Address & Contact

Our Address

Frostburg State University 24 North Walnut Street Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

GPS

39.65817, -78.92836

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Frostburg State University Physician Assistant Program

Frostburg, Maryland · Masters

Application deadline Nov 1, 2026Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition Resident $77,104 (estimate)Nonresident $103,102 (estimate)
Tuition + fees $84,812 / $110,810 nonresident
2026–27 full-program tuition at current published rates
Class size 25 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required and are not reviewed.
Patient-care minimum 500 hours500 direct patient-care hours.
Overall GPA minimum Not publishedNo separate cumulative GPA minimum is published, but a 3.0 prerequisite GPA is required.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedNo separate science GPA minimum is published; the 3.0 prerequisite GPA is a different measure. Ask the program whether a separate science GPA minimum applies.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 85%
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

To educate students in compassionate patient-centered care. Students will learn best practices, use innovative technology, and work in interprofessional teams to deliver quality care, particularly in rural and medically underserved areas in Maryland and beyond. Frostburg State University Physician Assistant graduates will have a commitment to excellence, inclusivity, and community service.

Program campus
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Mission: prepare PAs for rural/medically underserved areas, particularly western Maryland. PREFERENCE to applicants with: volunteer activity >=2 hrs/week (>=96 hrs over 12 months); permanent address in medically underserved/health professions shortage/rural areas; permanent address in Maryland; graduation from a regional institution within 120 miles of Frostburg; and alignment with the program's mission. Min prereq GPA 3.0 (C or better in required courses). 500 PCE hours + 8 hrs PA shadowing; preference for PCE requiring advanced training/certification/licensure.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusMMI

Interviews are held in person at the Hagerstown site and centre on the Multiple Mini Interview format — short stations testing communication, teamwork and nonverbal skills. The day also includes a group interaction exercise and an on-site writing sample, run on a rolling basis August through December.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required and are not reviewed.
Patient care500 direct patient-care hours.
Overall GPANo overall minimum; 3.0 prerequisite GPANo separate cumulative GPA minimum is published, but a 3.0 prerequisite GPA is required.
Science GPANo separate minimum; 3.0 prerequisiteNo separate science GPA minimum is published; the 3.0 prerequisite GPA is a different measure. Ask the program whether a separate science GPA minimum applies.
Recommendations2 lettersThe program takes the first two letters submitted that meet its requirements. Extra letters are not considered.
International applicantsNot acceptedOnly U.S. citizens and permanent residents can apply. The program is not approved for international students at this time.
English proficiencyConditional · TOEFL or alternativesIf English is not your first language, you may need to submit recent TOEFL or IELTS scores (no more than two years old) or use another listed pathway.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Biochemistry or Organic Chemistry with lab: Upper-level Biochemistry with lab OR Upper-level Organic Chemistry with lab
  • Abnormal or Developmental Psychology: Abnormal Psychology OR Developmental Psychology
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s)8Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

3–4 credits; confirm whether a lab is required.

3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

1–3 credits; must be a graded course, not pass/fail.

1Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specified
Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Upper-level Biochemistry with lab

Preferred over Organic Chemistry.

4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Upper-level Organic Chemistry with lab4Semester credits unless notedRequiredC
Abnormal Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specified
Developmental Psychology3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredNot specified
StatisticsNot publishedSemester credits unless notedNot specifiedNot specified

Policies that can change your plan

Confirm for the current cycle
The program expects science prerequisites to be completed within 5 years of starting. Confirm the current course list with admissions before planning.

The program expects science prerequisites to be completed within 5 years of starting the program. The general-admission course list link is not working, so confirm current-cycle equivalents with the program. Statistics credits and non-science grade minimums are not published. Online lectures are accepted; online science labs are not.

When courses must be complete: The current PA FAQ requires all science courses to be complete by the November 1 verified deadline; only one non-science prerequisite may be outstanding. Confirm the final transcript date for the current cycle.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNov 1, 2026

Your application must be verified by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

2026–27 full-program tuition at current published rates
Resident tuition$77,104 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$103,102 projected full-program tuition

$65,008 Year 1 + $38,094 Year 2 · Projected full-program tuition at current rates; future rates may change.

Required program fees$7,708
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$84,812

Tuition is $45,016 for year 1 and $32,088 for year 2 for in-state students ($77,104 total), and $65,008 plus $38,094 for out-of-state students ($103,102 total). Required program fees add $3,082 and $4,626 ($7,708 total). These are estimated budget figures and may change; living costs and ordinary transportation are not included.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First 12 months

Didactic phase

The preclinical year covers medical sciences, examination, communication, procedures and professional practice.

0212 months

Clinical phase

Ten supervised clinical practice experiences (seven required, three elective), plus specialty coursework and a summative capstone.

24 months, 117 credits. Most rotations last four weeks; one lasts three weeks. The program schedules sites, preferably within 150 miles of Hagerstown and serving rural or underserved communities; students cover their own transportation and housing.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 85%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 9, 2019
Next reviewJuly 2033
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.