Tuition + fees $149,750
Estimated full-program tuition and required fees at 2026–27 rates
A closer look
A 28-month Belton PA program with 40 students, no required patient-care minimum, and 3.00 cumulative and science GPA minimums.
Mission & approach
The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Physician Assistant program’s mission is to recruit and prepare graduate students to become competent, compassionate, service-driven physician assistant leaders who deliver evidence-based medical care to meet healthcare needs. Program education occurs in a Christian environment guided by faculty who teach and mentor with integrity, sensitivity, and a commitment to excellence.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic review. Scored: overall GPA, last-60-hours GPA, science GPA, prerequisite GPA (each >=3.0, more points for higher); healthcare-related experience (points at 250/500/1000/1500 hrs — all hours evaluated together, virtual shadowing accepted); community service (points at 100/200/300/400 hrs); leadership experiences; reference scores (avg 4-5 preferred). Multiple Mini Interviews assess…
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
UMHB's interview day includes a tour of campus, multiple mini interview stations, and time with faculty, staff, and students, indicating an on-campus interview experience.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy and physiology route: Human, Human Comparative, or Vertebrate Anatomy with lab + Human or Vertebrate Physiology with lab OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence
- Statistics route: Statistics OR Biostatistics
- Psychology route: General Psychology OR Abnormal Psychology OR Developmental Psychology
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Human, Human Comparative, or Vertebrate Anatomy with lab1 course(s) Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence totaling 7-8 credits may substitute for both anatomy and physiology requirements; exact sequence equivalency needs program confirmation. | 4Semester credits | Required | Not specified |
| Human or Vertebrate Physiology with lab1 course(s) Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence totaling 7-8 credits may substitute for both anatomy and physiology requirements; exact sequence equivalency needs program confirmation. | 4Semester credits | Required | Not specified |
| Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence2 course(s) Alternative route: 7–8 credit hours of A&P may substitute for the separate anatomy and physiology prerequisites. The program doesn't say whether the sequence needs a lab. | Not publishedSemester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesMinimum course grade is not published. | 4Semester credits | Required | Not specified |
Genetics1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesLab requirement and minimum course grade are not published. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
General Chemistry with labCourse notes & alternativesMinimum course grade is not published. The chemistry prerequisite is eight total credits, with the exact course count not specified. | 8Semester credits | Required | Not specified |
Organic Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesMinimum course grade is not published. | 4Semester credits | Required | Not specified |
| Statistics1 course(s) Alternative to Biostatistics; lab requirement and minimum course grade are not published. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
| Biostatistics1 course(s) Alternative to Statistics; lab requirement and minimum course grade are not published. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
| General Psychology1 course(s) One course among General, Abnormal, or Developmental Psychology; lab requirement and minimum course grade are not published. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
| Abnormal Psychology1 course(s) Alternative to General or Developmental Psychology; lab requirement and minimum course grade are not published. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
| Developmental Psychology1 course(s) Alternative to General or Abnormal Psychology; lab requirement and minimum course grade are not published. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | Not specified |
Policies that can change your plan
- Course age
- Science courses except Psychology and Statistics must be less than 10 years old at application.
- Completion
- All prerequisites completed by August 31 in the year prior to matriculation.
- Minimum grade
- Not published. Don't assume it matches the GPA minimums.
- Check with the program about where prerequisite coursework must be taken.
- U.S. regionally accredited institution required; online lectures/labs accepted.
UMHB lists course credits and how recent courses must be, but no minimum grade for individual prerequisites. Coursework must be from a U.S. regionally accredited institution; online coursework, including labs, is accepted. AP/IB high-school credit and CLEP credit are not accepted. Psychology and Statistics have a recency exception, and an A&P sequence substitution is allowed. Follow the current UMHB page rather than the usual 10-year limit.
When courses must be complete: All prerequisites must be complete by August 31 in the year prior to matriculation.
Dates & application steps
The August 1, 2026 CASPA verified deadline for January 2027 entry has passed; the next cycle date is not yet published.
This is the expected start of the entering class.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Estimated full-program tuition and required fees at 2026–27 ratesOfficial page total; the yearly amounts add up to $148,505–$150,995 depending on Year 3 credit hours; future annual increases may apply
UMHB's program costs page lists total estimated tuition and fees of $149,750 at 2026–2027 rates: $46,165 in Year 1, $62,400 in Year 2 and $39,940 or $42,430 in Year 3, depending on whether you take 16 or 17 credit hours each semester. Those yearly amounts add up to $148,505 or $150,995, so the published $149,750 falls between them. Fees include general service, technology, transportation, course and graduation fees. Laptop, outside health insurance, living costs, and personal transportation are not included.
Curriculum & clinical training
Preclinical education
Medical-science and skills instruction prepares students for supervised practice.
Clinical education
Core and elective rotations accompany capstone research and poster presentation; the final month includes graduation and PANCE preparation.
The Belton-based UMHB program spans 28 months and 120 credits.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%
Latest class (2026): 97% passed the PANCE on the first try (38 of 39 takers). Earlier classes: 2025 92%, 2024 84%, 2023 92%. No 5-year average yet - only FOUR graduating cohorts (2023-2026); 91% first-time across all four (139/152).
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet
Five-year first-time results are not yet available.
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- Program program page
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Program program page
- Program program page
- University of Mary Hardin-Baylor program website
- UMHB Program Prerequisites
- Program program page
- University of Mary Hardin-Baylor curriculum and clinical training
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
