Address & Contact

Our Address

School of Medicine301 University Boulevard Galveston TX

GPS

29.309342042298745, -94.78024711428833

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

University of Texas – Medical Branch at Galveston Physician Assistant Program

Galveston, Texas · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $41,764 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $90,948 projected full-program tuition · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change
Class size 99 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 26 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Casper required · confirm other testsCasper is required by September 1. A separate current GRE disposition was not established in the reviewed materials. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo direct patient-care or shadowing minimum is published; experience is considered holistically.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations 3 lettersThree recommendations are required.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published credential, prerequisite, and institutional requirements.
English proficiency / TOEFL Confirm with programA separate current PA-specific English-proficiency threshold was not established in the reviewed materials. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
PANCE pass rate 87%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 89% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #35 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 26-month Galveston PA program with July matriculation, required Casper assessment, and no published patient-care minimum.

On campus26 months99 students
Mission & approach

To develop and graduate academically and clinically exceptional physician assistants.

UTMB Physician Assistant Program at UTMB Health Clinics in Galveston
UTMB Health Clinics, home of the University of Texas Medical Branch Physician Assistant Program office. Source: UTMB.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is University of Texas – Medical Branch at Galveston a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review by PA faculty committee: overall & science GPA, prerequisite coursework, graduate coursework, reference letters, personal statement, Casper, personal qualifications. Goal: 20%+ pool from underrepresented/first-gen/military/economically disadvantaged/medically underserved backgrounds.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusMMI

A modified MMI: four separate six-minute one-on-one interviews, with two minutes to read a scenario before each one. Held in person on the UTMB campus, usually on Fridays, September through December. The program strongly discourages rescheduling.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRECasper required · confirm other testsCasper is required by September 1. A separate current GRE disposition was not established in the reviewed materials.
Patient careNo required minimumNo direct patient-care or shadowing minimum is published; experience is considered holistically.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00Minimum science GPA is 3.00.
Recommendations3 lettersThree recommendations are required.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to the published credential, prerequisite, and institutional requirements.
English proficiencyConfirm with programA separate current PA-specific English-proficiency threshold was not established in the reviewed materials.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Microbiology or Bacteriology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Genetics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Behavioral Sciences3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Statistics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1Semester credits unless notedNot requiredCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

29 semester credits total. Prerequisites must be completed within ten years of the September 1 application deadline. Science coursework must be designated for science majors. Regionally accredited U.S. coursework, including online/distance learning, accepted. No examination, AP/IB or Pass/Fail prerequisite credit. Planned coursework is audited after acceptance; the current page states spring completion before matriculation without a numerical pending-course allowance.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisite credits complete no later than the end of Spring in the matriculation year.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

2026-09-01 prior-cycle deadline has passed; next-cycle date is not verified.

Program startsJuly 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–2027 fee sheet rates projected over 106 required credits
Resident tuitionApproximately $41,764 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $90,948 projected full-program tuition

$858 credit × 106 required credits · Projected full-program tuition from current rates; fees and living separate; future rates may change

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Basis: $394 credit × 106 required credits · current-rate projection · medium confidence

Current fee sheet tuition components resident $50+$275+$59+$10=$394/credit; NR $455+$393+$10=$858/credit. Curriculum106 credits (108 optional Global Health). Tuition projection $41,764/$90,948; legacy $40,704/$89,888 outdated. Combined $54,905/$104,090 prior cost evidence not reconciled to current fee sheet; do not infer current required fees by subtraction.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Approximately 12 months

Preclinical education

Primarily in-person medical sciences and clinical preparation, with occasional online or asynchronous sessions.

02Approximately 14 months

Clinical education and completion

Twelve four-week rotations, professional practice and investigative coursework; behavioral health may primarily use telemedicine.

26-month July-entry degree plan: 106 credits, or 108 with the Global Health elective. The program provides clinical sites; students budget for placements away from campus.

University of Texas – Medical Branch at Galveston official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Published Last5Years profile; exact endpoints unspecified

Published class statistics
Average Cumulative GPA3.70
Average Science GPA3.63
Patient Contact Hours—Class Mean1,995

Average Health Care Experience Hours: 1056 Population: accepted students multiyear profile; University of Texas – Medical Branch at Galveston

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Published Last5Years profile; exact endpoints unspecified3.70Average Cumulative GPA3.63Average Science GPA1,995Patient Contact Hours—Class Mean

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

University of Texas – Medical Branch at Galveston official source-qualified class profile Published Last5Years profile; exact endpoints unspecified · Checked 2026-09-26
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 87%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 89%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedFebruary 1973
Next reviewOctober 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.