Address & Contact

Our Address

Milligan University 1 Walker Drive Johnson City, Tennessee 37601

GPS

36.30649, -82.30179

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Milligan University Physician Assistant Program

Milligan, Tennessee · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $97,200Nonresident $97,200
Tuition + fees $107,175
Published full-program estimate
Class size 26 students
Program length 28 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Required · minimum 289GRE is required with a minimum composite score of 289; scores must be within five years.
Patient-care minimum 300 hoursAt least 300 documented hours of direct patient care or observation are required.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum 3.00 prerequisite scienceMinimum prerequisite-science GPA is 3.00; this is not a general CASPA science GPA cutoff.
Recommendations 3 letters · healthcare evaluatorThree CASPA references are required; at least one must come from a healthcare setting where the applicant worked or volunteered.
International applicants ConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to credential, English, financial, and immigration requirements.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalApplicants covered by the policy must meet a published minimum score on the TOEFL, IELTS, ELS, or Duolingo.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 95%
U.S. News PA rank #159 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript. Open Match AI →

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 28-month Tennessee PA program combining medical science, clinical skills, supervised rotations, and service-oriented professional formation.

On campus28 months26 students
Mission & approach

Prepare physician assistants as servant leaders who provide clinical expertise while positively contributing to the profession, the communities they serve, and society; rooted in a Christ-centered, servant-leadership approach.

B.D. Phillips Building at Milligan University, home of the Ballad Health Physician Assistant Center
Milligan University’s B.D. Phillips Building, home of the Ballad Health Physician Assistant Center. Photo: Milligan University.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Baccalaureate degree, cGPA >=3.0, science prerequisite GPA >=3.0, 300+ PCE/observation hours, GRE >=289, 3 references (incl. healthcare reference attesting to Christian commitment/character), prerequisite coursework, background check, on-site interview

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequired · minimum 289GRE is required with a minimum composite score of 289; scores must be within five years.
Patient care300 hoursAt least 300 documented hours of direct patient care or observation are required.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum cumulative GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA3.00 prerequisite scienceMinimum prerequisite-science GPA is 3.00; this is not a general CASPA science GPA cutoff.
Recommendations3 letters · healthcare evaluatorThree CASPA references are required; at least one must come from a healthcare setting where the applicant worked or volunteered.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply subject to credential, English, financial, and immigration requirements.
English proficiencyConditionalApplicants covered by the policy must meet a published minimum score on the TOEFL, IELTS, ELS, or Duolingo.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Intro social-science choice: Intro to Psychology OR Intro to Sociology OR Intro to Anthropology
  • Developmental/Lifespan Psychology choice: Developmental Psychology OR Lifespan Psychology
  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
General Biology
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits; live hands-on lab required; online labs are not accepted.

4Semester creditsRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Anatomy and Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester credits; live hands-on lab required. The program lists this as one combined A&P requirement, but other sources split it into Anatomy (4 credits) and Physiology (4 credits), so check with the program about your route.

8Semester creditsRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

4 semester credits; live hands-on lab required; online labs are not accepted.

4Semester creditsRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
General Chemistry
Course notes & alternatives

8 semester credits; live hands-on lab required; online labs are not accepted.

8Semester creditsRequiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Organic Chemistry

Minimum 3 semester credits; no lab required. Alternative to Biochemistry.

3Semester creditsNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Biochemistry

Minimum 3 semester credits; no lab required. Alternative to Organic Chemistry.

3Semester creditsNot requiredNot specifiedSign in to plan
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester credits; no lab requirement stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Writing/English Composition
Course notes & alternatives

6 semester credits.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Public Speaking
Course notes & alternatives

3 semester credits. Check with the program for course matching.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

1 semester credit.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Intro to Psychology

One option within the 3-credit introductory social-science requirement. Check with the program for route selection.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Intro to Sociology

One option within the 3-credit introductory social-science requirement. Check with the program for course matching.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →
Intro to Anthropology

One option within the 3-credit introductory social-science requirement. Check with the program for course matching.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →
Developmental Psychology

One alternative in the 3-credit developmental/lifespan psychology requirement.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan
Lifespan Psychology

One option within the 3-credit developmental/lifespan psychology requirement. Check with the program for course matching.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedNot specifiedSign in to plan →

Policies that can change your plan

Check with the program about the A&P route.
Confirm prerequisite details for the current cycle with the program.
Check with the program about how Public Speaking counts.
Confirm prerequisite details for the current cycle with the program.

Live hands-on labs are required for prerequisite courses; online labs are not accepted. Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry do not require labs. No minimum grade per course is stated. The admissions committee may grant individual substitutions or waivers. Other sources list no prerequisite age limit and allow up to three prerequisites outstanding before you start; confirm this timing in CASPA or the program's instructions. A&P: the program lists one 8-credit requirement, while others split it into 4 credits each for Anatomy and Physiology; check course equivalency with the program. Public Speaking is a separate requirement; check with the program.

When courses must be complete: Up to three prerequisites may be outstanding before you start; confirm this timing with Milligan. No prerequisite recency limit is reported. A completion deadline is not published, so check with the program.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published. Confirm with the program.

Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published full-program estimate
Resident tuition$97,200 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$97,200 published full-program tuition

Published nonresident full-program tuition

Required program fees$9,975
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$107,175

Tuition and required fees for the full program are shown separately. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

0115 months

Didactic education

72 credits of face-to-face medical science and clinical preparation.

0213 months

Clinical education

36 credits include eight six-week clinical placements. Family medicine, pediatrics and surgery are among the published clinical examples.

28-month, 108-credit curriculum ends with May graduation. Students may suggest sites or preceptors at least three months before a rotation; the program approves placements and does not require students to recruit sites.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Matriculated-student profile (no year given)

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.68
Science GPANot recorded
Prerequisite GPA3.69
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

Shows average cumulative undergraduate and prerequisite-science GPAs for matriculated students; no cohort year is given. Prerequisite-science GPA is not the same as overall science GPA.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Matriculated-student profile (no year given)3.68Not recordedNot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 95%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedSeptember 9, 2017
Next reviewJuly 2032
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.