Address & Contact

Our Address

Case Western Reserve University 9501 Euclid Cleveland, Ohio 44106

GPS

41.5036, -81.620165

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Case Western Reserve University Physician Assistant Program

Cleveland, Ohio · Masters

Application deadline Next cycle deadline not yet publishedProgram lists recurring September 1 verification deadline; September 1, 2026 has passed. Next year must be confirmed.
Tuition Resident: $109,718 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $109,718 published full-program tuition · Prior-cohort tuition benchmark only; next entering cohort rate is not published.
Class size 40 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
Patient-care minimum 1,000 hoursBefore application; in U.S. or Canada; paid or volunteer; degree-earned clinical hours excluded.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Published cumulative minimum.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Published science minimum.
Recommendations At least 3; one healthcare professional known at least 6 monthsLetters collectively address academic and clinical aptitude.
International applicants Confirm with programConditional; citizenship/visa eligibility requires confirmation. Program clearly covers foreign education, WES evaluation and U.S./Canadian degree/prerequisites/PCE; wording explicitly names U.S. citizens and permanent residents, not F-1 eligibility.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalTOEFL iBT 93, speaking 26. Taken within two years; U.S. bachelor degree or U.S. citizenship/dual citizenship waiver language on official test page.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 94% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Cleveland PA program requiring 1,000 hands-on patient-care hours before application.

Mission & approach

The CWRU Physician Assistant Program strives to improve access to health care thorough the education and development of compassionate, highly competent physician assistants who are prepared to provide quality, patient-centered care in a collaborative environment

Sheila and Eric Samson Pavilion, where Case Western Reserve physician assistant students study
The Sheila and Eric Samson Pavilion at the Case Western Reserve University and Cleveland Clinic Health Education Campus.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Case Western Reserve University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

CASPA-based; requires >=1,000 hrs direct patient care (paid or volunteer) before applying; broad qualifying roles (CNA, EMT/paramedic, MA, patient-care scribe, PT/OT aide, phlebotomist). Shadowing strongly encouraged but does not count toward PCE and is not required. Meeting minimums guarantees neither interview nor acceptance - holistic/competitive review beyond minimums. (case.edu PA pre-admissions healthcare experience)

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

In-person, on-campus interviews are required for admission and are held from July through October at the Samson Pavilion in Cleveland. The program does not disclose the exact format of interview day.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRE / PA-CATNot requiredOfficial test page requires no other standardized admissions test.
Patient care1,000 direct hands-on hoursBefore application; in U.S. or Canada; paid or volunteer; degree-earned clinical hours excluded.
Overall GPA3.0Published cumulative minimum.
Science GPA3.0Published science minimum.
RecommendationsAt least 3; one healthcare professional known at least 6 monthsLetters collectively address academic and clinical aptitude.
International applicantsConditional; citizenship/visa eligibility requires confirmationProgram clearly covers foreign education, WES evaluation and U.S./Canadian degree/prerequisites/PCE; wording explicitly names U.S. citizens and permanent residents, not F-1 eligibility.
English proficiencyConditional TOEFL iBT 93, speaking 26Taken within two years; U.S. bachelor degree or U.S. citizenship/dual citizenship waiver language on official test page.

Prerequisite coursework

one course per subject; credits not specified on current official page

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Biology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; Genetics does not substitute.

Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

Separate route; comparative anatomy does not substitute.

Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Human Physiology1 course(s)

Separate route; animal physiology and kinesiology do not substitute.

Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

Both combined courses required; A&P I plus separate physiology does not count.

Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Biochemistry1 course(s)Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Psychology1 course(s)Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Statistics1 course(s)Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Online certificate acceptable with proof uploaded to CASPA.

Not publishedone course per subject; credits not specified on current official pageNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Course age
No prerequisite expiration.
Completion
Finish by fall term of application year; no more than two outstanding at CASPA submission.
Location
Prerequisites from U.S. or Canadian regionally accredited institutions.
AP
Accepted when listed on verified CASPA transcript; lab course requires college lab.
Online
Accepted if course and lab requirements are met.
Organic chemistry and biochemistry
Separate courses; combined course does not satisfy both.
Medical terminology
Online certificate accepted with CASPA proof.
Minimum course grade
Current official course page does not publish a general per-course letter-grade minimum.
Case Western PA course requirements Current official course list, updated 2024-11-01 · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

CASPA verified deadlineNext cycle deadline not yet published

Program lists recurring September 1 verification deadline; September 1, 2026 has passed. Next year must be confirmed.

Past published CASPA verified deadlineSep 1, 2026 · Passed

Historical 2026 deadline, not an upcoming application date.

Published date
Orientation and classes beginMid May

Program timeline gives mid-May without a precise next-cohort date.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Class of 2028 published benchmark; May 2027 entrant price unconfirmed
Resident tuition$109,718 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$109,718 published full-program tuition

Prior-cohort tuition benchmark only; next entering cohort rate is not published.

Required program fees$2,785
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$112,503

Published Class of 2028 (entering May 2026): $109,718 tuition and $2,785 listed required fees, $112,503 combined excluding waivable $9,402 health insurance. Next entering cohort price has not been published.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First 15 months · four semesters

Didactic instruction

Integrated medical coursework, simulation and preclinical clerkships introduce clinical practice during the first year.

02Twelve 4-week rotations

Clinical education

Ten required rotations and two electives across core medical and surgical disciplines.

27-month integrated curriculum. Rotation weeks describe individual experiences rather than an exact calendar-month duration.

Case Western Reserve University official curriculum source Current published curriculum; cohort-specific dates retained separately · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Matriculating May 2025

Published class statistics
Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.68
Mean Science GPA3.59
Mean Patient care hours3,760

May 2025 matriculants; direct patient-care experience averages 3,760 hours. Population: selected/admitted/matriculated students as qualified in note; Case Western Reserve University

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Matriculating May 20253.68Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.59Mean Science GPA3,760Mean Patient care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 12, 2016
Next reviewApril 2030

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.