University of Missouri – Kansas City – Columbia Campus Physician Assistant Program
Columbia, Missouri · Masters
Tuition + fees $105,634 / $124,292 nonresident
2026–27 full-program tuition and required fees at current published rates
A closer look
A 29-month program at UMKC's Columbia campus, using UMKC's shared admissions process. The January 2027 class size for this campus is not published.
Mission & approach
To educate competent, compassionate, and culturally-aware Physician Assistants who are prepared to meet the healthcare needs of our community. Graduates will advance the Physician Assistant profession through clinical excellence, service, and dedication to professional stewardship.

Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic review (academics + non-cognitive traits). In-state preference: Missouri residents prioritized, then Kansas. Patient-care experience preferred, not required.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
All candidates invited to interview must interview virtually unless otherwise notified, and UMKC PA Scholars program graduates in good standing are automatically offered an interview. After all interviews are complete, the admissions committee uses a holistic, individualized process to extend offers.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester credits unless notedReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy with lab: separate or combined A&P course: Anatomy with lab OR Combined A&P course for Anatomy
- Physiology with lab: separate or another combined A&P course: Physiology with lab OR Combined A&P course for Physiology
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
General Biology with labCourse notes & alternativesOne semester. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Anatomy with lab Human anatomy recommended. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Physiology with lab | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Combined A&P course for Anatomy A distinct four-credit combined course may satisfy the Anatomy slot. | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Combined A&P course for Physiology A second distinct four-credit combined course may satisfy the Physiology slot. | 4Semester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Microbiology with lab | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
General Chemistry with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo semesters. | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Organic Chemistry with lab | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Required | Not specified |
| Upper-level Biochemistry | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| Statistics | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
| Medical Terminology | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
| Genetics | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not specified | Not specified |
| Psychology | Not publishedSemester credits unless noted | Not required | Not specified |
Policies that can change your plan
- A&P distinct courses
- A single combined A&P course cannot satisfy both Anatomy and Physiology. Confirm two distinct course assignments.
The program lists semesters rather than minimum credits. One four-credit combined A&P course counts for one semester of Anatomy or Physiology; you still need a second distinct course. Prerequisite GPA 3.0; at most two courses may be unfinished after the deadline. Completion within seven years is recommended.
Dates & application steps
The previous deadline (June 15, 2026) has passed, and the next one has not been published.
The shared UMKC application and PA portal deadline was June 29, 2026; this cycle is closed.
This is the expected start of the entering class.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
2026–27 full-program tuition and required fees at current published rates$114,759.8 documented program schedule · Projected full-program tuition at current rates; future rates may change.
Both campuses have about the same resident tuition and fees. Tuition is $96,102.05 for residents and $114,759.80 for nonresidents; required fees add $9,532.10, for totals of $105,634.15 and $124,291.90. Columbia clinical travel is separate. Living costs and ordinary transportation are not included.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Systems-based instruction, simulation and clinical-skills training prepare students for supervised practice.
Clinical education
Ten four-week core rotations and two- to four-week electives provide inpatient and outpatient experience.
The shared UMKC curriculum spans seven semesters and 129.5 credits. Students return monthly to their home campus; at least four rotations are more than 60 miles away.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 95%
No graduates yet - first Columbia cohort matriculated January 2026; figures shown are the parent program's
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet
Five-year first-time results are not yet available.
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- Program program page
- Program program page
- Program program page
- Program program page
- Program program page
- Program program page
- Program program page
- ARC-PA accreditation history for the UMKC parent program and its Columbia instructional location
- Program program page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
