Address & Contact

Our Address

Eastern Michigan University 222 Rackham Building Ypsilanti, MI 48197

GPS

42.25407727308908, -83.6341021000287

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Eastern Michigan University Physician Assistant Program

Ypsilanti, Michigan · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026Must be received by this date
Tuition Resident $116,049Nonresident $198,421
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 30 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with program
Patient-care minimum Not publishedCurrent PA admissions requirements page was not accessible; no verifiable PA-specific PCE rule captured.
Overall GPA minimum Not publishedConfirm the current GPA policy.
Science GPA minimum Not publishedConfirm the current GPA policy.
PANCE pass rate 90%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 89%
U.S. News PA rank #93 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

The Eastern Michigan University physician assistant program mission is to identify, train and support a diverse population of graduate students to become highly respected ambassadors of the profession and extraordinary health care providers with a strong foundation in primary care medicine and interdisciplinary practice.

Eastern Michigan University
Eastern Michigan University
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm with program
Patient careNot published
Overall GPANot published
Science GPANot published
RecommendationsNot published
International applicantsNot published
English proficiencyConfirm with program

Prerequisite coursework

Credits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and Physiology pathway: Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II OR Human Anatomy + Human Physiology
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human Anatomy & Physiology I and II2 course(s)

EMU accepts this two-course sequence (4 credits each) or separate Human Anatomy and Human Physiology courses. The lab requirement for A&P isn't stated.

8Credits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.Not specifiedNot specified
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

One course, paired with Human Physiology if you take the separate route. Credits and lab rules aren't specified.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.Not specifiedNot specified
Human Physiology1 course(s)

One course, paired with Human Anatomy if you take the separate route. Credits and lab rules aren't specified.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.Not specifiedNot specified
General Chemistry with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One General Chemistry course with lab. Credit structures differ by institution, so no universal minimum is published.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.RequiredNot specified
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)

Choose Organic Chemistry with lab or Biochemistry with lab. No universal credit minimum is published.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.RequiredNot specified
Biochemistry with lab1 course(s)

Alternative to Organic Chemistry with lab. No universal credit minimum is published.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.RequiredNot specified
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course with lab. Course credit structures differ, and no universal minimum is stated.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.RequiredNot specified
Lifespan Psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; no universal credit minimum or grade threshold is stated.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.Not specifiedNot specified
Statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; no universal credit minimum or grade threshold is stated.

Not publishedCredits vary by institution; EMU lists A&P I and II as 4 credits each.Not specifiedNot specified

Policies that can change your plan

Checklist may be out of date
No newer public checklist was found. Confirm current-cycle details, including grades, recency and deadlines, with admissions.
Credit equivalents
Schools accept several options with different credit counts, so there is no single minimum. Check with the program.
Route
Either A&P I and II (4 credits each) or separate Anatomy and Physiology; either Organic Chemistry with lab or Biochemistry with lab.
Unknowns
No prerequisite grade minimum, recency rule, or per-course completion timing is published.

The program's prerequisite checklist is dated July 15, 2022, so use it with caution and confirm current details with admissions. It lists seven subject areas and clear lab rules for chemistry, organic chemistry or biochemistry, and microbiology; the A&P lab rule isn't stated. Newer checklists from other institutions repeat the seven subject areas. Confirm the current course-equivalency list and minimum grades with admissions.

When courses must be complete: Complete courses by the program's published deadlines. The exact current deadline is not published.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineDec 1, 2026

Application, transcripts, and 2 references must be received by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$116,049 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$198,421 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Eastern Michigan doesn't publish a program total, so this is an estimate from 2026–27 per-credit rates (61 didactic credits and 42 clinical credits; 103 credits total per the PA Student Handbook). Nonresident estimate: $198,421. Resident estimate: $116,049. Both include differential tuition. The Graduate Signature Program Fee (about $52 per credit for 500–699 level courses) is a fee and is not included. Graduate rates rose 3% on June 25, 2026.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01First year

Didactic instruction

Medical science, clinical medicine, patient assessment, procedures, pharmacotherapy and pathophysiology combine lectures with small-group learning, simulations and procedure practice.

02Second year

Clinical rotations

Students train with physician or PA preceptors; primary areas include pediatrics, behavioral and mental health, surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, emergency medicine, family practice and internal medicine.

The student handbook describes six continuous semesters of graduate training.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 90%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 89%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 6, 2013
Next reviewApril 2028
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.