Address & Contact

Our Address

Southampton, New York

GPS

40.8929, -72.4415

Telephone
Email

-

← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Stony Brook University – Southampton Physician Assistant Program

Southampton, New York · Masters

Application deadline Confirm current cycle
Tuition Resident $45,948 (estimate)Nonresident $99,446 (estimate)
Tuition + fees $55,937 / $109,435 nonresident
Estimated two-year Southampton schedule; the entering year is not stated and future rates may change.
Class size 25 students
Program length 24 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required.
Patient-care minimum 500 hoursComplete 500 documented direct patient-care hours before interview and by August 1; up to 250 may come from qualifying clinical training, and shadowing is excluded.
Overall GPA minimum 3.00Minimum CASPA total GPA is 3.00.
Science GPA minimum BCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA 3.00Minimum CASPA biology-chemistry-physics GPA is 3.00 rather than a separate all-science cutoff.
PANCE pass rate 92%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 94%
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
THE PROGRAM

A closer look

A 24-month Stony Brook PA campus in Southampton with 25 seats and 500 required direct patient-care hours.

On campus24 months25 students

Mission & approach

Provide high-quality graduate-level medical education in an inter-professional environment fostering critical thinking and lifelong learning; develop compassionate providers; emphasize patient-centered care across the lifespan, evidence-based practice, professionalism, leadership, service, ethics and diversity.

Program campus
Program campus
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Academic preparation, clinical experience, personal statements, references, interview, commitment to service, leadership potential, community service, quality of healthcare experience

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual

The day opens with a group orientation presentation, then one 30-minute individual interview with three members of the admissions committee, plus a Zoom Q&A with first-year students. Interviews run August through November. Seats are offered after each interview date and the remaining candidates go onto a rank-ordered alternate list.

Source checked Jul 26, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot requiredGRE, PA-CAT, and MCAT are not required.
Patient care500 hoursComplete 500 documented direct patient-care hours before interview and by August 1; up to 250 may come from qualifying clinical training, and shadowing is excluded.
Overall GPA3.00Minimum CASPA total GPA is 3.00.
Science GPABCP (biology, chemistry, physics) GPA 3.00Minimum CASPA biology-chemistry-physics GPA is 3.00 rather than a separate all-science cutoff.
Recommendations3 lettersThree CASPA recommendations are required; no mandatory evaluator role is published.
International applicantsConditionalInternational applicants may apply under the program's citizenship, credential-evaluation, prerequisite, and immigration requirements.
English proficiencyTOEFL 90 iBTApplicants whose native or first language is not English need a current TOEFL score: 550 paper, 213 computer, or 90 iBT, with minimums of Reading 22, Listening 21, Writing 25, and Speaking 22.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits unless noted

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Statistics or Biostatistics3Semester credits unless notedNot requiredC
General or upper-division Chemistry sequence2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Two courses; higher-level Chemistry may substitute.

8Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Organic Chemistry3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Biochemistry3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
General or upper-division Biology sequence2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

A&P cannot substitute.

8Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
General Microbiology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Genetics3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Anatomy3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC
Physiology3Semester credits unless notedNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Science courses must be for science or pre-med majors; completing them within seven years is strongly suggested. Online courses and labs are accepted. Science AP credit cannot substitute. Labs are not separately specified. Stony Brook's shared entry-level admission requirements also apply to Southampton.

When courses must be complete: Courses and your bachelor's degree must be complete by August 1 before you start. After an offer, complete the designated online Medical Terminology course before entry.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineConfirm current cycle

The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published.

Program startsJune 2027

This is the expected start of the entering class.

Finish prerequisitesAug 1, 2027

Courses must be finished by August 1 before you start. For the next entering class; the same date applies each year.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Estimated two-year Southampton schedule; the entering year is not stated and future rates may change.
Resident tuition$45,948 projected full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$99,446 projected full-program tuition

$36,160 semester × 2 projected semesters + $10,549 semester × 1 projected semesters + $16,577 semester × 1 projected semesters · Projected full-program tuition from the Southampton schedule. The $9,989.10 in required fees is separate, and optional $11,402 insurance is not included. The entering year is not stated, and future rates may change.

Required program fees$9,989.10
Tuition + required feesExcludes living and other expenses
$55,937.10

Tuition is $45,948 for residents and $99,446 for nonresidents. Required university fees add $9,989.10, for $55,937.10 (resident) or $109,435.10 (nonresident). Optional health insurance ($11,402) is not included, nor is a separate estimate of $3,855 for books, equipment, and PANCE. This is an estimated two-year Southampton schedule; the entering year is not stated and future rates may change.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

01Year 1

Didactic instruction

Medical sciences, clinical skills, problem-based cases, service learning and interprofessional education.

02Year 2

Clinical training

Six five-week rotations and four four-week rotations, with master’s projects, clinical seminars and summative evaluation.

This entry-level program is shared by the Stony Brook and Southampton campuses. Clinical placements include regional teaching institutions, practices and clinics; students do not need to find their own sites or preceptors.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Recorded average GPANot recorded
Recorded science GPANot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 92%

Southampton campus, class of 2026: 92% first-time pass rate (22 of 24 first-time takers). Earlier classes: 2025 96%, 2024 88%, 2023 100%, 2022 95%. The five-year first-time rate is 94%, found by adding up passers and takers across the 2022-2026 classes (108 of 115).

  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 94%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedNot listed — see ARC-PA
Next reviewOctober 2027 per the ARC-PA directory; the program's accreditation history lists September 2027.

The ARC-PA directory lists the next review as October 2027, while the program's accreditation history lists September 2027; the difference is unresolved. Both refer to the sponsoring Stony Brook University program, including its Southampton campus. Accreditation-Continued status is unchanged.

CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.