University of Mount Saint Vincent Physician Assistant Program
Riverdale, New York · Masters
Tuition + fees $139,705
Estimate for the cohort entering September 2026 (revised August 30, 2026)
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
A New York City PA program emphasizing evidence-based medicine, professional service, and supervised clinical education across diverse patient populations.
Mission & approach
The mission of the College of Mount Saint Vincent Master of Science Physician Assistant Program is to prepare and mentor students to deliver high-quality primary and specialty healthcare that is affordable, compassionate, and accessible in collaboration with physicians and other members of the interprofessional healthcare team. The program accomplishes this mission by building upon and prioritizing the Graduate Core Competencies of the physician assistant profession. The curriculum design places emphasis on preparing students to practice within diverse and culturally sensitive communities, while also developing the critical thinking skills vital in today’s expanding healthcare environment.

Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
GPA, interview score, PA shadowing, PCE, service; essay rubric; advanced-degree bonus; rolling admission.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions information2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair
The message for comeback applicants was consistent and kindly blunt: recent excellence matters, but the program's stated minimum GPAs are gates you clear before holistic review starts, not factors traded off against strengths elsewhere. Strong recent science coursework, clinical work, leadership, service and career growth all count once the door is open. Applicants may apply with a course in progress and should mark it as such, but decisions rest on verified grades available at review, so update the file when a final grade lands. The program does not publish an average accepted GPA. It does not weight in-state and out-of-state applicants differently, and applicants from Canadian universities are evaluated on the same criteria as anyone else. On experience, the team was direct that not every patient-facing job carries the same weight; the responsibilities of the role are what get read.
Shared at the fair on Aug 22, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.
About these fair notes
PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), August 22 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only
How this program interviews
The committee invites its most highly qualified applicants for an on-campus interview comprised of individual interviews plus a proctored essay scored with the Candidate Essay Scoring Rubric. The interview evaluates emotional intelligence, communication skills, self-awareness, motivation, and critical thinking, and meeting minimum requirements does not guarantee an interview invitation.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester credits unless notedReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry with lab: Organic Chemistry with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
- Separate Human Anatomy and Physiology or combined A&P sequence: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology OR Human A&P I and II with labs
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-calculus or Statistics | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
| General Biology with labs2 course(s) | 8Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| General Chemistry with labs2 course(s) | 8Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Microbiology | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| Organic Chemistry with lab | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Biochemistry with lab | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Human Anatomy with lab | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Human Physiology | 3Semester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s) At least seven credits. | 7Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
Policies that can change your plan
- Grade policy
- A B- is preferred; the program has not confirmed it as a hard minimum.
- Application timing
- All prerequisites must be complete when you submit to CASPA.
Prerequisites must be less than ten years old, and all of them must be finished when you submit your CASPA application; courses still in progress are not accepted. A B- is preferred, but the program has not confirmed it as a hard minimum.
Dates & application steps
Check with the program on whether CASPA must have processed your application by this date.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Estimate for the cohort entering September 2026 (revised August 30, 2026)Published nonresident full-program tuition
Tuition is $16,900 per semester for seven semesters ($118,300). University-billed fees add $21,405, bringing the total paid to the university to $139,705. Supplies, books, insurance and living costs are extra.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Required medical-science, clinical and professional coursework establishes clinical readiness.
Clinical education
Eight supervised rotations accompany clinical coursework and culminating activities.
The Riverdale/Bronx Mount Saint Vincent curriculum spans 28 months and 124 credits (74 didactic and 50 clinical).
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
No 5-year average yet - only TWO graduating cohorts (2025-2026); 98% first-time across them (87/89)
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet
Five-year first-time results are not yet available.
Accreditation history
ProbationSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- University of Mount Saint Vincent curriculum and clinical training
- University of Mount Saint Vincent program page
- University of Mount Saint Vincent PA admissions requirements
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Program contact page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
