Tuition + fees $69,540 / $136,881 nonresident
Published 2026–28 seven-semester cohort estimated full-program tuition and required fees
A closer look
Master of Science program where one cohort starts together each January and moves from classroom training into clinical rotations.
Mission & approach
The Kansas State University Physician Assistant Program's mission is to prepare diverse and highly skilled graduates who are committed to providing compassionate and patient-centered care in a collaborative environment. The program is dedicated to graduating physician assistants who demonstrate professionalism, are globally minded, and practice within an ethical framework to improve the quality of life of their communities, and the medically underserved populations.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Two-stage: gate (3.0 prereq GPA + 3.0 last-60 hrs + no felony + >=2 of 9 preferences incl. PCE>750, KS resident, military, first-gen), then holistic faculty review + interview; rolling.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
An individual interview is required for admission and offered only to the most qualified applicants after holistic review. Interview teams are led by program faculty and include community health care providers, alumni and College of Health Sciences faculty; applicants get at least two weeks' notice.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P routeReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Combined Human A&P route with lab
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
Two semesters of Biology, including General Biology with lab2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo semesters total; one must be General Biology with lab. Exact course/credit requirement for second biology course not specified. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Required | C |
Two semesters of General Chemistry with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo semesters of chemistry with labs. The second may be Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry; neither is required in addition to the two semesters. Check with the program before counting General Chemistry alone or using one course for two requirements. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Required | C |
| Combined Human A&P route with lab1 course(s) Either two semesters of combined Human A&P with labs, or one combined Human A&P course of at least eight semester hours with lab. The program lists both routes, so confirm with them which applies. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Required | C |
| Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s) Alternative to combined A&P; pair with one semester Human Physiology. Minimum credits not stated. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Required | C |
| Human Physiology with lab1 course(s) Alternative to combined A&P; pair with one semester Human Anatomy. Minimum credits not stated. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Required | C |
Microbiology or Bacteriology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne semester; no minimum credits or lab requirement stated. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Not specified | C |
Psychology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne semester; no minimum credits stated. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Not required | C |
Human Genetics1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne semester; must be completed within five years of application; plant genetics not accepted. Minimum credits/lab not stated. | Not publishedSemester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Not specified | C |
Medical TerminologyCourse notes & alternativesOne semester course, minimum 2 semester credits. | 2Semester courses; minimum credits not published except Medical Terminology and one-course A&P route | Not required | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Minimum grade
- C or above; Pass/Fail and Credit/No-Credit are not accepted.
- Course recency
- The 10-year prerequisite limit is measured from the graduation date of the degree in which courses were completed. The exception requires at least 4,000 direct patient care hours within the last 10 years from August 1 of the application year. Human Genetics must be within five years.
- Completion timing
- All prerequisites complete at application; 2026 cycle materials due July 31, 2026.
- Prerequisite GPA
- 3.0 minimum; also 3.0 minimum for last 60 credits.
- Course counting
- One course cannot satisfy multiple prerequisite requirements.
Prerequisite courses more than 10 years from the graduation date of the degree in which they were completed are not accepted unless the applicant has provided at least 4,000 hours of direct patient care within the last 10 years from August 1 of the application year. Genetics must be within five years and cannot be plant genetics. Courses must be letter graded. One course cannot satisfy multiple requirements. Quarter-hour conversion is 0.67 semester hours per quarter hour.
When courses must be complete: For the 2026 cycle, all required materials and completed prerequisites were due to CASPA by July 31. The next cohort begins January 2027.
Dates & application steps
The 2026 application cycle closed July 31 for January 2027 entry. The year of the next cycle has not been published.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Published 2026–28 seven-semester cohort estimated full-program tuition and required feesTuition only. The 2026–28 tuition rates are estimates and may change. Required fees are listed separately.
For the 2026–28 seven-semester cohort, estimated tuition is $54,475 for residents and $121,816 for nonresidents. Required fees add $15,065, for totals of $69,540 (resident) and $136,881 (nonresident). Future tuition rates are university estimates. Housing, books, equipment, insurance and travel are not included.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Medical-model classroom education precedes supervised clinical practice.
Clinical education
Clinical study completes the seven consecutive-semester sequence.
The Manhattan program starts in January and concludes in May after 27 months.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 90%
No 5-year average yet - only THREE graduating cohorts (2024-2026); 87% first-time across all three (101/116)
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: Not available yet
Five-year first-time results are not yet available.
Accreditation history
Accredited-ProbationSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- Kansas State University program page
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Kansas State University program page
- Kansas State University curriculum and clinical training
- K-State PA FAQ recency clarification
- Kansas State University program page
- Kansas State University program page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
