Address & Contact

Our Address

Baylor College of Medicine 1 Baylor Plaza MS 115 Houston, Texas 77030

GPS

29.7107931068864, -95.3968506759911

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Baylor College of Medicine Physician Assistant Program

Houston, Texas · Masters

Application deadline Next deadline not yet publishedMust be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $97,060 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $119,232
2026–27 tuition across the three program years (PA1, PA2, PA3); total includes required fees, excludes insurance
Class size 40 students
Program length 30 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programThe program's current prerequisites and FAQ do not say whether the GRE is required. Older 2023–2024 information said it was not required, but that may not apply to the current cycle. Confirm the current testing policy with the program. Older 2023-2024 BCM material said GRE was not required, but it does not establish the current cycle.
Patient-care minimum No required minimum
PANCE pass rate 89%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 93%
U.S. News PA rank #6 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

The BCM Physician Assistant Program educates physician assistants on the principles and practices of medicine to provide quality healthcare to diverse populations and optimize health in a broad range of settings.

Baylor College of Medicine DeBakey building at the Texas Medical Center
Baylor College of Medicine's DeBakey building at the Texas Medical Center campus.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

NOT rolling - all applications screened and interview invites extended at one time. Holistic: congruence between academic performance, LORs, and written narratives; sustained patterns and ongoing (not last-minute) volunteering valued. No patient-care/shadowing hour requirement (evaluated if present). US citizen or permanent resident required. ~1,500 apps, 150 interviewed, 40 admitted; mean GPA…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

VirtualIndividual

Interview days include an orientation session with faculty and student break-out sessions followed by individual interviews with three faculty members involved in didactic and clinical education.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programThe program's current prerequisites and FAQ do not say whether the GRE is required. Older 2023–2024 information said it was not required, but that may not apply to the current cycle. Confirm the current testing policy with the program.
Patient careNo required minimum
Overall GPA3.2
Science GPA3.2
Recommendations3 letters
International applicantsNot acceptedUndocumented applicants and international applicants holding a visa are not eligible.
English proficiencyConditionalIf your native language is not English: TOEFL iBT 80 with at least 20 in each section; TOEFL computer-based 213 with at least 21 in Listening Comprehension; or IELTS 6.5. Official scores must reach CASPA by August 1.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • A&P route: Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs OR Anatomy with lab + Physiology with lab
  • Psychology or Sociology: Psychology OR Sociology
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Anatomy with lab1 course(s)

4 semester credits; must be a science-major course with an in-person lab. Science prerequisites expire after 7 years as of Aug 1. Part of the separate-course A&P route.

4Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
Physiology with lab1 course(s)

4 semester credits; must be a science-major course with an in-person lab. Science prerequisites expire after 7 years. Part of the separate-course A&P route.

4Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s)

8 semester credits total: two courses with in-person labs. Alternative to taking Anatomy and Physiology separately. Science sequence with a 7-year limit.

8Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits; science-major course with in-person lab; 7-year limit.

4Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester credits; science-major course; 7-year limit. Lab not specified.

3Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.Not specifiedC
General Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits; science-major course and in-person lab; 7-year limit. Written approval required for any possible upper-level substitution.

4Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
General Chemistry II with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits; science-major course and in-person lab; 7-year limit. Written approval required for any possible upper-level substitution.

4Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits; science-major course and in-person lab; 7-year limit.

4Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.RequiredC
Psychology1 course(s)

3 semester credits; one of Psychology OR Sociology. Non-science course age limit 10 years.

3Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.Not requiredC
Sociology1 course(s)

3 semester credits; alternative to Psychology. Non-science course age limit 10 years.

3Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.Not requiredC
Expository Writing / English Composition1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester credits; non-science course age limit 10 years.

3Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.Not requiredC
Statistics including ANOVA1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester credits; course must include Analysis of Variance (ANOVA). Non-science course age limit 10 years.

3Semester credits; quarter equivalents are listed on the program's prerequisite page.Not requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

m
i
s
c
r
e
n
o
m
a
s
o

Science-major courses only; no AP or transfer prerequisite credit. All labs must be in person, except during the specified pandemic period. Upper-level chemistry is not an automatic substitute; written program approval is required. You need a C or better; C- is not accepted. Science courses must be within 7 years and non-science courses within 10 years as of August 1. The 2026–2027 application cycle opened April 30, 2026. The August 1, 2026 deadline has passed; the next cycle's exact date is not listed.

When courses must be complete: Prerequisites are due by May of the enrollment year.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNext deadline not yet published

The published 2026-08-01 deadline has passed; the next cycle's date is not confirmed.

Past published deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

This date has passed and is not the next application deadline.

Published date
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–27 tuition across the three program years (PA1, PA2, PA3); total includes required fees, excludes insurance
Resident tuition$97,060 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$97,060 projected full-program tuition

$119,232 documented program schedule · Current published rate; future rates may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$119,232

Tuition is $97,060 for the 2026-27 rates across all three years. Required fees add $22,172, for $119,232 total. Optional student health insurance ($18,068.52) and living costs are extra.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0113 months

Didactic study

Classroom education is supported by Baylor College of Medicine’s interdisciplinary resources.

0217 months

Experiential learning

Clinical education draws on Texas Medical Center settings and includes a Master’s Paper research project.

The Baylor College of Medicine program in Houston takes 30 months overall. The clinical phase includes research, so it is not 17 months of rotations alone.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Entering class (year not stated)

Published class statistics
Mean GPA (calculation method not stated)3.70
Average science GPA: not published.Not recorded
Patient-care hours: not published.Not recorded

This is the mean GPA of entering students, with no year given. How the GPA was calculated is not stated.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Entering class (year not stated)3.70Mean GPA (calculation method not stated)Not recordedAverage science GPA: not published.Not recordedPatient-care hours: not published.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 89%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 93%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedFebruary 1973
Next reviewJuly 2029
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.