Address & Contact

Our Address

259 Mack Avenue Detroit, MI 48201

GPS

42.348661168570146, -83.05528516983057

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Wayne State University Physician Assistant Program

Detroit, Michigan · Master of Science in Physician Assistant Studies

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: $73,842 published full-program tuitionNonresident: $149,575 published full-program tuition · Published full-program tuition
Class size 50 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programCurrent GRE policy needs verification.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours minimumAt least 500 hours of direct, hands-on patient care within the two years before application are required by September 1.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00; the catalog separately requires a 3.00 prerequisite GPA.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedThe program publishes a prerequisite GPA minimum, not a separate CASPA science-GPA cutoff.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree recommendations are required; one from a work supervisor and preferably one from a physician assistant.
International applicants AcceptedCurrent program-specific international eligibility is not established in the accepted sources. Confirm with program.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalThe catalog states that non-native English speakers must complete TOEFL; it does not publish a program-specific score threshold on the reviewed page.
PANCE pass rate 98%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 94% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Detroit PA program emphasizing urban health, health equity, direct patient care, and service to diverse communities.

On campus24 months50 students
Mission & approach

Prepare physician assistants to provide excellent, equitable care in urban and underserved communities.

Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Wayne State University, home of Physician Assistant Studies
Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Wayne State University, home of Physician Assistant Studies. Photo: Quadmusic / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0; cropped and resized.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Wayne State University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
Wayne State 2026–2027 PA catalog 2026–2027 academic catalog · Checked 2026-09-15
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Urban/health-equity mission; GRE min 285 V+Q & 3.5 AW; min cGPA & prereq GPA 3.0 (last-60 recalculation if cGPA<3.4); Casper; required interview; 500 hrs direct hands-on PCE within 2 yrs (paid preferred); HCE type ranked - higher autonomy/medical decision-making (paramedic, dietitian) ranked above CNA/scribe; shadowing & non-clinical research excluded; DACA applicants not considered (per PAEA).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Wayne State's PA Studies program grants a personal interview to select applicants who meet all admission requirements and deadlines, and completing the interview does not guarantee admission. The admissions pages do not describe the interview's format (individual vs. panel) or whether it is conducted on campus or virtually.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with programThe 2026–2027 academic catalog says the GRE General Test must be completed by July 31, while retained cycle guidance says it was dropped for 2026–2027. Confirm the controlling rule before testing.
Patient care500 hours minimumAt least 500 hours of direct, hands-on patient care within the two years before application are required by September 1.
Overall GPA3.00 minimumMinimum cumulative GPA is 3.00; the catalog separately requires a 3.00 prerequisite GPA.
Science GPANot publishedThe program publishes a prerequisite GPA minimum, not a separate CASPA science-GPA cutoff.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required; one from a work supervisor and preferably one from a physician assistant.
International applicantsConfirm with programCurrent program-specific international eligibility is not established in the accepted sources. Confirm citizenship, residency, visa, and foreign-coursework rules before applying.
English proficiency / TOEFLConditionalThe catalog states that non-native English speakers must complete TOEFL; it does not publish a program-specific score threshold on the reviewed page.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy
Course notes & alternatives

Combined human A&P may satisfy Anatomy only.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Human Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

Combined human A&P cannot satisfy this requirement.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Upper-Level Human-Based Science
Course notes & alternatives

3000-level or above; course-equivalency review required.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology with labNot publishedSemester credits unless notedRequiredBSign in to plan
General or Inorganic ChemistryNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Organic ChemistryNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
BiochemistryNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
General Human or Clinical NutritionNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Developmental PsychologyNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Basic StatisticsNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Basic English CompositionNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Intermediate English CompositionNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Medical TerminologyNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedBSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

A&P restriction
Combined A&P cannot replace Human Physiology.
Expired science
Program-approved six-year waiver possible; do not automatically accept old coursework.

All prerequisites must be undergraduate courses with B (3.0) or higher and letter grades; minimum prerequisite GPA is 3.0. Science prerequisites must be within six years of application submission. Developmental Psychology, Nutrition, Statistics, English Composition and Medical Terminology have no six-year limit. A science-age waiver requires uninterrupted employment demonstrating relevant content mastery, B or higher, and approval before August 1; valid for one cycle. Individual credit minima are not listed on the admission page. Combined A&P satisfies Anatomy only, never the separate Physiology requirement.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite courses completed by September 1.

Wayne State University official PA coursework requirements Current published program requirement · Checked 2026-09-25
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
Wayne State 2026–2027 PA catalog 2026–2027 academic catalog · Checked 2026-09-15
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 · 75 credits
Resident tuition$73,842 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$149,575 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$12,660
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$86,502

Published tuition estimate uses the 2026–2027 Pharmacy and Health Sciences per-credit rates across 75 credits. Required fees are shown separately; living costs are additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

Wayne State graduate tuition and fees 2026–2027 rates · Checked 2026-09-15
HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1

Medical and patient-care foundations

Anatomy, clinical medicine, patient evaluation, pharmacology, pathophysiology and healthcare issues.

02Year 2

Clinical practica and seminars

Four clinical practicum courses and senior seminars develop supervised patient-care skills; individual rotation sequencing may vary.

75-credit MS curriculum over two years. The catalog narrative says six semesters while its schedule separately lists spring and summer clinical terms.

Wayne State University official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Wayne State 2026–2027 PA catalog 2026–2027 academic catalog · Checked 2026-09-15
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 98%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedApril 1996
Next reviewApril 2033

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

Wayne State 2026–2027 PA catalog 2026–2027 academic catalog · Checked 2026-09-15
ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
Wayne State 2026–2027 PA catalog 2026–2027 academic catalog · Checked 2026-09-15
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.