Address & Contact

Our Address

1005 Dr DB Todd Jr Blvd, Nashville, TN 37208

GPS

36.163811, -86.808273

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Meharry Medical College Physician Assistant Program

Nashville, Tennessee · Masters

Application deadline Next deadline not yet publishedMeharry says the January 2027 cohort closed August 1, 2026 for CASPA submission and verification; the next cycle date is not published.
Tuition Resident: Approximately $124,812.63 projected full-program tuitionNonresident: Approximately $124,812.63 projected full-program tuition · Older cohort benchmark; current entering-class price unconfirmed
Class size 25 studentsProgram cohort size
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Confirm with programThe 2026–27 PA admissions page requires Casper but does not explicitly establish a GRE waiver; verify the next cycle. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Patient-care minimum No direct patient-care minimum; DPC is an admissions preference. PA shadowing is also preferred without a numeric minimum.The page explicitly labels DPC and PA shadowing as preferences with no minimum.
Overall GPA minimum 3.5 undergraduate GPA; limited graduate-GPA exception down to 3.3 under program policy.The page publishes the 3.5 minimum and restricted 3.3 graduate-GPA exception.
Science GPA minimum Confirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; prerequisite courses require at least B grades. The current requirement remains unconfirmed.
Recommendations 3 letters from people who directly supervised or worked with the applicant within 3 years; letters must be under 1 year old; family is excluded.The page publishes the count, evaluator relationships, relationship recency, letter age, and family exclusion.
International applicants Accepted with conditionsInternational applicants are conditionally eligible, but all applicants must hold a bachelor's degree from a U.S. regionally accredited institution and satisfy immigration requirements. Accepted with conditions.
English proficiency / TOEFL ConditionalAll applicants born outside the U.S. need TOEFL iBT 100 or a waiver by the application deadline; TOEFL code 1458. The current PA page publishes the birth-based trigger, score, waiver route, timing, and code.
PANCE pass rate No graduates yetFirst-time pass rateFive-year first-time: No graduates yet
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Current, source-bound PA admissions requirements and program facts.

Mission & approach

The mission of the Meharry Medical College Physician Assistant Sciences Program is to increase the number of students from underrepresented groups in medicine (URiM) into the PA profession. Students will be equipped with the ability to demonstrate cultural humility, provide evidence-based and compassionate care to all patients they encounter, and foster a commitment to community service in underserved populations, through equity, justice and lifelong learning.

meharry_1-1-1024×684
meharry_1-1-1024×684
PREMIUM · MATCH AI

Is Meharry Medical College a fit for you?

Unlock your personalized category, ranked school list, and reasons based on your profile. One Match AI purchase gives you the same results on PA School Finder and in your Toolkit.

SafetyTargetReachNot yet eligible
Unlock my school matches →
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

HBCU grad; high-need HS; veteran; PA shadowing; direct PCE; community service in underserved areas; first-gen; Pell recipient; MUA/P residence.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campus

Interviews for the 2026-2027 cycle are conducted in person on campus, beginning mid-June and continuing through August; selection to interview is competitive and does not guarantee acceptance.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GREConfirm GRE with programThe current 2026–27 PA admissions page explicitly requires Casper but does not explicitly say GRE is waived. Confirm the next cycle’s GRE rule with the program.
Patient careNo direct patient-care minimum; DPC is an admissions preference. PA shadowing is also preferred without a numeric minimum.The page explicitly labels DPC and PA shadowing as preferences with no minimum.
Overall GPA3.5 undergraduate GPA; limited graduate-GPA exception down to 3.3 under program policy.The page publishes the 3.5 minimum and restricted 3.3 graduate-GPA exception.
Science GPAConfirm with programNo separate science GPA minimum; prerequisite courses require at least B grades. The page publishes prerequisite-grade standards without a separate science GPA floor. Policy clarification: Prerequisite grades must not be converted to a science GPA minimum.
Recommendations3 letters from people who directly supervised or worked with the applicant within 3 years; letters must be under 1 year old; family is excluded.The page publishes the count, evaluator relationships, relationship recency, letter age, and family exclusion.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsInternational applicants are conditionally eligible, but all applicants must hold a bachelor's degree from a U.S. regionally accredited institution and satisfy immigration requirements. The PA page has an international-applicant section while requiring a U.S.-regionally-accredited bachelor's degree.
English proficiencyConditionalAll applicants born outside the U.S. need TOEFL iBT 100 or a waiver by the application deadline; TOEFL code 1458. The current PA page publishes the birth-based trigger, score, waiver route, timing, and code.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Anatomy and physiology route: Human Anatomy with lab (standalone route) + Human Physiology with lab (standalone route) OR A&P I and A&P II with labs (integrated route)
  • One Psychology course: General Psychology OR Abnormal Psychology OR Developmental Psychology
CourseCreditsLabMin gradeYour coursework
Human Anatomy with lab (standalone route)1 course(s)

Standalone-course route: one Human Anatomy course with lab. Do not combine with integrated A&P I/II route.

