Address & Contact

Our Address

Hardin-Simmons University 2200 Hickory Street HSU Box 16236 Abilene , TX 79698

GPS

32.47586922303237, -99.73418451893312

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Hardin-Simmons University Physician Assistant Program

Abilene, Texas · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycleSeptember 1, 2026 CASPA verification deadline has passed; next cycle not published.
Tuition Resident: $107,100 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $107,100 published full-program tuition · Tuition only; estimated direct tuition and mandatory fees are $117,217.
Class size 30 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE is not required or accepted. PA-CAT is encouraged, but scores are not currently used. The PA page states GRE is neither required nor accepted and PA-CAT scores are not presently used.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo minimum patient-care or health-care hours. The program states no minimum healthcare-experience requirement.
Overall GPA minimum 3.003.0 cumulative GPA. The minimum cumulative GPA is 3.0.
Science GPA minimum 3.003.0 overall science GPA. The minimum overall science GPA is 3.0.
Recommendations Exactly 3 letters.The program requires exactly three recommendation letters.
International applicants Conditionally eligible for visa processing, but bachelor's degree and prerequisites must be from regionally accredited US institutions. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalConditional for international applicants: TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, or Duolingo 95; waiver after qualifying US university attendance. Graduate international admissions publishes TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 95, and a US-study waiver.
PANCE pass rate 90%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 94% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

The Hardin-Simmons University Physician Assistant program is dedicated to academic excellence in medical education. Our mission is to develop and prepare compassionate, professional PA providers who are committed to life-long leadership, learning, and community service. Our graduates will work as part of the healthcare team to deliver exceptional healthcare to rural West Texas and under-served communities worldwide.

Mabee Hall at Hardin-Simmons University, home of the Physician Assistant program
Mabee Hall at Hardin-Simmons University, home of the Physician Assistant program
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Hardin-Simmons University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE is not required or accepted. PA-CAT is encouraged, but scores are not currently used. The PA page states GRE is neither required nor accepted and PA-CAT scores are not presently used.
Patient careNo minimum patient-care or health-care hours.The program states no minimum healthcare-experience requirement.
Overall GPA3.0 cumulative GPA.The minimum cumulative GPA is 3.0.
Science GPA3.0 overall science GPA.The minimum overall science GPA is 3.0.
RecommendationsExactly 3 letters.The program requires exactly three recommendation letters.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsConditionally eligible for visa processing, but bachelor's degree and prerequisites must be from regionally accredited US institutions. The PA page requires US-regionally-accredited degree and prerequisite coursework. The university publishes an international graduate and visa application process.
English proficiencyConditionalfor international applicants: TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, or Duolingo 95; waiver after qualifying US university attendance. Graduate international admissions publishes TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 95, and a US-study waiver.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester hours

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology pathway: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
  • Social science course: Sociology OR Additional Psychology course
  • Statistics course: Statistics OR Biostatistics
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Required separately unless the complete two-course combined A&P I and II with labs route is used.

4Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)

Required separately unless the complete two-course combined A&P I and II with labs route is used.

4Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Alternative to separate Anatomy and Physiology; both A&P courses with labs should be taken at the same institution.

8Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
Biology courses with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two separate Biology courses with labs; source does not specify an individual credit minimum for each course.

8Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
Chemistry with lab
Course notes & alternatives

One listed Chemistry category; course count is not specified.

4Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
English
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours; source does not specify course title or lab requirement.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester hours.

4Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester hours.

4Semester hoursRequiredCSign in to plan
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester hours.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Sociology

Alternative to an additional Psychology course.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Additional Psychology course

Alternative to Sociology; distinct course from the required Psychology course.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Statistics

Alternative to Biostatistics.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Biostatistics

Alternative to Statistics.

3Semester hoursNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.

Policies that can change your plan

Biology credit allocation
The program requires two separate Biology courses totaling 8 hours, but does not publish a per-course credit split. Confirm course equivalency with program.
Chemistry category
The current published checklist says Chemistry with lab, 4 hours, without a more specific title. Do not infer General or Organic Chemistry.
A&P substitution
Combined A&P I and II with labs is explicitly permitted and should be taken at the same institution.
Recency
HSU states prerequisites do not expire.
Coursework source
Requirements specify regionally accredited U.S. institutions; the program accepts online/community college and AP/CLEP credit if on official transcript.

All prerequisite courses must be from a regionally accredited U.S. college or university and completed with the degree before the August matriculation date. No prerequisite expiration. Current HSU PA page says no GRE; PA-CAT is encouraged but scores are not currently used for decisions. No minimum patient-care or health-related hours. Three CASPA recommendation letters; 3.0 overall and science GPA minimums. Current 2026 cycle deadline: CASPA verified by September 1, 2026.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite courses and the bachelor’s degree must be complete before August 1 of the matriculation year. Applications must be CASPA-verified by September 1.

Hardin-Simmons University PA Program Admissions and FAQ Current admissions page; 2026 cycle · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

September 1, 2026 CASPA verification deadline has passed; next cycle not published.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Official cohort 2029; entering Fall 2027
Resident tuition$107,100 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$107,100 published full-program tuition

Tuition only; estimated direct tuition and mandatory fees are $117,217.

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$117,217

Published seven-semester tuition for the Fall 2027 entering cohort is $107,100; estimated total direct tuition and mandatory fees are $117,217.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0112 months

Didactic instruction

In-person coursework prepares students for clinical practice.

0213 months

Clinical rotations

The clinical coordinator schedules supervised experiences with preceptors; rotation blocks are described as five weeks.

032 months

Post-clinical instruction and assessment

Post-clinical coursework and summative evaluation complete the sequence.

The program FAQ publishes this three-part, 27-month sequence. The same page groups clinical and post-clinical work as approximately 15 months in its cost section.

Hardin-Simmons University official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; entering-cohort schedule should be confirmed · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.71
Science GPANot recorded
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

The class year is preserved exactly as published. The published science-GPA figure is not tied to this named cohort.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20273.71Not recordedNot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 90%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 9, 2017
Next reviewJanuary 2032

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.