Address & Contact

Our Address

301 Michigan Street NE Suite 200 Grand Rapids, MI 49315

GPS

42.970274, -85.661473

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Grand Valley State University (Grand Rapids) Physician Assistant Program

Grand Rapids, Michigan · Masters

Application deadline Sep 1, 2027CASPA complete by deadline; August 2028 start
Tuition Resident: Approximately $108,570 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $108,570 projected full-program tuition · Projected direct program cost from the exact Class of 2029 table; same rate at both campuses; future rates may change
Class size 36 studentsOfficial Grand Rapids campus seats each fall.
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programOlder GVSU materials conflict, so omission is not presented as a categorical waiver. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Patient-care minimum 500 healthcare-experience hours requiredPatient care, qualifying healthcare experience, and shadowing may count; hands-on patient care is encouraged.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00A 3.0 minimum applies to overall, last-60, and prerequisite GPA categories.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedA 3.0 prerequisite GPA is required.
Recommendations 2 recommendation rubrics requiredOne must be from a healthcare professional; the other may be from a healthcare professional or faculty member.
International applicants ConditionalThis does not by itself promise visa eligibility. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL Conditionalofficial English test. When no current waiver-country or qualifying prior-education exemption applies: TOEFL 4.5 on the new scale (86 prior scale), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105, or PTE 53. This remains separate from international eligibility.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 97% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

To prepare highly competent physician assistants who embrace diversity, equity, and inclusion; lead and advance the profession; and provide quality patient-centered healthcare in all communities and settings.

Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences at Grand Valley State University in Grand Rapids, home of the Physician Assistant program
Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences in Grand Rapids, home of the Grand Valley State University Physician Assistant program. Photo courtesy of Grand Valley State University.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Grand Valley State University (Grand Rapids) a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Applicants ranked objectively on academic criteria (overall GPA, last-60 GPA, prerequisite GPA) plus additional factors: prior healthcare degree with clinical experience, >10,000 hrs healthcare experience, recommendation rubrics, military service, >5,000 hrs extracurricular/volunteer, >5,000 hrs leadership, Casper 2 scores, >=30 GVSU credit hours, economically disadvantaged background, and commitment to underserved communities. Minimum 500 healthcare hours required. Traverse City applicants also weighed on Northern Michigan ties.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusMultiple/varies

The Grand Rapids program runs a half-day interview event combining individual interviews with faculty and local health care community members, a group interview with program administration, and a faculty panel, plus a facility tour with current students.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot listed on current official requirements; confirm with programOlder GVSU materials conflict, so omission is not presented as a categorical waiver.
Patient care500 healthcare-experience hours requiredPatient care, qualifying healthcare experience, and shadowing may count; hands-on patient care is encouraged.
Overall GPA3.0 minimumA 3.0 minimum applies to overall, last-60, and prerequisite GPA categories.
Science GPANo separate science GPA minimumA 3.0 prerequisite GPA is required.
Recommendations2 recommendation rubrics requiredOne must be from a healthcare professional; the other may be from a healthcare professional or faculty member.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsForeign education requires approved evaluation plus 30 U.S. higher-education hours. This does not by itself promise visa eligibility.
English proficiencyConditional official English testWhen no current waiver-country or qualifying prior-education exemption applies: TOEFL 4.5 on the new scale (86 prior scale), IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 105, or PTE 53. This remains separate from international eligibility.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credit minimums not published

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy (BMS 208 OR BMS 250 + BMS 251) + Human Physiology (BMS 290 OR BMS 250 + BMS 251) OR Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence
  • Psychology: Introductory Psychology (PSY 101) OR Lifespan Development (PSY 364)
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology (BIO 120)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course credits and lab status not stated on current PA prerequisite page; verify with program.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
General Chemistry (CHM 109 OR CHM 125 + CHM 127)
Course notes & alternatives

Course credits and lab status not stated on current PA prerequisite page; verify labs for chosen equivalent.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Genetics (BIO 355 OR BIO 375 + BIO 376)
Course notes & alternatives

