics1 course(s)3semester credit hoursNot specifiedC
English Composition, six-credit route1 course(s)

One or more courses totaling at least six semester credits; the program does not set a number of courses.

6semester credit hoursNot specifiedC
English Composition, three-credit route1 course(s)

Pair with three credits of an English elective.

3semester credit hoursNot specifiedC
English elective1 course(s)

Required only with the three-credit composition route.

3semester credit hoursNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be transcripted college credit; certificate alone does not count.

1semester credit hoursNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
C or higher in all prerequisites.
Recency
Taking anatomy, physiology, microbiology, biochemistry and general chemistry within the last five years is recommended, not required.
Location
Coursework must be from a regionally accredited institution recognized by the U.S. Department of Education; foreign course or transcript equivalency is not accepted.
AP credit
AP generally not accepted for prerequisites except English.
Completion
All prerequisites must be complete before the July start; one or two may be in progress when you apply.
Medical terminology
Transcripted college credit required; certificate alone does not count.

The five-year science recency is a recommendation, not a blanket expiration rule.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA application deadlineNext cycle deadline not yet published

The program has a recurring September 1 submission cutoff; September 1, 2026 has passed. Confirm the next cycle’s date.

Past published CASPA deadlineSep 1, 2026 · Passed

This 2026 deadline has passed.

Published date
Secondary application deadlineOctober 1 (cycle year not confirmed)

The program lists October 1; confirm the next cycle's date.

Program beginsJuly

The program says July; the exact date for the next cohort has not been published.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Based on the last published schedule (Class of 2028); rates for the next entering class have not been published.
Resident tuition$124,378 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$124,378 published full-program tuition

Prior-cohort tuition for reference only; the next entering class's rate has not been published.

Required program fees$5,209
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$129,587

Tuition only: $124,378. Add $3,236 in technology fees and $1,973 in equipment/lab fees for an institutional total of $129,587. Rates for the next cohort are not yet published; tuition and fees may change annually.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First 14 months

Didactic phase in Mesa

Classroom and laboratory work build clinical knowledge, procedural skills and reasoning, with early supervised clinical learning.

02Eight 4-week and two 8-week experiences

Clinical phase

Placements are across Arizona and national community-health-center partners. Clinical experiences include core disciplines, an elective and selectives.

The residential ATSU-ASHS program in Mesa, Arizona is 26 months and includes a community-focused capstone.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2028

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.61
Science GPA3.53
Patient-care hoursNot recorded
Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20283.613.53Not recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 92%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 91%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 1996
Next reviewApril 2034
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.