University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney Physician Assistant Program
Kearney, Nebraska · Masters
Tuition + fees $64,580 / $149,850 nonresident
Published full-program estimate
A closer look
A Kearney pathway of UNMC’s PA program, extending academic medical-center education and clinical preparation to central and rural Nebraska.
Mission & approach
To lead the world in transforming lives to create a healthy future for all individuals and communities through premier educational programs, innovative research and extraordinary patient care.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic; NOT rolling (>85% selected after all interviews). Min 3.0 cum, prereq & science (BCP) GPA at submission. Requires 20 hrs PA career exploration. DPC no minimum but most competitive ~2,000 hrs; higher-responsibility roles (RN/RD) weighted more. No GRE. Accepted avg (F2024): 3.75 overall / 3.63 sci.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
Interviews are held on the Omaha and Kearney campuses, and the campus where you interview does not determine where you are placed. The program explicitly does not use rolling admissions — more than 85% of selections are made after all interviews are finished, so a later interview date is not a disadvantage here.
Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequenceReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Combined Anatomy and Physiology sequence
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
General Biology with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; semester-credit minimum not published. Introductory/survey courses or courses intended for non-science majors do not satisfy prerequisites. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Required | C |
General or Inorganic Chemistry with lab2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired one-year sequence; exact credits/course list not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Required | C |
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; one-year sequence is recommended, not explicitly required. Exact credits/course count are not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Required | C |
Biochemistry1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; lab recommended but not required. Credits not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Preferred | C |
| Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s) Required in the separate anatomy/physiology route; credits not published. May be satisfied as part of a two-course combined anatomy and physiology series. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Required | C |
| Human Physiology with lab1 course(s) Required in the separate anatomy/physiology route; credits not published. May be satisfied as part of a two-course combined anatomy and physiology series. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Required | C |
| Combined Anatomy and Physiology sequence2 course(s) Alternative: two courses that combine anatomy and physiology satisfy the anatomy and physiology requirements. Whether labs are required in both combined courses, and the credits, are not published. Confirm equivalency with the program. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not specified | C |
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; credits not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Required | C |
General Psychology or another Psychology elective1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; credits not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not required | C |
Abnormal Psychology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired in addition to General Psychology and Developmental/Lifespan Psychology; credits not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not required | C |
Developmental/Lifespan Psychology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired in addition to General Psychology and Abnormal Psychology; credits not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not required | C |
Medical Terminology (college/university course)1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; certificate courses do not satisfy this requirement. Credits not published. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not required | C |
English Composition (or other English elective) and writing-intensive course2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo required components: one English Composition or other English elective, plus a separate writing-intensive course. Credits and whether one course may satisfy both are not specified; verify with program. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not required | C |
Statistics1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesRequired; credits not published. Algebra is strongly recommended, not required. | Not publishedSemester-credit minima not published; General/Inorganic Chemistry is a one-year sequence | Not required | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Semester credit minimums not published
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- No recency limit published
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Complete by July 15 of the entry year.
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- A grade below C is not accepted.
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- No pass/fail, AP or CLEP credit, except under the COVID policy.
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- The program does not say whether labs are required for the combined A&P route.
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- English has two components
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Campuses share admissions and coursework
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
The program does not publish exact semester-credit minimums or recency limits. Algebra is strongly recommended, not required. Pass/fail, AP, and CLEP credit are not accepted for prerequisites; ask the program about its COVID-era exception. At least 20 hours of PA career exploration is also required, but it is not prerequisite coursework. Admissions are shared across Omaha and Kearney, with about 50 Omaha seats and 16 Kearney seats expected each year; interviewing at either campus does not mean you must attend there.
When courses must be complete: Complete all prerequisite coursework and submit official transcripts by July 15 of your intended entry year. Prerequisites may be planned or in progress during application.
Dates & application steps
The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.
All prerequisites must be finished and official transcripts sent by July 15 of the year you enter. For the class starting August 2027; the same date applies each year.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Published full-program estimatePublished nonresident full-program tuition
Full-program tuition and required fees. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Basic and preclinical sciences and professional study are delivered synchronously across Omaha and Kearney, with local laboratories.
Clinical education
Ten months of required clerkships and five months of electives develop supervised clinical practice.
The shared UNMC MPAS route spans 28 continuous months and 123 credits. Students attend their assigned campus and travel for regionally assigned rotations and required campus returns.
The admitted class
Entering Fall 2025 — Omaha/Kearney programwide
Published class statisticsThese averages cover all 66 students across Omaha and Kearney, not Kearney alone.
Compare published cohorts
| Class | Published GPA | Published science-related GPA | Published experience hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entering Fall 2025 — Omaha/Kearney programwide | 3.77Mean Overall/cumulative GPA | 3.64Mean Science GPA | Not recordedPatient-care hours: not published. |
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 91%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 95%
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney curriculum and clinical training
- University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney program page
- University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney program page
- University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney program page
- University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney program page
- UNMC Physician Assistant Program Admission Requirements
- University of Nebraska Medical Center – Kearney program page-qualified class profile
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