4Semester creditsRequiredBSign in to plan
Human Physiology with lab (standalone route)1 course(s)

Standalone-course route: one Human Physiology course with lab. Do not combine with integrated A&P I/II route.

4Semester creditsRequiredBSign in to plan
A&P I and A&P II with labs (integrated route)2 course(s)

Alternative to standalone Human Anatomy plus Human Physiology: both A&P I and II, each 4 credits with lab. Standalone Anatomy/Physiology may not be paired with this integrated sequence. A&P must be completed within 5 years before application.

8Semester creditsRequiredBSign in to plan
General Biology I and II2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses of 3 credits each. Lab requirement not stated.

6Semester creditsNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Microbiology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; lab requirement not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedBSign in to plan
Genetics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; lab requirement not stated.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedBSign in to plan
General (Inorganic) Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two 4-credit courses; lab required in each.

8Semester creditsRequiredBSign in to plan
General Psychology1 course(s)

Three-credit General Psychology is one of three published Psychology alternatives.

3Semester creditsNot requiredBSign in to plan
Medical Terminology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One college-credit course; certificates are not accepted.

1Semester creditsNot requiredBSign in to plan
Abnormal Psychology1 course(s)

Published alternative to General Psychology.

3Semester creditsNot requiredBSign in to plan
Developmental Psychology1 course(s)

Published alternative to General Psychology.

3Semester creditsNot requiredBSign in to plan

Policies that can change your plan

Anatomy and physiology
Use either both standalone Human Anatomy + Human Physiology, or both integrated A&P I + II. Do not mix the routes; A&P rows require manual review.
Laboratories
Lab requirements are not published for Biology, Microbiology, Genetics, or Psychology; do not infer a lab.
Cycle
Aug. 1, 2026 deadline has passed; confirm next-cycle dates before student planning.

All courses must be completed at a regionally accredited institution before CASPA submission. Grade B or better. A&P must be within 5 years before application. 2026-27 cycle deadline Aug. 1, 2026 has passed.

When courses must be complete: Complete all prerequisites by CASPA application submission.

Meharry Physician Assistant Sciences Admissions 2026-2027 cycle; January 2027 cohort · Checked 2026-09-24
BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineNext deadline not yet published

Meharry says the January 2027 cohort closed August 1, 2026 for CASPA submission and verification; the next cycle date is not published.

Past published deadlineAug 1, 2026 · Passed

The published 2026 deadline has passed.

Published date
Ready to start an application plan?

Keep your essays, checklist, and personal targets together.

Plan application →
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Published Class of 2027 tuition and fees, excluding insurance
Resident tuitionApproximately $124,812.63 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuitionApproximately $124,812.63 projected full-program tuition

Older cohort benchmark; current entering-class price unconfirmed

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$124,812.63

Meharry’s currently posted Class of 2027 table totals $137,673.03 in tuition and fees, including $12,860.40 in health insurance. Tuition plus other listed fees is $124,812.63. This is an older cohort table, not a quote for January 2027 entrants; the amount is excluded from current-cycle tuition rankings until a newer table is published.

Plan for the application, too.

Keep application fees separate from the cost of attending.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Semesters I–IV

Preclinical coursework

Medical sciences, clinical medicine, assessment, procedures, pharmacology and applied learning prepare students for supervised practice.

02Semesters V–VII

Clinical curriculum

Four-week experiences span surgery, behavioral medicine, pediatrics, women’s health, internal medicine, family medicine, emergency medicine and an elective. Applied learning includes a faculty-guided group capstone.

Clinical sites may require temporary relocation or travel across the United States, including more than 500 miles from Nashville. Semester labels follow the current published sequence; separate calendar-month phase lengths are not confirmed.

Meharry current official PA Sciences program course sequence and clinical travel notice Current undated program webpage; semesters I–IV and V–VII · Checked 2026-09-26
WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2028 entering cohort

Published class averages
Overall GPANot recorded
Science GPANot recorded
Patient-care hoursNot recorded
Compare published cohorts
ClassOverall GPAScience GPAPCE hours
Class of 2028 entering cohortNot recordedNot recordedNot recorded

Class averages describe an admitted cohort. They are not minimums or acceptance probabilities.

Meharry official student graduation-rate table Class of 2028 entering class · Checked 2026-09-26
OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

First-time program results are not yet available; no graduates have been reported.

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: No graduates yet

Five-year first-time results are not yet available.

Accreditation history

Accredited-Provisional
First accreditedJune 25, 2022
Next reviewJuly 2027

A complete dated action history has not been added to this record.

ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory Directory as retrieved 2026-09-26; scheduled review dates are provisional timing and may change · Checked 2026-09-26
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Follow the source for the policy or cohort you are reviewing. A check date is separate from the year a figure describes.

Rankings & information still to verify

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

Unpublished policies and unverified cohort statistics are left open for confirmation.

PA School Finder × PA Life Applicant ToolkitOne program record. One application plan.