Address & Contact

Our Address

New York Institute of Technology PA Department, Riland Room 352 Northern Boulevard, PO Box 8000 Old Westbury, NY 11568-8000

GPS

40.788785501597, -73.599671797786

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

New York Institute of Technology Physician Assistant Program

Old Westbury, New York · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycleNew York Tech's FAQ says the CASPA submission deadline is October 1, while its admission requirements page says applications must be submitted through CASPA no later than January 15. The program also reviews applications on a rolling basis. Plan for October 1 and confirm the date with the program.
Tuition $176,400Same for residents and nonresidents
Tuition + fees $179,725
Published full-program estimate
Class size 60 students
Program length 30 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE and MCAT not considered; do not submit
Patient-care minimum 250 hours250 verifiable hours in the U.S. healthcare system
Overall GPA minimum 3.00This is the program’s published cumulative GPA minimum for application eligibility.
Science GPA minimum 3.20This is the program's published minimum science GPA to be eligible to apply.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 95%
U.S. News PA rank #75 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A Long Island PA program combining clinical medicine, technology-enabled learning, and supervised practice across New York healthcare settings.

On campus30 months60 students

Mission & approach

The mission of the New York Tech PA Program is to provide students with engaging educational experiences that facilitate lifelong learning, enhance diverse perspectives, emphasize interprofessional practice, and foster a spirit of service with a commitment to improving the health of our communities and advancing the PA profession.

W. Kenneth Riland Academic Health Care Center at NYIT, home of the physician assistant program
Riland Academic Health Care Center by Nedzzzz, CC BY-SA 4.0; cropped, resized and WebP-compressed.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Competitive holistic review of undergraduate intensity of studies, cumulative and science GPA, patient care experience, leadership and volunteer experience, and letters of reference. Personal interview required. Min grade of B in all prerequisites (may be retaken up to twice). Priority to internal B.S./M.S. students.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE and MCAT not considered; do not submit
Patient care250 verifiable hours in the U.S. healthcare system
Overall GPA3.0 cumulative GPAThis is the program’s published cumulative GPA minimum for application eligibility.
Science GPA3.2 science GPAThis is the program's published minimum science GPA to be eligible to apply.
Recommendations3 letters · PA or physicianThree professional recommendations are required, including one from a PA or physician.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsEligible with foreign-record evaluation, English proof, and passport/national ID; all prerequisites must be from a U.S. regionally accredited institution within 10 years
English proficiencyConditionalTOEFL generally required for all international applicants, including English-speaking countries or non-U.S. education: 575 paper, 233 computer, or 80 iBT; individual waivers possible; scores valid 2 years

Prerequisite coursework

Semesters; course credit hours are not stated.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy + Human Physiology OR Anatomy and Physiology I + Anatomy and Physiology II
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Biology with laboratory2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters; each course appears to include a lab. Credit hours per course are not stated.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.RequiredB
General Chemistry with laboratory2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two semesters. Credit hours per course are not stated.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.RequiredB
Organic Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab requirement is not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Biochemistry
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

One semester; lab not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Human Anatomy

One semester in one A&P route, paired with Human Physiology; the lab requirement for this route is not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Human Physiology

One semester in one A&P route, paired with Human Anatomy; the lab requirement for this route is not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Anatomy and Physiology I

Alternative A&P route: one semester of A&P I plus A&P II; labs are not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Anatomy and Physiology II

Alternative A&P route: one semester of A&P II plus A&P I; labs are not specified.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

One of two college-math semesters must be Statistics.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB
Additional college mathematics
Course notes & alternatives

One additional semester of college math is required; the course type is not specified, so do not assume Calculus.

Not publishedSemesters; course credit hours are not stated.Not specifiedB

Policies that can change your plan

Course age and grades
B or better; within 10 years; repeats allowed once.
Pending courses
8 of 12 completed by deadline; up to 4 outstanding, with only 2 completed as late as spring.
CASPA deadline
New York Tech's FAQ says the CASPA submission deadline is October 1, while its admission requirements page says applications must be submitted through CASPA no later than January 15. The program also reviews applications on a rolling basis. Plan for October 1 and confirm the date with the program.
International coursework
International applicants must complete all prerequisites at a regionally accredited U.S. institution. Other applicants may also use accredited institutions in Canada.

No credit minimums are published, only semester counts. Labs are required for Biology and General Chemistry only; A&P lab requirements are not published, so check with the program. Only 8 of 12 prerequisites must be complete by the deadline; up to 4 may be pending, and only 2 of those may extend to spring. Check with the program for the exact CASPA deadline. International applicants must take all prerequisites at a regionally accredited U.S. institution; other applicants may also use accredited institutions in Canada.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

New York Tech's FAQ says the CASPA submission deadline is October 1, while its admission requirements page says applications must be submitted through CASPA no later than January 15. The program also reviews applications on a rolling basis. Plan for October 1 and confirm the date with the program.

THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$176,400 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$176,400 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$3,325
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$179,725

Full-program tuition and required fees. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic education

Face-to-face study takes place on the Long Island campus over fall and spring of the first two academic years.

023 semesters

Clinical education

Supervised primary-care and specialty clerkships are combined with further instruction, board review and summative evaluation.

The program is 30 months and 98 credits, according to the handbook revised August 2026. Clinical-site and elective preferences depend on availability and approval.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2027 · entering fall 2024

Published class statistics
Mean overall GPA3.74
Mean science GPA3.68
Mean direct patient-care hoursNot recorded

The program FAQ lists the Class of 2027 as 60 students: 13 dual-degree and 47 external entrants. Average combined patient-care and shadowing experience is 2,167 hours; this is not a measure of direct patient care alone. The current average overall GPA is 3.74.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 2027 · entering fall 20243.74Mean overall GPA3.68Mean science GPANot recordedMean direct patient-care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 95%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedOctober 1999
Next reviewOctober 2029
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.