Address & Contact

Our Address

5151 Park Ave, Fairfield, CT 06825, United States

GPS

41.22071904563567, -73.24228901997121

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Sacred Heart University Physician Assistant Program

Stamford, Connecticut · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition $106,575 (estimate)Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $111,125
Class of 2028 (seven trimesters, 2026–2028); costs current as of August 5, 2026
Class size 42 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE scores are not required.
Patient-care minimum 1,000 paid hoursComplete 1,000 verifiable paid direct patient-care hours in the U.S. healthcare system by CASPA submission.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum Prerequisite GPA 3.00The program requires a 3.00 prerequisite GPA and does not publish a separate CASPA all-science cutoff.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 94%
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 27-month Connecticut PA program with a 42-student cohort and 1,000 required paid U.S. direct-care hours.

On campus27 months42 students

Mission & approach

Educate PAs to provide compassionate, patient-centered care to diverse, vulnerable and medically underserved communities, rooted in Sacred Heart University's social justice mission.

Sacred Heart University Physician Assistant Program
Sacred Heart University Physician Assistant Program
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic: academics, statements, direct PCE, service, attributes, interview. Extra for CT residents/military; Stamford Hospital/Health employees auto-interview.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

Virtual

Sacred Heart's MSPAS interviews are held virtually during the fall admissions cycle, with admissions decisions completed by December, and interviews are by invitation only. SHU alumni, or Stamford Health employees who meet minimum requirements, are instead granted an in-person interview.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE scores are not required.
Patient care1,000 paid hoursComplete 1,000 verifiable paid direct patient-care hours in the U.S. healthcare system by CASPA submission.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPAPrerequisite GPA 3.00The program requires a 3.00 prerequisite GPA and does not publish a separate CASPA all-science cutoff.
Recommendations3 lettersOne letter must come from a clinical job supervisor and one from a professor, teaching assistant or academic adviser; the source of the third letter is not specified.
International applicantsNot acceptedApplicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents at application; foreign-educated citizens and permanent residents may apply under the credential rules.
English proficiencyConditional TOEFLApplicants without a U.S. regionally accredited bachelor's degree need TOEFL section minimums of 24 reading, 24 listening, 28 speaking and 26 writing.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Chemistry route: Organic I and II or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry I with lab + Organic Chemistry II with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Microbiology with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Human A&P I with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Human A&P II with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Upper-level human biological science
Course notes & alternatives

3-4 credits; General Biology I/II does not count.

3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Organic Chemistry I with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Organic Chemistry II with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Biochemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

Biostatistics preferred.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot requiredC
General or Introductory Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

Specialized/abnormal psychology does not substitute.

Not publishedSemester credits unless notedNot requiredC

Policies that can change your plan

Chemistry alternative
Complete both Organic Chemistry I and II with labs, or Biochemistry with lab.
No in-progress courses
Prerequisites complete at application submission.

All prerequisite courses must be complete before CASPA submission; no expiration. Coursework must be from a regionally accredited U.S. institution. Grade C or higher; pass/fail not accepted.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

Program startsAugust 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Class of 2028 (seven trimesters, 2026–2028); costs current as of August 5, 2026
Resident tuition$106,575 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$106,575 projected full-program tuition

$15,225 trimester × 7 documented trimesters · Full-program tuition only. Estimate at current rates for the Class of 2028 (seven trimesters, 2026–2028), current as of August 5, 2026; future rates may change.

Required program fees$4,550
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$111,125

Tuition and billed fees total $111,125. Adding $12,222 in required costs that are not billed (including $6,400 for travel) brings the total to $123,347. Other estimates of these unbilled costs range from $8,586 to $16,858. Optional parking and waivable insurance are not included.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic education

Organ-system instruction, interprofessional learning and early hands-on clinical experience.

0212 months

Clinical rotations

Five-week rotations cover internal medicine, surgery, pediatrics, family care, orthopedics, women’s health, emergency and behavioral medicine, plus an elective.

27-month graduate program based at Stamford Hospital’s Tandet Center; the program describes 1,600 clinical hours.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 12, 2016
Next reviewJanuary 2031
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.