Course credits and lab status not stated on current PA prerequisite page.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry (CHM 231 OR CHM 235 + CHM 237)
Course notes & alternatives

Course credits and lab status not stated on current PA prerequisite page; verify chosen equivalent.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Biochemistry (CHM 234 OR CHM 461)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be completed before application; within 5 calendar years of application.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy (BMS 208 OR BMS 250 + BMS 251)1 course(s)

Must be completed before application; within 5 calendar years. 2024 worksheet adds BMS 309 lab with BMS 208. Separate-course route; combined A&P I/II is the alternate route.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Physiology (BMS 290 OR BMS 250 + BMS 251)1 course(s)

Must be completed before application; within 5 calendar years. 2024 worksheet adds BMS 391 lab with BMS 290. Separate-course route; combined A&P I/II is the alternate route.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Microbiology (BMS 212 + BMS 213 lab)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Must be completed before application; within 5 calendar years; BMS 213 is the lab.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Statistics (STA 215)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Course credits and lab status not stated on current PA prerequisite page.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Introductory Psychology (PSY 101)1 course(s)

One psychology option.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Physics (PHY 200 OR PHY 220 OR PHY 221)1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; credits and lab status not stated on current PA prerequisite page; verify.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Combined Anatomy & Physiology I and II sequence2 course(s)

Alternative to separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology. Credits/lab status are not specified on current program page; manual equivalency review required.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Lifespan Development (PSY 364)1 course(s)

Alternative to Introductory Psychology; credit hours and lab status not published.

Not publishedSemester credit minimums not publishedNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Course age
Only biochemistry, anatomy, physiology, and microbiology have a 5-year limit on the current program page.
AP credit
AP accepted with exam score 3, 4, or 5; identify AP coursework in CASPA and provide official score if requested.
Campus
Applicants choose Grand Rapids OR Traverse City, not both; GVSU may reassign applicants to either campus for vacancies.

Grand Rapids and Traverse City use the same program prerequisite list. Applicants may apply to only one GVSU campus per cycle. The listed GVSU course codes are examples; confirm outside coursework and lab equivalency with the program.

When courses must be complete: Anatomy, physiology, microbiology, organic chemistry, and biochemistry before application deadline. All prerequisites and bachelor degree by May before matriculation.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineSep 1, 2027

CASPA complete by deadline; August 2028 start

2027–2028
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Class of 2029; seven-semester 28-month program
Resident tuitionApproximately $108,570 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $108,570 projected full-program tuition

$100,580 program + $5,500 program + $1,800 program + $690 program · Projected direct program cost from the exact Class of 2029 table; same rate at both campuses; future rates may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$108,570

Basis: $100,580 program + $5,500 program + $1,800 program + $690 program · current-rate projection · high confidence

Projected Class of 2029 direct program cost is $108,570 at either GVSU campus: $100,580 tuition, $5,500 clinical-rotation fees, $1,800 books/equipment/BLS/ACLS, and $690 health compliance. Living and clinical travel are excluded; rates may change for a later entering class.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0116 months

Didactic education

Four semesters cover medical science, clinical applications, problem-solving, therapeutics, professional issues and evidence-based medicine.

0212 months

Clinical training

Three semesters apply learning in supervised clinical rotations.

The 28-month shared curriculum is offered at Grand Rapids and Traverse City; this profile is the Grand Rapids Health Campus.

Grand Valley State University (Grand Rapids) official curriculum and clinical training Current published curriculum; entering-cohort schedule should be confirmed · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027–2029

Published class statistics
Average Overall GPA3.82
Science-related GPA — not recorded for this profileNot recorded
Prerequisite GPA3.87
Average Health Care Experience Hours3,693

Mean Last 60 Credit Hours GPA: 3.77; Mean Prerequisite GPA: 3.87 Population: accepted PAS class; GVSU PAS program; page does not isolate Grand Rapids

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 2027–20293.82Average Overall GPANot recordedScience-related GPA — not recorded for this profile3,693Average Health Care Experience Hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedNeeds verification
Next reviewNeeds verification

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.