Address & Contact

Our Address

Seton Hall University 400 South Orange Ave South Orange, NJ 7079

GPS

40.74370912319684, -74.24934179124064

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Seton Hall University Physician Assistant Program

Nutley, New Jersey · Masters

Application deadline Dec 1, 2026The proprietary application deadline is December 1 for August 2027 matriculation.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $152,160 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $152,160 projected full-program tuition · Current published $1,585/credit rate across 96 required credits; future entrant rate can change.
Class size 60 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 33 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE scores are required.
Patient-care minimum 100 healthcare-experience hoursRequires 100 healthcare-experience hours. The program does not state that all 100 hours must be direct patient care.
Overall GPA minimum 3.20Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.20; prerequisite GPA must also be at least 3.20.
Science GPA minimum No published minimumNo GPA cutoff stated in the published policy.
Recommendations 3 letters · preferred rolesThree recommendations are required from the program's preferred academic or professional roles.
International applicants Confirm with programThe reviewed PA page does not establish visa or international-applicant eligibility; confirm directly with admissions. TOEFL and credential-evaluation instructions alone do not establish eligibility. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
English proficiency / TOEFL TOEFL conditionalApplicable applicants must meet a published TOEFL threshold: paper 550, computer 213, or iBT 79.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rate · Reporting year not recordedFive-year first-time: 97% · reporting period not recorded
U.S. News PA rank #14 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 33-month, 96-credit New Jersey PA program with a 60-student class and 100 required healthcare-experience hours.

On campus33 months60 students
Mission & approach

To prepare primary care PAs who practice in diverse settings. The program provides the foundation for graduates to become critical thinkers who practice evidence-based, patient-centered medicine.

Seton Hall University Interprofessional Health Sciences Campus in Nutley, home of the Physician Assistant program
Seton Hall University Interprofessional Health Sciences Campus in Nutley, home of the Physician Assistant program.
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Seton Hall University a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Personal attributes (leadership, communication, commitment to service to community/underserved, awareness of health disparities, experience with diverse populations); academic performance (cGPA >=3.2, prereq GPA >=3.2, baccalaureate); GRE; healthcare experience; interview (all admitted candidates interviewed).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

All applicants considered competitive for admission are invited to campus for an interview. The interview is used to assess an applicant's knowledge of the PA profession, motivation for becoming a PA, and communication and interpersonal skills. The page does not specify whether the interview is one-on-one, panel, or another format.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE scores are required.
Patient care100 healthcare-experience hoursRequires 100 healthcare-experience hours. The program does not state that all 100 hours must be direct patient care.
Overall GPA3.20Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.20; prerequisite GPA must also be at least 3.20.
Science GPANo published minimumThe program does not publish a separate science-GPA minimum; prerequisite GPA must be at least 3.20.
Recommendations3 letters · preferred rolesThree recommendations are required from the program's preferred academic or professional roles.
International applicantsConfirm with programThe reviewed PA page does not establish visa or international-applicant eligibility; confirm directly with admissions. TOEFL and credential-evaluation instructions alone do not establish eligibility.
English proficiencyTOEFL conditionalApplicable applicants must meet a published TOEFL threshold: paper 550, computer 213, or iBT 79.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Biology sequence: General Biology I with lab + General Biology II with lab OR General Biology I with lab + Cell Biology with lab OR General Biology I with lab + Genetics OR Cell Biology with lab + Genetics
  • Chemistry sequence: General Chemistry I with lab + General Chemistry II with lab OR General Chemistry I with lab + Organic Chemistry with lab OR General Chemistry I with lab + Biochemistry with lab OR Organic Chemistry with lab + Biochemistry with lab
  • A&P sequence: Human A&P I and II with labs OR Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Mammalian Anatomy and Physiology with labs
  • Mathematics: Statistics or Biostatistics OR Precalculus OR Calculus I or II
  • Psychology: General/Introductory Psychology OR Abnormal Psychology OR Behavioral Psychology OR Developmental Psychology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology I with lab1 course(s)

Science/allied-health major level; within 10 years.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Biology II with lab1 course(s)

Science/allied-health major level; within 10 years.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Cell Biology with lab1 course(s)

Alternative if General Biology II unavailable; confirm approved route.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Genetics1 course(s)

Alternative within 7–8-credit two-course biology sequence if preferred courses unavailable; lab/credit equivalence requires program review.

Not publishedSemester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
General Chemistry I with lab1 course(s)4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General Chemistry II with lab1 course(s)4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s)

Alternative chemistry route only if preferred general chemistry sequence unavailable.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Biochemistry with lab1 course(s)

Alternative chemistry route only if preferred general chemistry sequence unavailable.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Human A&P I and II with labs2 course(s)

Two-course sequence, 7–8 credits total typically.

8Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s)4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab1 course(s)4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Mammalian Anatomy and Physiology with labs2 course(s)

Alternative only if preferred A&P courses unavailable; two semesters 7–8 credits; confirm course count/credits.

Not publishedSemester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Medical or introductory microbiology with lab accepted; narrow specialty variants excluded.

4Semester creditsRequiredCSign in to plan
Statistics or Biostatistics1 course(s)

Preferred mathematics route.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Precalculus1 course(s)

Alternative only if preferred statistics unavailable.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Calculus I or II1 course(s)

Alternative only if preferred statistics unavailable.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
General/Introductory Psychology1 course(s)

Preferred psychology route.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Abnormal Psychology1 course(s)

Alternative only if preferred psychology unavailable.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan
Behavioral Psychology1 course(s)

Alternative only if preferred psychology unavailable.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan →This requirement needs an individual course review; completion has not been confirmed.
Developmental Psychology1 course(s)

Alternative only if preferred psychology unavailable.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedCSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Current application form is more specific than older graduate catalog. Science-major level required. AP, pass/fail, IB not accepted; online U.S.-accredited coursework accepted. Incomplete prerequisites must be finished by May 31. Program uses its own application, not CASPA.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Proprietary application deadlineDec 1, 2026

The proprietary application deadline is December 1 for August 2027 matriculation.

2026–2027
Program startsAugust 2027

Expected entering-cohort start.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Projected cost estimate

Current published PA cohort/full-program tuition and fees
Resident tuitionApproximately $152,160 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $152,160 projected full-program tuition

$1,585 credit × 96 required credits · Current published $1,585/credit rate across 96 required credits; future entrant rate can change.

Required program fees$4,590
Projected tuition + required feesCurrent-rate estimate; living and other expenses excluded
$156,750

Basis: $1,585 credit × 96 required credits · current-rate projection · high confidence

Current official 96-credit PA cost schedule × $1,585 per credit = $152,160 tuition only; $4,590 listed university fees = $156,750 tuition/fees. $164,534 broader university-expense estimate includes additional items and must not be ranked as tuition.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Didactic education

Interprofessional medical training

Lectures, case-based learning and simulation at the Nutley Interprofessional Health Sciences Campus, with patient contact starting in the first semester.

0214 months

Clinical rotations

Core and elective supervised rotations; the curriculum states at least 52 weeks of clinical training.

33-month, 96-credit program. Clinical placements are provided by the program.

Seton Hall University official curriculum/program source Current posted curriculum; cohort-specific year not stated unless qualified · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Cohort year and experience averages need verification.

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting year not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 97%

Program reporting period not recorded; direct comparison unavailable.

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 2001
Next reviewJuly 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.