Tuition + fees $61,873 / $119,763 nonresident
Projected full-program tuition and required fees at current rates
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
A 27-month, seven-semester Syracuse PA program with probation accreditation, up to 35 students, and 1,000 patient-care hours required by matriculation.
Mission & approach
Educate competent, compassionate, ethical PAs who deliver evidence-based patient-centered care to diverse populations, with emphasis on improving access and outcomes in medically underserved and rural communities of Upstate New York; focus on primary care.

Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
GPA (3.0 recommended), 1,000 PCE hours, 3 LORs, personal statement, prerequisite completion; preferred healthcare backgrounds (corpsman, nursing, EMT, paramedic, medical scribe); commitment to primary care in underserved/rural areas
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
The program uses a virtual Multiple Mini Interview format, so applicants move through a series of short scenario stations remotely rather than sitting a single conversation.
Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Credit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements.Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Organic chemistry or biochemistry: Organic Chemistry with lab OR Biochemistry with lab
- Anatomy and physiology route: Separate Anatomy course with lab + Separate Physiology course with lab OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
General Biology I and II with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo-course sequence, both with labs. One biology course must fall within five years before matriculation; the other course age is not specified. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo-course sequence, both with labs. One chemistry course must fall within five years before matriculation; the other course age is not specified. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
| Organic Chemistry with lab1 course(s) One required alternative to Biochemistry; one course with lab. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
| Biochemistry with lab1 course(s) Alternative to Organic Chemistry with lab. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
| Separate Anatomy course with lab1 course(s) One semester anatomy plus one semester physiology is an alternative to the two-course A&P I/II sequence. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
| Separate Physiology course with lab1 course(s) One semester physiology plus one semester anatomy is an alternative to the two-course A&P I/II sequence. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
| Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s) Two-course A&P sequence; alternative route to separate Anatomy and Physiology. Both courses require labs. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
Microbiology with lab1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne course with lab. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Required | C |
Genetics1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne course; lab explicitly not required. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Not required | C |
Statistics1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne course; lab not listed. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Not required | C |
English Composition1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne course. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Not required | C |
English elective1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne additional English course distinct from English Composition. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Not required | C |
Medical Terminology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesOne course. Credits not published. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Not required | C |
Social/behavioral science electives2 course(s)Course notes & alternativesTwo elective courses required. Credits not published; exact subjects are not specified. | Not publishedCredit minimums for individual prerequisites are not published; the program does specify course counts and lab requirements. | Not required | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Semester credit minimums not published
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- One biology and one chemistry course within five years
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- No time limit is published for other courses.
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Complete by matriculation
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Grades below C+ are not accepted
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Two options for Anatomy & Physiology
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Organic chemistry or biochemistry alternative
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
- Regular admissions only
- Confirm details for the current cycle with the program.
These are the regular admissions requirements, not the Early Assurance requirements. Verify course equivalency with SUNY Upstate.
When courses must be complete: All prerequisites must be completed by matriculation. CASPA must be verified by Nov 1 and the supplemental application submitted by Nov 20; confirm these dates for your cycle.
Dates & application steps
Application deadline is November 1 and the supplemental deadline is November 20 for June 2027 matriculation.
This is the expected start of the entering class.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Projected full-program tuition and required fees at current rates$16,625 semester × 7 documented semesters · Projected full-program tuition at current published rates
Projected tuition for seven full-time semesters at current rates is $58,485 for residents ($8,355 per semester) and $116,375 for nonresidents ($16,625 per semester). Required fees add $3,388 ($484 per semester), for totals of $61,873 and $119,763. Future rates may change.
Curriculum & clinical training
Classroom instruction
Medical sciences, patient evaluation, clinical medicine and professional practice.
Clinical education
Eleven four-week rotations include eight core disciplines and three electives; students complete a capstone review article and poster.
27-month, 106-credit program. Upstate arranges clinical sites, with emphasis on rural and underserved communities; students cover housing and living expenses.
The admitted class
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 75%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 86%
Accreditation history
Probation- July 2026Accreditation-Probation
ARC-PA adverse accreditation action. The next review is scheduled for July 2028.
This is the most recent action. See the ARC-PA program history for earlier actions and current conditions.
Sources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- ARC-PA July 2026 accreditation actions
- ARC-PA accreditation history — SUNY Upstate Medical Center
- Program contact page
- SUNY Upstate Medical Center curriculum/program program page
- Program program page
- SUNY Upstate Medical Center curriculum/program program page
- Program program page
- SUNY Upstate Physician Assistant Prerequisites
- Program program page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
