Address & Contact

Our Address

California Baptist University 8432 Magnolia Ave Riverside CA 92504

GPS

33.9293952977401, -117.42702279521401

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

California Baptist University Physician Assistant Program

Riverside, California · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $120,438Same for residents and nonresidents
Fees not published
Estimated costs for Fall 2026 through Summer 2027
Class size 60 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE and MCAT are not required. Local testing in basic math, English composition, and medical terminology happens during the interview.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 96%
U.S. News PA rank #58 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Faith-based PA program where Christ-led instructors prepare students to serve patients, with an emphasis on supporting underserved communities worldwide.

Mission & approach

CBU's physician assistant program will prepare graduates who are globally minded and academically prepared to provide quality health care in their communities and to underserved populations. In support of the university's mission, the program will fulfill the "Core 4" outcomes by producing students that are academically prepared, biblically rooted, globally minded and equipped to serve.

California Baptist University Physician Assistant Studies clinical skills lab at Tyler Plaza
Clinical skills lab in California Baptist University's Physician Assistant Studies facility at Tyler Plaza. Photo: California Baptist University.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic, most-qualified selection: completeness, transcript/academic performance, letters, 250-word personal statement, interview, and on-site local screening exams in basic math & English composition (70% to pass). Preference for veterans, CBU graduates, applicants interested in serving the Inland Empire/California shortage areas, US citizens/permanent residents, community-service volunteers,…

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual

Interview day runs all day and includes face-to-face interviews with the admissions committee plus local screening exams in math and English composition — you must score at least 70% on those to pass. Admission is rolling, with seats offered at several points in the cycle.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE and MCAT are not required. Local testing in basic math, English composition, and medical terminology happens during the interview.
Patient care1,000 hours
Overall GPA3.2
Science GPA3.0
Recommendations3 letters
International applicantsAcceptedYes, with institutional conditions
English proficiencyRequiredTOEFL iBT 80 or IELTS 6.5

Prerequisite coursework

Units (semester or quarter not specified)

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Chemistry route: General chemistry I and II with lab OR Organic + inorganic + biochemistry sequence
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Human anatomy & physiology I and II with lab2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One year, or an equivalent combination covering all human systems.

8Units (semester or quarter not specified)RequiredB-
General chemistry I and II with lab2 course(s)

One-year route. Alternative: three separate organic, inorganic and biochemistry courses totaling 12 units.

8Units (semester or quarter not specified)RequiredB-
Organic + inorganic + biochemistry sequence3 course(s)

Three separate courses; alternative to general chemistry I/II. Confirm lab equivalencies.

12Units (semester or quarter not specified)Not specifiedB-
Microbiology3–4Units (semester or quarter not specified)RequiredB-
Genetics2–3Units (semester or quarter not specified)Not specifiedB-
General / developmental / abnormal psychology1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; choose one subject.

3–4Units (semester or quarter not specified)Not specifiedB-
College algebra / calculus / precalculus / statistics1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

One course; choose one subject.

3Units (semester or quarter not specified)Not specifiedB-
English / writing
Course notes & alternatives

One year; confirm course sequence and units.

6–8Units (semester or quarter not specified)Not specifiedB-
Social sciences / humanities3 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Three courses; literature cannot double count toward English.

9Units (semester or quarter not specified)Not specifiedB-

Policies that can change your plan

Minimum grade
B-minus or better in all prerequisites.
Course age
Science within five years recommended, not mandatory.
Delivery
Online courses at U.S. regionally accredited institutions are accepted, and in-person science labs are strongly recommended. Coursework must transfer to California Baptist University (CBU).
Exam credit
Documented AP may cover only math and English.
Units
The program does not say whether its units are semester or quarter units. Ask the program before comparing transcripts.

Review the notes and alternative routes before choosing classes. Having completed a course does not guarantee it will be accepted as equivalent.

When courses must be complete: All prerequisites must be completed and posted by the January 15 application deadline.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Your application must be verified by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Estimated costs for Fall 2026 through Summer 2027
Resident tuition$120,438 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$120,438 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Tuition is $120,438; with fees the total is $133,128 (2026–27 rates).

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1

Didactic study

Basic and clinical sciences, examination skills, professional practice, ethics and research support patient care.

02Year 2

Clinical education

Nine clerkships provide patient encounters and teamwork in clinical settings.

The program has one didactic year followed by one clinical year in Riverside. Total units are published as both 116 and 120, so confirm the total with the program.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Incoming Class 2025

Published class statistics
Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.74
Mean Science GPA3.68
Mean Patient care hours3,652

These are averages for the incoming Class of 2025. Average prerequisite GPA is 3.86; the earlier 3.71 and 3.66 figures are from the Class of 2023.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Incoming Class 20253.74Mean Overall/cumulative GPA3.68Mean Science GPA3,652Mean Patient care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedMarch 12, 2016
Next reviewOctober 2030
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.